For classic Kyoto in a nutshell, head to Arashiyama Park. The perennially popular area is rich in temples and a riot of fall colors in November, with pink cherry blossoms in April. The park area embraces several major sights, including ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

you could probably do this tour by yourself, our guide was great and very nice and talkative, but honestly, its easy enough to get to from kyoto station on your own. the scenery in and around the bamboo forest is really worth taking in. and whilst you can do the forest itself in 15mins or so with the tour, it might be something you want to spend a little more time surrounded by. The town has great food and souvenir stops which i recommend. The tour guide gives you the option of staying behind or heading back to kyoto together - so if you can, i think staying back to experience the sights and treats is worth it. Would love to see the forest at night. The 200 yen soft-serve icecream is a must as well! :)

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was initially skeptical of the tour as we began. It involved taking the local train and a lot of walking. I have no problem doing either, but coulldn't see the value of the tour. However, as the tour went on, it became clear that the value lay in the amazing tour guide and the intimacy of the small group. Our guide, Michiharu, was very knowledgeable about Kyoto and Osaka, but particularly about Arashiyama. He was able to give us full histories on all the sights we saw and answered any questions we posed to him. During the slower parts of the tour, such as on the train or walking from one sight to another, he was able to recommend us to various sights tailored to our interests. He pointed my boyfriend, an avid martial artist, to the Budo Centre, where we spent the rest of the day. However, Arashiyama is amazing, and we went back the next morning. If you are able, stay the whole day!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautful area near Kyoto. Tour was great and guide was informative. Lots of walking so wear comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyable walk. Beautiful scenery

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a lovely tour and great to see the Bamboo forest and the temple gardens. The tour guide was really friendly and informative. When I went it was a small group around 12 people. We got the train there and back again. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Guide was excellent. The size of this walking tour was small (3). The pace was good. See saw a lot in a beautiful setting.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a really fun tour despite the rain we had!!!! Our guide was fabulous and did a wonderful job of watching out for 25 people!!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Amazing fall colors! Glad I joined this tour at the right time when all the maple and ginkgo trees were ablazed with beautiful hues of red, orange, yellow, and everything in between.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide really added value and was very friendly and knowledgeable. She even left us with a small gift! The bamboo grove was stunning and the whole experience was very enjoyable. We had plenty of time to take things in and the walking part was very leisurely with no pressure. Definitely worth the effort.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

One of my favourite tours. Good tour guide and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Love the love shrine we stopped by. The bamboo groves were also super gorgeous.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The tour guide was ppersonable and was very happy to provide an insight into the cultural,spiritual and social aspects of this district. She spoke fluent aenhlish. The gardens were spectacularvand you had the freedom to stay longer and were given train ticket home.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a great morning. Our guide was interesting, had a good knowledge and was charming. The walk was fantastic we enjoyed all of it.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message