No wonder this serene destination was once featured in "Lost in Translation" the Heian Shrine is easily one of Kyoto's most beautiful. Built in 1884 to mark the 1,100th anniversary of the city, and was dedicated to its first and last ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 345 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, even with the rain. The guide was very informative, helpful and accommodating. I booked this, along with the Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural tour (walking) at the last minute after I arrived in Kyoto. I had basically a day and a half in Kyoto prior to spending the bulk of my Japan trip in Tokyo. This was a great way to see the city in a half day's time. I'm not sure I would have wanted more time in Kyoto, because once you've seen several temples and shrines, I think seeing more would just become redundant. Bring a rain poncho, just in case.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The shrines and temples were interesting and each one was different from the other. The shopping area was fantastic. The tour guide spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour - Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our third Viator tour on this trip. We were picked up in Kyoto at the hotel we stayed at (New Miyako); again, very convenient. Our tour guide, Yoshi, was the best of the trip...very knowledegable and funny. Niho Castle was the highlight of the tour and it worth the trip--awesome. Heian Shrine was next and was a very spiritual place, again, worth the visit. From there, we visited the Golden Pavilion and got some great pics and good luck charms. We stopped for lunch at a restaurant (part of the tour) and had a great traditional lunch, shabu-shabu style. After this, we got back on the bus but were again plagued by the bus' inadequate AC, as it got hot and humid outside. The entire tour group resorted to opening the windows and braving the stickiness rather than the oven it had become inside. Our next stop was the imperial palace replica. It was immense and provided stunning pics and memories. Kiyomizu temple was out last stop. The shopping on the road up to the temple was another major attraction, here. At the conclusion of the tour, we were returned to our hotel at approx. 5pm, so we still had time to walk around Kyoto! Don't miss this one--imo its a good investment in time and money for what you get--experience this important area's major sites, explained by an expert, eat great local food, excellent shopping opportunities, and convenient pickup/drop-off. We'll do this one again, someday.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Friendly tour guide, it was great to find out all the information about each location from an expert!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and knowledgeable guides. If you want to see some of the most famous sights in Kyoto in an efficient and stress free way, then this is the tour to go on!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Interesting places, quick stops at each but still felt like enough time - helped by guides knowledge and commentary. Easy way to see the palace without the hassle of arranging it in advance yourself with passports etc. Lunch was very tasty on the full day trip. Great

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour is well organized and well run. I personally would not recommend a whole day of viewing these shrines. I would recommend just the afternoon tour portion. I enjoyed those locations the best. A whole day is quite tiring and gets repetitive. This is nothing against the company.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Little bit rushed to start but after the first temple things calm down and we really enjoyed it. Looks of great sights and very informative!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Little bit rushed to start but after the first temple things calm down and we really enjoyed it. Looks of great sights and very informative!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great way to view the city and sites, highly recommended and Healy our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good customer service (matched lowest available price) as well as knowledgeable tour guides and good selection of sites.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nothing but praise for this tour. Fantastic guide ( Elsa) and a wonderful way to see and learn about some of Kyoto's best sites. Easy , safe but also fun cycle for all ages.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Probably our favorite tour of our trip. Saw a heap of fantastic scenes from around Kyoto with a really well informed guides. The swcond half of the day we had to practically take at a run but that was only because there is so much crammed into the day. Definitely worth it if you have a spare day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Guide excellent.speaks good English and very helpful.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour - Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message