Kyoto ATTRACTIONS See all

Fushimi Inari Shrine

Dedicated to the gods of sake and rice, the Fushimi Inari Shrine is one of the oldest Shinto shrines in Japan. Five shrines dot the forested temple grounds, and the arched red lines of torii gates straddling the pathway leading up to Inari ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kirilee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour. They limit the tour to 11 or 12 people, and so you get a really good vibe the entire time. Our tour host Lulu was amazing and very well informed. Wear comfortable shoes to walk in - you will be walking quite far.
Also, just a heads up, the fushimi inari shrine is super busy during the day with tourist. If you want a really beautiful and peaceful experience of it, go back during the evening or I was told very early morning. The shrine doesn't close, and it is well lit all the way to the top.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

davebaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really good tour. Our guide Mari was excellent and informative. Loved Fushimi Inari Shrine although would have liked to have gone to the top but given the length of the tour and other places to go it was not possible. I will return to Japan to complete this. Gion is definitely another highlight and a fascinating insight.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Diva Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My tour of Kyoto in the beginning of cherry blossom season last week in March was simply divine! Rebecca, my tour guide, was polite, knowledgeable, and importantly, a native English speaker. Having lived in Japan for 2 years, Rebecca was able to communicate and navigate effectively as a local. Highlights include: Seeing 2 traditional Japanese weddings outdoors on a beautiful day serendipitous timing!, walking the secret path at Fushimi-Inari that is packed with mini-shrines, and strolling the preserved village streets where we went souvenir shopping at my urging and where I got to try black sesame ice cream! Yes, it was delicious! When we visited temples, Rebecca was highly knowledgeable and educated me on Buddhism and Shintoism in Japan. As a Westerner, I found this to be fascinating, as it is so different from my home culture. Rebecca can also take a great picture - something that is extremely important on such a special trip! My advice to anyone considering this tour would be to have an idea of what you would like to see and accomplish, it helps you tour guide prepare the best experience for you, but also to trust the expert - your tour guide! Rebecca had suggestions I never would have considered that turned out to be highlights of the day. What are you waiting for? Go see Kyoto, and ask for Rebecca!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Kyoto in One Day

Melanie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Took this tour on our first day in Kyoto and it's a really great introduction to this lovely city. Our guide Terin was very engaging and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the afternoon visiting Tofukuji temple, Fushimi Inari shrine and the Gion district. Highly recommended for those visiting Kyoto on limited time.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I took this tour with Yoshie in August. This was a great day, and Yoshie was an excellent guide. At the Fushimi Inari shrine, she talked us thriugh many of the traditions and rituals,,as well as the shrine's history and cultural significance, which really elevated the experience for us as compared to other shrines we visited on our own in Kyoto. She also walked us through the sake-making and -tasting process and told us some great stories about the sake brewing district of Kyoto. She kept us on schedule without any stress or fuss, had a great sense of humor, and was obviously incredibly knowledgeable about the subjects of the tour. I would highly recommend this tour to others!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Our tour guide was great and gave us some interesting information. The Fushimi Inari is very scenic with an interesting history. Loved the sake tasting and museum tour. A great half-day tour.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Tomoko and her assistant Rita were excellent. First the basics. The meeting place was easy to find, the train transportation went smoothly, and they were both helpful with taking pictures. The mix of history, culture and sake tasting was just what we were looking for. Fushimi Inari Shrine is beautiful and Tomoko helped direct us to several spots off the beaten path that were less busy and allowed us to see the true magic of the site. But even more important Tomoko is an International Kikisaki-shi sake sommelier! Her knowledge of sake, food pairings and what makes good vs. great sake is wonderful. She provided us with materials on sake types and parings that I have kept to help guide my purchases back home. The tasting done in a regular liquor store, not a tourist trap included both aged sake and unpasteurized sake neither of which are really available outside of Japan. We bought two bottles of sake but there was no pressure to do so. Thank you to the tour company, Tomoko, and Rita for a wonderful Kyoto experience.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

June D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must do tour! We were lucky enough to be the only two on this tour, with a guide who spoke excellent English. Fushimi Inari is a fascinating place, and our guide explained all the customs and traditions as we wandered through. Afterwards to the Sake Brewery museum and store with plenty of tastings was a nice way to finish off the tour - then back to Kyoto station again by train.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour with a very knowledgable guide. Visiting fushimi inari was a dream come true. Spotted a geisha in Gion to top it off.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Elizabeth P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic and definitely a highlight of our time in Kyoto. Our guide Kumiko was very knowledgeable and informative, easy to understand and funny. We learnt a lot about the New Year traditions, the Kyoto way of life, the geisha traditions, Japanese food (we really enjoyed the Japanese sweet shop in Gion!). The small group made it easy to ask lots of questions. All of the tour sightseeing was amazing and my favourite was the Fushimi Inari shrine which every visitor to Kyoto must visit! Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Katrina L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. It was personalised - just my husband and me - and our guide Yoko was wonderful. Yoko speaks impecable English and she really knew her subject matter. Fushimi Inari Shrine is very different to other Shrines we have seen and is worth seeing, and the brewery museum was really interesting. We sampled and old and new style sake at the museum (my vote is for the old style), and tried 6 different sakes at specialst sake shop. A really great way to spend half a day!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Tinnike Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Fei was a great guide, she explained us the story of each place we visited. She speaks good English and she is very friendly. The tour highlighted the area that you have to visit, it was a great time visiting Tofukuji Temple, Fushimi Inari Shrine and Geisha District in Gion street:)

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Emily S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour. It was helpful having the guide explaining things about Fushimi Inari that we wouldn't have known on our own. The sake portion of the tour was a bit rushed. We stopped in at the museum for about 5 minutes and did a quick tasting without getting to really look around.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Barbara D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was great. While we enjoyed Tofukuji sp? we spent too much time there before going to Fushimi-inari which we really liked. We thought we were going to a different place instead of Tofukuji which was okay especially as it wasn't as crowded but rather boring overall.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Jessica M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour, highly knowledgeable guide. For non-Japanese speakers, having an English guide in a place like Fushimi Inari is a must.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Laurence Z USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

There were only three of us on this tour. The guide was friendly and somewhat knowledgeable, but not as informative as other tour guides on other Viator recommended tours we,ve taken. The walk from the train station to Tofuku-Ji Shrine was 25 minutes and the walk from there to Fushimi Inari was another 20-25 minutes. The best part of the tour was the walk around the Gion district, which was more leisurely. Potential participants should be honestly told about the amount of walking involved, especially if the weather is warmer,as it was during our tour.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message