Kusadasi ATTRACTIONS See all

Kusadasi Cruise Port

Kusadasi is a resort town located on Turkey’s Aegean Coast that is best known as a jumping off point for visits to Ephesus, the best preserved classical city in eastern Turkey. Just a few decades ago, it wasn’t much more than a small seaside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful experience! Our tour guide was very personable, engaging, well informed and genuinely nice! We lucked out to be the only two guests on a tour that can accommodate up to 14 guests. We loved our time with her.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Ephesus in the very capable hands of our guide Emray. He was very knowledgeable and attentive, walking us through Ephesus at our own pace, pointing out good photo points and always finding shade when we needed to talk longer about the site and it's history. He identified what we wanted from the trip and made sure that we got what we wanted from it. We returned to our ship very satisfied that we had seen everything we wanted and had it well explained but because we had gone at our own pace we were not exhausted even on the hottest of days. Would recommend the trip and the guide wholeheartedly,

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus including House of Virgin Mary and Temple of Artemis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Emre was our guide. He was a wonderful guide and I would recommend you ask for Emre if you book this tour. On time, courteous and very informative. He also gave us time to ourselves at various the various sites which was very good as sometimes you just need time to explore the site yourself a bit more without the ongoing lecture. But his knowledge of Ephesus and the House of the Virgin Mary was very useful. We were a family of 4 (two teenagers 16 and 13) and we booked this as a shore excursion as we were only in Kusadasi for the day. Ephesus is well worth the trip to make. The ruins are spectacular especially the library. On par with the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill. Much better (in my humble opinion) than Athen's Acropolis. We felt obliged to stop off at either a carpet making or leather factory. We chose the leather factory and was given a 'private' fashion show which was pretty entertaining (when in Turkey ....). Aside from that the rest of the trip was top notch and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus including Basilica of St John and Temple of Artemis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful excursion. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Good balance of descriptions vs free time to explore. Having smaller group made it much more personal.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

First I have to start with our tour guide Emre, he was fantastic! Incredibly Knowledgeable, very easy and interesting to listen to.Ephesus is a magnificent ancient city to visit he made us feel as if we could visualize the city the way it was 2000 years ago. He kept us in the shade as much as possible and walked ot our pace. He took us to off the cruise ship locations avoiding crowds and enabling us to experience authentic local sights. We went to a turkish rug manufacture and the entire production of the rugs were explained to us , without any pressure to purchase. We were served light refreshments and a choice of Turkish coffe( which I must say was the best coffee I have ever had), Turkish tea, local wine or their local spirtit ( Riki) . Then we went on to a leather factory. Here they put on a fashion show for us and my 2 daughters were able model some of the beautiful leather coats and jackets. The leather products were magnificent . Turkey was a highlight of our trip due to Emre and the wonderful sights to see. I found it very easy to contact the local tour company before we left. I will definitely use Viator exclusively for my tours.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus including House of Virgin Mary and Temple of Artemis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Emre, our guide, did a fantastic job while escorting us through the House of Virgin Mary and Ephesus. We had a wonderful time and appreciated the personalized service Emre offered to us.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a good time on the tour and our tour guide was really great. She knew a lot and kept it interesting. If I were doing the tour again I would choose to do the Houses in the Ephesus ruins over Mary's House. Just a personal preference I think

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This private tour to Kusadasi and Ephesus was one of the highlights of our Mediterrean Cruise
our guide Emery was excellent his knowledge and explanation was both interesting and entertaining so much history! .. I thoroughly recommend Emery and Viator. There was extra time for shopping and he took us to a fashion leather factory and warehouse, to our suprise the sales manager organised a fashion show just for the two of us. it was amazing!
10 out of 10 for this private tour. ( AS and BS Sydney Australia June 2014
... AS and BS Sydney Australia June 2014

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus including Basilica of St John and Temple of Artemis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was waiting for us as we left the ship. She is proud of her country, she was informative and very patient with people who came back late from photo or shopping time. The lunch at 2 pm is far too late in the day after all the walking at ephesus. This is a good tour that covers many locations. We were returned on time to the ship with no stress.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Grand, a very nice experience.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WOW!!! The highlight of our cruise. Turkey was amazing. I can not say enough of how wonderful this country is. Our tour guide, Gokce Tascilar, was fantastic. She was able to talk clearly and knew the history of Turkey and the areas we saw. She was fun with a great sense of humor. There is a ton of walking so be prepared. I wore nice, well supported sandles without any problem. Our first stop was the Blessed Mary's last known house. What a holy place. We arrived at Mary's house right ahead of a couple large tour buses, so were weren't over crowed when we went through. It was shady and peaceful. I'd love to go back there to admire the entire place with more time. Our next stop was down the hill to Ephesus. Be cautious of the main walking path through Ephesus. The marble walkways becomes very slick and slippery...so walk with caution. It gets hot! so try to wear a hat and have at least one bottle of water per person (2 if you like or need lots of water). The stories and history of Ephesus were enchanting and keep you interested in the entire trip. Onto St. John's cathedral which was good...but after the long walk through Ephesus we were already exhausted...The cathedral is set upon a hill with amazing views. That in itself was worth it. Our lunch was at the Turkish Rug place...the food was good and refreshing. The tour of how silk was made was really fun and seeing these rugs being woven was interesting too. The sales pitch to buy a rug wasn't too bad unless you showed interest...then they drag you away to a private room to sell you your rug. Make sure, if you are interested in purchasing a rug, to negotiate the price. I believe our rug started at $5k and we got it down to $2,800. So, do not be afraid to walk away. They want to make a deal. They want to make you happy. I recommend doing a bit of research before going to see what fair prices are on rugs. But make sure you compare of materials of the rugs like silk, wool or wool/cotton. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Emre was phenomenal. We had our two small children with us and he took his time and was extremely patient with them. His knowledge of the history of the area was excellent. I had been to Ephesus before on other tours, but Emre was leaps and bounds better than pervious guides.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus including Basilica of St John and Temple of Artemis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a full day tour. The tour guide met us according to instruction. No delays. She was very knowledgeable and paced the tour to enhance the highlights accordingly.
We would recommend this tour

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We waited from 9am departure till 9.30am for 2 guests whose ship was departing at 2.30pm, they didn't turn up.we were supposed to be returning 4.30pm so it didn't make sense. The trip was interesting and after an hour at a carpet showroom we were back at the dock at 3.40pm.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message