• USD ($)
  • English
With its incredible mix of cultures and ethnic backgrounds, Kuala Lumpur has developed a diverse cuisine, with dishes influenced by Chinese, Indian and local Malay flavors and ingredients. Outside of Asia, most people probably aren’t familiar with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a must do trip, it was superb. We were lucky to have Charles as our guide and Rubin drove us around in a spacious and very clean mini bus. Accompanied by two Australians and two Canadaians this was a very like minded group. They were great fun and contributed to the enjoyment level immensley. The tour was to finish at 10pm, we were still eating at 11.20pm. I think we would have still been at it now had it not been for a cruel rainstorm that interupted our enjoyment. To cap a perfect evening, Charles and Rubin dropped us all off at our hotel doors.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great and fun way to learn about KL and Malaysian culture. Plenty to eat and try from Street corners to restaurants. Great value for money.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great excursion. Charlie is a character and a great host. Just be aware the meeting point is out of KL Central, about 30mins by rail.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very interesting! Highly recommended for anyone visiting KL

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was like a mini college course on food and culture. Carlson was an exceptional guide. While he ordered for me, Carlson was very patient providing a complete explanation of how the food is prepared, as well as what was in the dish and answering all of my questions in detail. It was a very informative tour. I highly recommend that you request Carlson.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A great day with three young people who really made us comfortable. They were very informative and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Walking Food Tour was great and our tour guide, Charles, was fantastic. He really involved our 2 boys and they loved the tour also. I would highly recommend this tour if you are looking for something different to do while in Kuala Lumpur.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We loved our Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur. We were a group of 4 led by Gaby, who was lots of fun. Sampled lots of food from the 4 ethnic groups. It was all fabulous. Well done Charles and Gaby. Keep it up.

Jo and Rohan
New Zealand

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide is Charlie. He is really informative, friendly and fun. For those of you who want to enjoy the local food of Malaysia please join with this tour. Really reccomend!!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a really really cool experience. Our tour guide was AMAZING. I think his name was Charlie. We got to try the food the traditional local way. It was such an amazing experience. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Was a VERY informative tour! I can't recommend this one enough, as the guide was very knowledgeable about Little India and the area surrounding it, and his dry sense of humor kept people on their toes! Eating with my hand like they do in India was actually fun, and harder than you'd think!

The food was diverse! Shaved ice + coconut milk, spicy Indian food, and heaps of street goodies all went along to make this a really fun time! We lucked into joining a wedding at a local Hindu temple and ate some of the sweets that were being passed around! While not "street food" it was great to take in a bit of culture/merriment that just happened to be going on! FUN TOUR!

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Chris
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a fantastic tour. Sarah our guide was very informative and took us to a variety of food outlets sampling Malay, Chinese and Indian dishes. The night market was particularly good. Four guests was a great number to ensure an intimate tour and to hear all the information about the food. All in all this was a great tour especially in 'Rexy' the little green car. I would thoroughly recommend this to savour the variety of tastes and flavours of Malaysia. Good value for money, you certainly won't leave this hungry!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Charles was our guide what a thorough professional a great host not only well informed but a nice likeable person, he was the best that you can wish for.
The tour was great the food was fantastic I am truly thankful that we found this tour on Viator it made our stay in Malaysia great, we will definitely be back and hopefully see Charles again.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guides were easy to locate. They were keen to establish our tastes in food and challenged us to explore new dishes. We certainly were exposed to a variety of different dishes and certainly met the locals.
I would recommend it to any person visiting KL.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Me and my wife really loved this outing. The very best food you can ask for with the most romantic view of the twin towers and the city also.

Doing what: Private Tour: KL Tower Revolving Restaurant Buffet Dinner and Central Market Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message