• USD ($)
  • English
No wonder this serene destination was once featured in "Lost in Translation" the Heian Shrine is easily one of Kyoto's most beautiful. Built in 1884 to mark the 1,100th anniversary of the city, and was dedicated to its first and last ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 304 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, all of it is worth it. The last area visited for the Kiyomizu temple was amazing and the tour guide was wonderful.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was BRILLIANT !!! Path of Philosophy was magical. The wind started and blew the Cherry Blossom petals like they were snow. A great workout fir 4 hours. Saw parts of Kyoto we would never have otherwise seen. Great tourguide Grecia. My 9 and 11 year olds kept up and loved it. Highly recommend

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great way to immerse into a new city - a guided tour. It is rushed, in, out, rush. To be expected. Good day

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great to see all the places in one day but boy was it crowded. They had 5 bus loads going all day and lunch was packed too. Recommend going on this tour if your short of time, if not, buy a subway pass and make your own way around.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This tour was great. We saw two of the most amazing temples. Only complaint would be I would have liked a little more free time to look around the amazing market at the Kiyomizu Temple.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour to Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo Hall and Kiyomizu Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Overall good tour. However, there are other places in Kyoto which would be better selections than some of the sites on the tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Amazing tour! There was plenty of time to see each site and free time for shopping at the temple district at Kyomizu Dera. We also walked through the adjacent Shinto shrine in our free time and still got to shop. Stress free pick up and drop off at the Shin Miyako Hotel right next to the Kyoto Eki.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour - Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Amazing tour! There was plenty of time to see each site and free time for shopping at the temple district at Kyomizu Dera. We also walked through the adjacent Shinto shrine in our free time and still got to shop. Stress free pick up and drop off at the Shin Miyako Hotel right next to the Kyoto Eki.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour - Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour. My sister and I were thrilled with all we saw and found the guid to be terrific. She was knowledgeable, gracious, and helpful.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

this is probably the 3rd time i've done this tour in the last 15 years. I absolutely love it! We used to do lunch at the handicraft center but that changed after the earthquake so Lunch time without the shopping time was a bit of a let down, but the lunch itself was delicious. Guides were knowledgable and well spoken.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was a great way to see the "real" Kyoto. Out tour guide gave us a really personal tour where we not only had a lot of fun but saw plenty we would not have if we were not on a bike. Excellent!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

One of the best guided tour I ever had. The tour guide was very helpful and took effort to explain the history and culture of the site we visit. Didn't have the opportunity to thank him. His name is Mihara (sorry if I got the spelling wrong). I would recommend anyone to take this guided tour if it is the first time to Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was very well organized, meeting us at the hotel and taking care of everything. Time at venues was right except the last, which could have allowed more time for shopping. The sites are spectacular and the guide had an excellent grasp of the history and presented it in a most enjoyable and understandable way. I do recommend this tour as an introduction to Kyoto, but if you have the time, also go out and explore on your own, which our guide encouraged with helpful ideas.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour to see a lot in a day. Saw just enough temples and shrines to make me feel like I got a good feel for Kyoto. English-speaking tour guide was easy to understand. We walked back to our hotel in Gion rather than taking the bus from the last temple and I recommend the walk since it is in a cool district with quaint shops. You may even see Geishas in the streets. Be careful when booking trip because we thought the bus was picking us up at our hotel (since the website asked which hotel we were staying at), but the voucher said differently. We had to travel to a different hotel to meet the bus. Overall, good trip.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message