In the lush, tropical rainforest an hour and a half drive from Kuala Lumpur, the Kuala Gandah Elephant Sanctuary is an ambitious conservation program implemented and managed by the Malaysian Wildlife Society. Visitors to the Sanctuary have the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 345 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Ai, was fantastic - really laid back and easy going. He knew the way things worked and made sure we didnt waste any time waiting in line. All in all a fantastic Valentines Day experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Cheai, was awesome. This tour is definitely worth every penny and every star. Cheai picked us up right on time and when I asked him how many other people would be joining us on the tour he surprised me by telling me that this was a private tour! Just me and my girlfriend! We had great conversation about Malaysia, its' history, culture, current events, etc. Cheai was very hospitable to all our questions and knowledgeable. Included in this tour is transportation, entry fee to deer land and the elephant sanctuary. Deer land was awesome! It is not just deer, but there is also an ostrich, pythons, hedgehogs, etc. The elephants were great! Although it is sad that they are not free in the wild, they seem well taken care of here and that the guides have good relationships with the elephants. At the sanctuary Cheai definitely went above and beyond to make our experience extra special by having us be first to get in the water, and pulling plugs to allow us to pet the 7 month old baby elephant. Definitely book this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our Tour guide was "I" and he made this tour special for us! We stopped along the way to see how the rubber sap is taken from the tree and the got to smell the raw rubber. "I" arranged for us to have photos taken with a 7 month old baby Elephant and pat the little One. A definite advantage to having your own guide, he knew all the staff ad where we should be before the crowd moved. It was a wonderful day and "I" made it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was amazing just not long enough. Loved every minute. Hi our guide was was very good, very informative and easy to talk to.would love to do it all again!! ☺

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely amazing!!! Feeding and swimming with the elephants was truly incredible. And a special thanks to our tour guide "Ai", who was warm, friendly, and a true professional. His guidance made the day easy and fun the whole time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A really great tour experienced by my wife and I when we were treated to more of the same jovial attitude when we visited the Elephant Rescue site,again with Ai as the guide. We cannot recommend more highly this tour guide for both his knowledge of the area and his jovial attitude throughout the drive. We have both experienced two fantastic tours with this guide,thanks Ai, and thanks for explaining what those large concrete buildings were on the home journey, getting up close and personal with the Woma's at the little zoo and making our time with the elephants a treat.
Victoria and Wayne NSW Australia

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great guide and tour. We didn't get to bathe the elephants, but it was still great to feed and pet them.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous tour, great guide, fantastic day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Don't forget your swimmers!!! Thoroughly enjoyed tour and would recommend.

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic, great for everyone, this private tour is the way to go

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A wonderful experience which I would recommend to everyone. The only problem I had was the heat managed to get to me, mainly because I only arrived in KL late the evening before. The guide was wonderful and full of knowledge. Feeding the elephants and watching them swim in the river with their keepers was awesome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a fantastic trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful throughout. He went that extra mile to give us some unique experiences and knew where to be at what time to give us the prime spot all day long. This was by far one of the highlights of our brief stay in KL. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a nice guide which made a big difference as we had had some bad experiences on other trips. This guide actually stayed during our meal and ate with us, he also included drinks, whereas on all other trips the guide tells you to buy your own,. He also provided different fruits for us to try and we felt he was interested and eager to make the trip enjoyable for us. He was attentive and gave good and interesting commentary throughout the trip. The elephants were fun, we did not know from details on viator site that it included bathing with the elephants so had not brought a towel or change of clothes. However, guide really helpfu,l supplied paper towels and in heat quickly dried off. One of the better KL trips and very educational-great trip for kids!

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous trip - excellent guide. Interesting to see the countryside. Elephants were enchanting though getting in the river with them would surely be a brave and dubious thing to do. Great experience

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message