No wonder this serene destination was once featured in "Lost in Translation" the Heian Shrine is easily one of Kyoto's most beautiful. Built in 1884 to mark the 1,100th anniversary of the city, and was dedicated to its first and last ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, even with the rain. The guide was very informative, helpful and accommodating. I booked this, along with the Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural tour (walking) at the last minute after I arrived in Kyoto. I had basically a day and a half in Kyoto prior to spending the bulk of my Japan trip in Tokyo. This was a great way to see the city in a half day's time. I'm not sure I would have wanted more time in Kyoto, because once you've seen several temples and shrines, I think seeing more would just become redundant. Bring a rain poncho, just in case.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Interesting places, quick stops at each but still felt like enough time - helped by guides knowledge and commentary. Easy way to see the palace without the hassle of arranging it in advance yourself with passports etc. Lunch was very tasty on the full day trip. Great

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour is well organized and well run. I personally would not recommend a whole day of viewing these shrines. I would recommend just the afternoon tour portion. I enjoyed those locations the best. A whole day is quite tiring and gets repetitive. This is nothing against the company.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Little bit rushed to start but after the first temple things calm down and we really enjoyed it. Looks of great sights and very informative!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Little bit rushed to start but after the first temple things calm down and we really enjoyed it. Looks of great sights and very informative!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great way to view the city and sites, highly recommended and Healy our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good customer service (matched lowest available price) as well as knowledgeable tour guides and good selection of sites.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nothing but praise for this tour. Fantastic guide ( Elsa) and a wonderful way to see and learn about some of Kyoto's best sites. Easy , safe but also fun cycle for all ages.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Probably our favorite tour of our trip. Saw a heap of fantastic scenes from around Kyoto with a really well informed guides. The swcond half of the day we had to practically take at a run but that was only because there is so much crammed into the day. Definitely worth it if you have a spare day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Guide excellent.speaks good English and very helpful.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour - Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall, it was wonderful experience. Sometimes felt rushed.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The itinerary of the tour is very good, visiting the principal touristic places of Kyoto, our guide Mr. Yoshitaka was nice and amusing, besides of knowledge of details of the visited points.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I felt bad for the tour guides because the day was hot and this makes for sleepy, slightly cranky tourists. But they did a great job. Very informTive, patient and professional . I particularly liked that a ten minute grace period the bus left rather than wait for inconsiderate participants.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is great for the highlights of Kyoto. Our afternoon tour guide (male) was amazing.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message