While Kuala Lumpur is Malaysia’s major transportation hub, you’ll find most of the country’s best attractions outside of the city. Luckily, you can enjoy the conveniences of Kuala Lumpur as a home base for your travels while taking day trips to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We decided to take this day trip to Melaka and were not disappointed. It is an easy drive from KL and our guide King was wonderful. He told great stories of the history and culture of this beautiful country. We saw all the important parts of the heritage site, including a lovely lunch in a majestic heritage building which really made the day special. Seeing the old port, the beautiful temples and the way the community mixes so many cultures so easily was really interesting. Would really recommend this trip

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great day trip, enjoyed it and our guide

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was amazing ! Our tour guide was just a pleasure to be with and so full of knowledge. It took us about and hour and a half to get there, but he showed us many sights along the way with well informed commentary. We stopped at Deerland and had a great time feeding the deer. They were so gorgeous. As were the other animals there, well maybe for me not so much the snakes, but my daughter didn't mind stroking them. I took photos, from a distance. When we got to the Elephant Sanctuary, we were shown a very informative video on how these people actually move these elephants out of the jungle. We then walked through lovely landscaped gardens to the restaurant where our guide provided lunch for us before we strolled down to see the baby elephants. They do a wonderful job with these baby elephants. One little one had no tail because a tiger had bitten it off ! Another one had no foot because it developed gangrene out in the jungle. The sad part was that because of these injuries the herd leaves them behind to fend for themselves. They then brought in quite a few very very large elephants. They were gorgeous and you could literally stand eye to eye with them. Well maybe eye to knee with them, they were so big. All in all, it was such a great day and these people should be commended for the work they do. You can just tell how much they love these animals. I would honestly recommend this tour to people of all ages. I also would recommend Viator, as I have had transfers overseas with them plus day trips in Rome and Paris a couple of years ago.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was fantastic. We hand an unbelievable guide and an equally great day. To feed the elephants by hand was great enough but to have a ride on the and then be able to swi and bath the baby elephants was unbelievable. One of the best day trips I have ever done. Would go back toorrow.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Note from Viator: This review is based on a previous tour itinerary. Unfortunately, activities with the elephants are no longer offered due to Malaysian animal safety laws.

Fiona C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Good half day trip. Batu caves well worth the visit

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

My partner and I really enjoyed this tour. Our guide Robbie was brilliant and provided us with invaluable history points and took care of us thoroughly. If you want a day trip out of Kuala Lumpur this is a great tour.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Bob, picked us up punctually and was very friendly and informative. The vehicle was spacious and air-conditioned. As well as visiting the elephant sanctuary, we also stopped off at the roadside to sniff some stinky rubber, travelled into the jungle to Deerland, where we fed deer, and saw a python - which we could have held had we wanted, but could barely bring ourselves to touch! We hadn't been expecting that detour so it was a really cool surprise. We had lunch at the sanctuary, before actually feeding and bathing the elephants - all in all we had a couple of hours there. Do bring a change of clothes, and soap just to scrub yourself down in the shower afterwards - as you really do go back to nature, warts and all. On the way back, Bob stopped off to allow us to sample yummy Malay fruits, including malay apples with assam and durian. We had a really fun, stress-free, relaxing day, everything was taken care of, well-organised and it was a great day trip for anyone visiting KL who'd like to see a tiny bit more of Malaysia, but perhaps doesn't have much time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Nice day trip to see an interesting City and to know about its history.
Amazing guide, really friendly.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Day trip to the historical city was excellent. Our guide was well conversent with the history and very friendly. Included lunch was very good. The trip was good value for money.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Really enjoyed the day trip to the elephant sanctuary. Raja the tour driver was very informative and went out of his way to make our trip to and from a very memorable and interesting experience. At the sanctuary it was certainly a unique and wonderful experience getting up close to these magnificent animals and excellently managed facility.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

This is a full day trip pack with lots of information and sights. The driver we had was great. Picked me up on time and had a lot of knowledge as we had a lot of ground to cover. The stop for lunch was great in one of the tiny streets of the town. The only thing was, there was a lot to see, did not have much time to explore Malacca. I feel you would need a couple of days to explore the many street of shops and craft ware and get a full understanding of it history.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

Tracey B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Our Malacca day trip was great. We were lucky enough to have only 2 of us on the trip so we travelled in a sedan rather than a bus. Our driver/guide was extremely informative and kept us entertained the whole day. The pace was good, relaxed enough to wander around casually, but not too long at each stop. The history of the place is absolutely fascinating, and that's from someone with almost no enthusiasm for history. Well worth the trip.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

we were disappointed in our trip as we booked what we thought was a full day trip but we were back at the airport by 2.45. the driver said that he has another tour booked in but what we did do was very interesting.

Doing what: Private Kulala Lumpur Layover Tour: City Sightseeing with Airport or Hotel Drop-Off

Globug
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

As I had been on another tour booked on viator, this one was polar opposites to the other where on the other tour the guide was non stop info giver with excellent English whilst on this tour the guide only really spoke when asked and his level on English was not as good. It took approx 2.5 hours there and 2.5hours back. The town was nice to explore, Christ church was very touristy - reminded me of Patong - but the old village area was nice to see. Lunch was nothing to write home about. Was taken to a Chinese /Malay restaurant which seem to be the place for all tourist groups to eat. Drinks other than green tea were extra. There was white rice, Veg in plain sauce, prawns in a very spicy sauce, chicken in a mild curry sauce, sweet n sour fish and assorted fruit. I would have preferred to eat at some place of my choice which served the local food (chicken rice balls). Value for money? guide was pleasant and nice but not as informative as others I've had so considering I don't know how much it would have cost to get out there, I think the price might be a little steep. Also, other reviews have said this is a great one day trip for people here for a short time, I don't really agree. If you have been sitting on a 8-14 hour flight, the last thing I would want is to sit another 5-6 hours again depending on traffic!

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message