In the lush, tropical rainforest an hour and a half drive from Kuala Lumpur, the Kuala Gandah Elephant Sanctuary is an ambitious conservation program implemented and managed by the Malaysian Wildlife Society. Visitors to the Sanctuary have the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 326 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A wonderful experience which I would recommend to everyone. The only problem I had was the heat managed to get to me, mainly because I only arrived in KL late the evening before. The guide was wonderful and full of knowledge. Feeding the elephants and watching them swim in the river with their keepers was awesome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a fantastic trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful throughout. He went that extra mile to give us some unique experiences and knew where to be at what time to give us the prime spot all day long. This was by far one of the highlights of our brief stay in KL. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a nice guide which made a big difference as we had had some bad experiences on other trips. This guide actually stayed during our meal and ate with us, he also included drinks, whereas on all other trips the guide tells you to buy your own,. He also provided different fruits for us to try and we felt he was interested and eager to make the trip enjoyable for us. He was attentive and gave good and interesting commentary throughout the trip. The elephants were fun, we did not know from details on viator site that it included bathing with the elephants so had not brought a towel or change of clothes. However, guide really helpfu,l supplied paper towels and in heat quickly dried off. One of the better KL trips and very educational-great trip for kids!

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous trip - excellent guide. Interesting to see the countryside. Elephants were enchanting though getting in the river with them would surely be a brave and dubious thing to do. Great experience

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great day out on private tour with very knowledgeable guide. Thoroughly enjoyed the elephant experience especially washing the baby elephants

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I am proud of the tour guide CHE AI from "Tour and Incentive Travel", he is a kind guy, very knowledgeable and with a lot of sense of humour and fun. CHE AI was the tour guide in all the tours we had with "Tour and Incentive Travel" and he is really a high-level profesional, easy going and always willing to assist and making tours very enjoyable!! Congratulations to CHE AI!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The four tours we took were all very good. The driver were informative. My wife and I enjoyed our self very much thank you. Regard Vic

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was really great tour, the guide was very friendly and helpful. He was great. We really enjoyed seeing the elephants in a natural type environment.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very special day out and we were well looked after by our personal guide who knew the Sanctuary well and made sure we had the best vantage points for viewing and photos at the correct times.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Outstanding! 'Ai' was a fantastic Tour Guide, very informative, funny and made the tour all the more better.
The Deer Park was good, fed the deers and saw a number of other animals/flora which was great.
Then on to the Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary, what a great experience! You are given the opportunity to feed the Elephants, watch the older Elephants have a bath in the river and watch them do a show. We were extremely lucky that the river wasn't too high and we were able to hop in the river and bathe the Baby Elephants, an unforgettable experience (this can only be done when the river level is low, so don't count on it).
Because of 'Ai', the day wasn't good, it was great!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Ai Chi was a most informative courier, took us to a Deer Park first and saw wonderful animals, then onto the Elephant Orphanage which was not to be missed. We saw them bathing in the river and fed them sugar cane.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Gill R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An absolute must, Chi Ai was an excellent guide, giving an informed narrative on all we saw. Taking us to a Deer Park on route with lots of birds and animals. We fed the elephants with sugar cane and watched them have their bath in the river. So delightful! A long journey to get there but well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing experience and a lovely tour guide called Hai, who was very knowledgeable and was so helpful on the tour!
Definitely reccomend

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fantastic, our guide (Ei) was really informative, he took us to quite a few extra places of interest and made the trip really wonderful, a great experience

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour and the guide An (?) was excellent! We got to see and touch a series of animals, learn about the history of Malaysia, and enjoyed the afternoon bathing baby elephants. An was very active in getting front position at the queue. Thumbs up!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message