Kyoto ATTRACTIONS See all

Fushimi Inari Shrine

Dedicated to the gods of sake and rice, the Fushimi Inari Shrine is one of the oldest Shinto shrines in Japan. Five shrines dot the forested temple grounds, and the arched red lines of torii gates straddling the pathway leading up to Inari ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Our tour guide was great and gave us some interesting information. The Fushimi Inari is very scenic with an interesting history. Loved the sake tasting and museum tour. A great half-day tour.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Tomoko and her assistant Rita were excellent. First the basics. The meeting place was easy to find, the train transportation went smoothly, and they were both helpful with taking pictures. The mix of history, culture and sake tasting was just what we were looking for. Fushimi Inari Shrine is beautiful and Tomoko helped direct us to several spots off the beaten path that were less busy and allowed us to see the true magic of the site. But even more important Tomoko is an International Kikisaki-shi sake sommelier! Her knowledge of sake, food pairings and what makes good vs. great sake is wonderful. She provided us with materials on sake types and parings that I have kept to help guide my purchases back home. The tasting done in a regular liquor store, not a tourist trap included both aged sake and unpasteurized sake neither of which are really available outside of Japan. We bought two bottles of sake but there was no pressure to do so. Thank you to the tour company, Tomoko, and Rita for a wonderful Kyoto experience.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must do tour! We were lucky enough to be the only two on this tour, with a guide who spoke excellent English. Fushimi Inari is a fascinating place, and our guide explained all the customs and traditions as we wandered through. Afterwards to the Sake Brewery museum and store with plenty of tastings was a nice way to finish off the tour - then back to Kyoto station again by train.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour with a very knowledgable guide. Visiting fushimi inari was a dream come true. Spotted a geisha in Gion to top it off.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic and definitely a highlight of our time in Kyoto. Our guide Kumiko was very knowledgeable and informative, easy to understand and funny. We learnt a lot about the New Year traditions, the Kyoto way of life, the geisha traditions, Japanese food (we really enjoyed the Japanese sweet shop in Gion!). The small group made it easy to ask lots of questions. All of the tour sightseeing was amazing and my favourite was the Fushimi Inari shrine which every visitor to Kyoto must visit! Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Katrina L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. It was personalised - just my husband and me - and our guide Yoko was wonderful. Yoko speaks impecable English and she really knew her subject matter. Fushimi Inari Shrine is very different to other Shrines we have seen and is worth seeing, and the brewery museum was really interesting. We sampled and old and new style sake at the museum (my vote is for the old style), and tried 6 different sakes at specialst sake shop. A really great way to spend half a day!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Tinnike
Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Fei was a great guide, she explained us the story of each place we visited. She speaks good English and she is very friendly. The tour highlighted the area that you have to visit, it was a great time visiting Tofukuji Temple, Fushimi Inari Shrine and Geisha District in Gion street:)

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

There were only three of us on this tour. The guide was friendly and somewhat knowledgeable, but not as informative as other tour guides on other Viator recommended tours we,ve taken. The walk from the train station to Tofuku-Ji Shrine was 25 minutes and the walk from there to Fushimi Inari was another 20-25 minutes. The best part of the tour was the walk around the Gion district, which was more leisurely. Potential participants should be honestly told about the amount of walking involved, especially if the weather is warmer,as it was during our tour.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message