Kuala Lumpur ATTRACTIONS See all

Rainforest and Canopy Walk

Get a taste of the local flora and fauna at Kuala Lumpur’s Forest Reserve Institute of Malaysia (FRIM). At over 3,775 acres, FRIM holds hundreds of plant species and both regenerated and secondary forest. Visitors hike along shady trails past a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was amazing! He retired from the research facility in the forest so he was knowledgeable on the vegetation and knew all the beautiful spots in the rainforest. The canopy walkways was amazing, much better than zip lining :)

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This is a wonderful experience to walk through the rainforest, learn about nature and the canopy walk is breath taking. Guides very knowledgeable and friendly. Second time I have completed this walk.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

My guide Farhan in the Rainforest was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. He had a sincere interest in his work which I was curious about and had all my questions answered. if he didn't know the answer to something he told you so and this honesty was welcomed. I highly recommend this tour as a chance to see lots of different vegetation as well as some monkeys. The Canopy Walkway was fantastic with the views it offered. Just make sure you were some good running shoes or hiking shoes/boats as the grade to it can be a little steep. All in all, a great tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Another amazing tour. The climb was hard work but well worth it. The guides were very knowledgable and very friendly. The canopy is beautiful and we even managed to spot a few native animals including giant ants and lizards. The leech was a little freaky but still fun!

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This trip was well worth it - having a private tour guide was the best because we could direct the tour and my kids were able to freely ask all of their questions. It was disappointing because the canopy walk was closed for renovations, but we were called the day before and told about this. It was our choice to go ahead with the tour, and it was worth it. Our guide was so knowledgeable and interesting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The walk was very demanding. My husband did not make it to the canopy, but I did. We were exhausted but I loved the canopy walk !!! Our guide was superb !

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The walk was very demanding. My husband did not make it to the canopy, but I did. We were exhausted but I loved the canopy walk !!! Our guide was superb !

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The hiking was slightly tough on a typical hot day in KL, but the great view on canopy top was worth it. FRIM is 40min car ride from KL Sentral. The forest tour guide was passionate and very informative. Remember to wear good walking shoes and insect repellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Enjoyed the Canopy Walk, and the knowledgable guide. Be warned, the Hike is a tad strenuous.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The climb to the canopy could be too strenuous for some. However, the reward is a unique stroll through tree tops which for most would be a first.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Well motivated and excellent staff, however, be aware, wear good shoes and expect a fairly exhaustive walk to the canopy walk, just over one and a half hours, we were not properly prepared

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

I enjoyed this tour. A guide takes you and your Viator appointed driver for a walk through the forest and then you do a canopy walk. Only complaint is that either Viator did not pass my details on to the local tour people or the locals lost my details. I had to fax my itinerary to the local tour people which was an extra expense to me. When the tour guide-driver showed up at the hotel, he did not find me until 15 minutes after the set time. This is because he was looking for a couple instead of a single traveller. So after phoning the local tour people and then faxing my itinerary which contained all the relevant details, they still stuffed it up. Get your act together!

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

William O
South Korea

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

Our guide was very good, however, we were unable to do the canopy walk because of a downpour of rain. Very disappointing. Didn't see much wildlife either.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Rainforest and Canopy Walkway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message