• USD ($)
  • English
The refined traditional arts of Japan are highlighted for visitors at Gion Corner, an entertaining and informative nightspot. From tea ceremony to the twang of the Koto, Ikebana floral arranging to puppet plays, Gion Corner dramatizes and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a small group of two families and both of us had small children in prams. Keep in mind that there is a lot of walking.
Our guide was Ramon, who was friendly and informative He provided a different slant on the Japanese culture that you would have otherwise got from a larger more corporate tour company.
The tour features a temple and shrine as well as well as the backstreets of Gion. We would have never found these places by ourselves. Our guide had spent some time overseas so had a great take on western life compared to Japanese life and narrated the tour well and in a funny way.
After the tour concluded our guide walked us back to the bus stop to get back to Kyoto Station. We were lucky to catch the express bus and I understand the normal one would have taken a while. It’s too far for taxi so remember to grab the express bus. Well recommended and a highlight of our trip to Japan.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fabulous from start to finish. We even saw three geisha girls in the Gion district. The Gion district was amazing and we were walking down the cobbled alleyways in the moonlight. Fabulous experience!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic and definitely a highlight of our time in Kyoto. Our guide Kumiko was very knowledgeable and informative, easy to understand and funny. We learnt a lot about the New Year traditions, the Kyoto way of life, the geisha traditions, Japanese food (we really enjoyed the Japanese sweet shop in Gion!). The small group made it easy to ask lots of questions. All of the tour sightseeing was amazing and my favourite was the Fushimi Inari shrine which every visitor to Kyoto must visit! Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and it was more than we expected. Our tour guide was wonderful and she went to great lengths to make sure we spotted a geisha in Gion. Our walking tour with her was also fantastic and we really enjoyed the local feel of the walk. The sweets we're were given were also enjoyable.
Loved this tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Lovely way to see Kyoto. Our guide, Kaz, was fun and informative. Because the group is small (there were 6 of us), it was much more enjoyable then parading along with a larger bus tour. We enjoyed chit chatting with one another as we strolled along. I was staying in Gion and that is also the last stop of the tour so it worked out well for me. I just walked a couple of blocks to my hotel. We did spot Maiko too!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is perfect tour for first time visitor to Kyoto since it shows you the best places to see in this old city. We went to the most popular area Gion and met Geisha on the main street in Gion and then we went to try the traditional Japanese dishes in one of the restaurants in Gion by ourselves. Our tour guide also took us to the theater which has daily shows for tea ceremony, Geisha show and other traditional show. If you do not want to pay expensive meal to see Geisha show, this theater is the most economic way to see Geisha show.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Tinnike
Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Fei was a great guide, she explained us the story of each place we visited. She speaks good English and she is very friendly. The tour highlighted the area that you have to visit, it was a great time visiting Tofukuji Temple, Fushimi Inari Shrine and Geisha District in Gion street:)

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Our guide, Kensai, was great. He took us to a temple and a shrine that were out of the city centre so it was less likely we would have visited them on our own. In our tour of Gion, beside the sights, he showed us where we would be able to spot geishas and sure enough we did. Overall is wonderful.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our translator/guide Reiko picked us up promptly at our hotel and had a cab waiting to take us to Gion, where we spent a few minutes marveling at the illuminated cherry blossoms and the lovely people strolling in the area. Then we were whisked away to the restaurant for our evening with the geisha. It was a beautiful evening. The service by the restaurant staff was excellent. Reiko proved to be an excellent translator for our communication with our maiko, answering all our questions with a smile. It was a magical evening to experience the world of geisha up close, to see her hair and make-up, her beautiful kimono and her gentle demeanor. Our maiko entertained us with music, dance, conversation and a fun game at the end of the evening. We felt very special receiving all the attention. The men in our group were especially appreciative of her presence but the ladies enjoyed themselves a lot too. We were a bit disappointed with the quality of the dinner. Having eaten in other expensive restaurants. we felt that it could have been a bit more inventive, but in the end the evening was more about the culture of the geisha rather than gastronomy. I cannot speak highly enough of our wonderful translator and guide Reiko, whose politesse and proficiency in English made our evening so enjoyable!

Doing what: The Art of the Geisha: Private Dinner in Kyoto

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a great time on the half day small-group Kyoto cultural tour! Our guide, Fei, was friendly and knowledgeable and kept the tour well paced and fun!

We enjoyed all the places we visited and had the luck to spot a geisha on her way to an appointment in Gion. After the tour, Fei helped recommend a local theater to see cultural performances.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Guide Susan was excellent. Enjoyed wandering the streets on the way to the temples. Gion was a bit disappointing as there was not much time able to be spent there, and we did not manage to see any Geishas. Organisation was good though and the experience worthwhile. We learned more about the culture than we could discern by ourselves.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

There were only three of us on this tour. The guide was friendly and somewhat knowledgeable, but not as informative as other tour guides on other Viator recommended tours we,ve taken. The walk from the train station to Tofuku-Ji Shrine was 25 minutes and the walk from there to Fushimi Inari was another 20-25 minutes. The best part of the tour was the walk around the Gion district, which was more leisurely. Potential participants should be honestly told about the amount of walking involved, especially if the weather is warmer,as it was during our tour.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

good tour , great guide.......would've liked to spend more time in Gion though. :)

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message