Located along the eastern edge of Fraser Island on the popular Seventy Five Mile Beach, Indian Head was named by the famous Captain Cook upon his arrival in 1770. Visitors flock to this popular landmark for its incredible 360-degree views of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tourguide and the only chance to see Imperial palace to be on the safe site

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Yes it was amazing and enjoyed the nipping live reindeers.

I wish to have been able to visit one if the interiors of the Imperial Palace and not only the garden.

My second time to Nijo castle and enjoyed it

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our third Viator tour on this trip. We were picked up in Kyoto at the hotel we stayed at (New Miyako); again, very convenient. Our tour guide, Yoshi, was the best of the trip...very knowledegable and funny. Niho Castle was the highlight of the tour and it worth the trip--awesome. Heian Shrine was next and was a very spiritual place, again, worth the visit. From there, we visited the Golden Pavilion and got some great pics and good luck charms. We stopped for lunch at a restaurant (part of the tour) and had a great traditional lunch, shabu-shabu style. After this, we got back on the bus but were again plagued by the bus' inadequate AC, as it got hot and humid outside. The entire tour group resorted to opening the windows and braving the stickiness rather than the oven it had become inside. Our next stop was the imperial palace replica. It was immense and provided stunning pics and memories. Kiyomizu temple was out last stop. The shopping on the road up to the temple was another major attraction, here. At the conclusion of the tour, we were returned to our hotel at approx. 5pm, so we still had time to walk around Kyoto! Don't miss this one--imo its a good investment in time and money for what you get--experience this important area's major sites, explained by an expert, eat great local food, excellent shopping opportunities, and convenient pickup/drop-off. We'll do this one again, someday.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a really great tour, lots of visits to historically significant sites such as the Kyoto Imperial Palace and other sites visited. Had great tour guides who were all very knowledgeable regarding past and current historical facts related to the beautiful Kyoto Imperial Palace, the Golden Pavilion, and Nijo Castle. I would recommend this tour to anyone having an interest in the rich history in the Kyoto area.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Kyoto has a lot of very interesting and beautiful places to see. This full day tour may not cover all of them but it includes most of the must-see places. Lunch is included which is just ok. Our tour guide for the afternoon tour, Yuki, was very knowledgeable and fluent in English. My only complaint is that we were all in a rush especially the morning tour, and it seemed that we didn't have enough time to take in the beauty of the places we've been to. One family who was part of our tour group was left behind in the Golden Pavilion and had to take the taxi to rejoin the group in the Imperial Palace. The pacing of the afternoon tour was better, we even had time to buy some souvenirs in the shops near the Kyomizu Temple.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We went on the tour in september. There are several stops in the tour. The golden pavillion, imperial palace, nijo castle, nara. You get just enough time at each spot. All interesting in different ways. The tour guide was very nice and always gave clear directions and good explanations on each attraction.
There is no way you could do so much in such a short period of time without doing a tour such as this. Highly recommend if you are short in time in beautiful kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Alana H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Get the best of both worlds Kyoto and Nara!!! A fantastic trip, my highlights were the Golden Palace in Kyoto and the Big Buddha in Nara. Just be mindful read the small print, if you book the trip for a Saturday you miss out on the Imperial Palace in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was great. We got to see the Imperial Palace and a lot of deer! I never knew deer could be so at one with humans. Lots of history and informative. Definitely one to see.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour was good for an overview of Kyoto. Enjoyed: Nijo Castle, Golden Pavilion, Sanju-Sangendo Hall, and Kiyomizu Temple. Disappointed with Imperial Palace since only got to walk on the outside. Would have skipped Heian Shrine and used that extra time at Kiyomizu Temple instead. Didn't have enough time at Kiyomizu Temple to really enjoy it. Lunch wasn't filling enough. Tour guides were great and friendly.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Interesting places, quick stops at each but still felt like enough time - helped by guides knowledge and commentary. Easy way to see the palace without the hassle of arranging it in advance yourself with passports etc. Lunch was very tasty on the full day trip. Great

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was excellent. The highlight was Nijo castle. The Golden Pavilion was extremely crowded and a stunning sight but little else to see. The Kyoto palace had very little to see due to being all exteriors and over controlled.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent guide with a great sense of humour! Tour started on time and run on clock work precision. Lunch was ok, although nothing special. The only negative side to the tour was the non-inclusion of the Imperial Palace. The guide mentioned the Palace was closed in preparation for some "open-day" it'll be hosting the following day. Im pretty sure this was public knowledge and notice was made well in advanced as this was an annual event. The tour operator should have informed those booking the tour so we could have the option to pick a different day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our all day tour of Kyoto was informative and interesting. We visited many sites and were fortunate enough to walk through the grounds of the Imperial Palace, which I understand is open only a few times a year. Our tour guide, I belive his name was Casey, made the tour fun and gave us so many interesting tips.
It rained in the afternoon which made the traffic so heavy so we had difficulty driving up to Kiyomizu Temple. By the time we got there is was getting dark so did not get to see much of it.
Our lunch break was too long which cut our tour shorter and would recommend that you make it shorter. Other than that, the tour was good and I would recommend it to friends.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

All in all tour was good. If I was to do it again I would recommend only doing the afternoon tour then going to see the golden pavilion on your own. The first stop and imperial palace were just okay. Save yourself the money and sleep and just do the afternoon. It was well done though.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Was well Worth it. Nara deer
Park and the palace are well
Worth a visit. The tour guide lady was hilarious.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message