The Kiyomizu Temple is an ancient institution, dating back to 798 AD and the days of Nara. Its classic design influenced temple architecture for centuries. The hill-top temple is a Kyoto landmark, and provides fabulous views over the city. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A perfect introduction to the most spectacular temples and shrines in my favorite city in all of Asia. Kiyomizu is a must-see especially for the first timer in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour: Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an excellent tour. Kyoto is a quaint city in some respects but unless you are prepared to really study the history and spend some serious time walking and taking the metro, you won't see these sites with this much information and this efficiently. The guide was excellent. All of the stops were extremely interesting and the guide explained all of the history. The time allotment was good. We traveled with kids (7 and 14) and they were interested in everything. Beware that if you have those who cannot climb a lot of stairs or walk an incline at the last stop, Kiyomizu Temple, they may have to wait at the bottom. It is an inclined road, leading to a lot of stairs with a very large and interesting complex at the top. The view is incredible and the site very interesting so don't skip it if you can handle the stairs. There is great shopping on the small streets below if you want to leave the tour there and make your way back to your hotel on your own. The last stop is right next to the Gion District. Our hotel was there so we shopped, tested sake, ate green tea ice cream and slowly walked back to our hotel. All other stops were fine for those with moderate walking ability.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our third Viator tour on this trip. We were picked up in Kyoto at the hotel we stayed at (New Miyako); again, very convenient. Our tour guide, Yoshi, was the best of the trip...very knowledegable and funny. Niho Castle was the highlight of the tour and it worth the trip--awesome. Heian Shrine was next and was a very spiritual place, again, worth the visit. From there, we visited the Golden Pavilion and got some great pics and good luck charms. We stopped for lunch at a restaurant (part of the tour) and had a great traditional lunch, shabu-shabu style. After this, we got back on the bus but were again plagued by the bus' inadequate AC, as it got hot and humid outside. The entire tour group resorted to opening the windows and braving the stickiness rather than the oven it had become inside. Our next stop was the imperial palace replica. It was immense and provided stunning pics and memories. Kiyomizu temple was out last stop. The shopping on the road up to the temple was another major attraction, here. At the conclusion of the tour, we were returned to our hotel at approx. 5pm, so we still had time to walk around Kyoto! Don't miss this one--imo its a good investment in time and money for what you get--experience this important area's major sites, explained by an expert, eat great local food, excellent shopping opportunities, and convenient pickup/drop-off. We'll do this one again, someday.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was excellent. Sanjusendo and the Kiyomizu temple were multi-faceted and well worth the time spent visiting them. The Heian shrine was, likewise, interesting.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour: Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, all of it is worth it. The last area visited for the Kiyomizu temple was amazing and the tour guide was wonderful.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Kaylene W
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Tour is a bit pricey. However, if you are in Kansai for a short trip, would recommend this, as its impossible to travel so many places on your own. We did not follow the grp back to hotel as we decided to walk from Kiyomizu temple to Gion area. Very walkable. In addition, if you need to catch the bus back to the hotel, you will find that you do not have enough time at Kiyomuzu temple. There is a street of snacks and gift s you can buy. Stopped over for a bowl of kyoto udon as well!.. nice

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

As the different historical sites in Kyoto are not within walking distance of each other, unless you're a confident cyclist, a full day organised tour is a good idea. The guide we had was excellent. She spoke English well, was helpful and knowledgeable about the different sites. The Japanese-Chinese buffet lunch was nice and a quick visit of Kyoto handicraft centre allowed us to purchase some different souvenirs in one place albeit a little pricey. Ninjo Castle and Kiyomizu temples are definite must-sees.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Bottom line there is no way you could hit this many great sights on your own, unless you were a local. Many of the sights require reservations and other hassles to get into - the tour bypasses all that. Pros great sights, tour guide speaks good English, gives you a good 'sampler platter' of Kyoto. Cons mediocre lunch as expected, a bit too much time at the Handicraft Center, which is just where you can buy your tourist junk. Tips if you like lovely streets, don't take the bus back to your hotel at the end of the tour. Instead, walk down the shopping street at the base of Kiyomizu temple, then go to Ninnen-zaka and Sannen-zaka, two beautiful restored streets. You can walk to Gion from here in about 30 mins. The Southern Higashiyama Walking Tour in Lonely Planet's Japan book explains further or just ask your tour guide - they'll know what I'm talking about.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Kiyomizu Temple was our favorite.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour: Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

Margaret T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

The Golden Pavilion shone in the sun and with the lake in the foreground to give a reflection in the water -- it was a photographer's delight. Our guide told us of the purpose of each room in the Niji Castle which gave meaning to what we were seeing. Of course the the 1,000 images at Sanjusangendo was impressive. The serenity of the Kiyomizu Temple and its surrounding gardens made me feel I could stay there forever it was the most beautiful place.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Really great tour, wish I had more time. The spots chosen for the tour are all interesting and beautiful, particularly if you are appreciative of both culture and natural beauty. The guides were friendly and informative. I was particularly appreciative of the guide on our afternoon tour. She was a retired primary school teacher and did a very good job and used lots of visual props you could see the teaching coming out. I just wish that there has been more time at each of the stops, particularly the Golden Pavilion and the Kiyomizu Temple and then this would be a 5 star rating. I had a short time in Kyoto. If I had stayed longer, this would have been a good prompt to go back to a number of places and spend more time taking in the beauty.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Kyoto is a beautiful city with so much to see and take in, and in a sense I had the feeling that this particular tour tried to cover too much ground for just one day. You would go to one UNESCO world heritage site take a look around and immediately be on route to the next one. the full-day tour is even comprised to two separate tours, the morning half-day and the afternoon half-day which further added to the fractured atmosphere.

The lunch was also rather disappointing by Japanese cooking standards the saving grace of the day however was kiyomizudera.right at the end. The perfect place to take a pic from up high of the whole city and pick up yatsuhashi omiage. The shop-lined streets and geisha-clad tourists added to the ambience and was a highlight not just of this tour but of my vacation as a whole.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really good tour. Our guide, Mariko, had strong English which was really helpful. Construction going on in Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu at the moment which while unavoidable was a bit of a shame. Tour was enjoyable and would recommend it as one of the easier ways to see what Kyoto has to offer. Bear in mind though, it felt rushed at parts so if you have two days in Kyoto it might be worth doing the tour on the first and using the second to go back to the places that you liked.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour was a Great way to GET to Know Kyoto i only Wish we had a bit more time to visit the Kiyomizu area Since it was a highlight for us. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful when it came to recommandations. We were a little disappointed With the lunch but over all would recommend!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour was good for an overview of Kyoto. Enjoyed: Nijo Castle, Golden Pavilion, Sanju-Sangendo Hall, and Kiyomizu Temple. Disappointed with Imperial Palace since only got to walk on the outside. Would have skipped Heian Shrine and used that extra time at Kiyomizu Temple instead. Didn't have enough time at Kiyomizu Temple to really enjoy it. Lunch wasn't filling enough. Tour guides were great and friendly.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our all day tour of Kyoto was informative and interesting. We visited many sites and were fortunate enough to walk through the grounds of the Imperial Palace, which I understand is open only a few times a year. Our tour guide, I belive his name was Casey, made the tour fun and gave us so many interesting tips.
It rained in the afternoon which made the traffic so heavy so we had difficulty driving up to Kiyomizu Temple. By the time we got there is was getting dark so did not get to see much of it.
Our lunch break was too long which cut our tour shorter and would recommend that you make it shorter. Other than that, the tour was good and I would recommend it to friends.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

If like us you are time limited, this is a good tour to do. We did think that it was somewhat unbalanced with the places in the morning feeling rather rushed as they warranted more time whilst the pm session could have been better paced with more time at Kiyomizu. The morning tour guide was excellent: very informative and with very good English. Our lady in the afternoon was very pleasant but seemed less assured and was thrown by the traffic problems at Kiyomizu. Lunch was rather chaotic and the serving staff should have organised it more effectively. That being said, we thought the food was excellent, and plenty of it so that it definitely made the whole day tour good value.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The tour guide was given a very detail and clear explanation. But due to tracffic issue, the time spend at Kiyomizu Temple was too short. So end up it was quite rush during visit to Kiyomizu Temple.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

The three sites are historical and terrific in the evening with maples trees, but the time staying in Kiyomizu Temple was too short. The tourist guide was responsible and humurous with a high standard of spoken English.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour: Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Very good tour. Loved seeing Kinkakuji, Nijo Castle and Kiyomize Temple again. Didn't understand why Heian Shrine was included. Aren't there more historical sites? Also didn't understand why Kiyomizu was in the afternoon when it was the hottest time of day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Experience was amazing! The scenery at Kiyomizu Temple was just breath taking. Sadly, we ran out of time to properly experience everything to its full potential.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour: Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

Yvette D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

This tour was a great way to cover the really beautiful sights of Kyoto - especially the Golden Pavilion! Both our guides for the day were friendly, helpful and informative. The last stop at Kiyomizu felt like you needed more time because the souvenir shops and the ice cream and candy stalls here are amazing. I would see if I could leave the tour here and find my own way back.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

The best part of the tour was the transportation and Kiyomizu Temple. Definitely worth doing it. Thank you!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Marilou V
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

We only had a day to spend in Kyoto, and this tour allowed us to see the highlights of the city in a short time span. We specially liked the Kiyomizu Temple with its quaint street shops and fantastic view. The Heian Shrine was also captivating for its gardens, which we learned from our lively tour guide was also the setting for Memoirs of a Geisha. But I would have to say that what made this tour really special was the extra mile our tour guide took to make our sightseeing memorable. Our party had wanted to see the Gion district after the tour had ended, and had asked him to drop us off somewhere near the area. Not only did he do that, he also personally went with us to show us the side streets and points of interests in the area. In this case, what made the difference from numerous other tours is his personal touch and his generosity with his time. Thanks!!

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour: Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

Sue C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Great tour, places chosen were worth seeing, although I had already seen Kiyomizu Temple the night before without knowing it...but nice to see it during the day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message