A truly impressive fortified complex, Nijō Castle was built in 1603 as the official residence of the first Tokugawa shogun. With its moats, walls, secret passageways and hidden chambers, the heavily fortified castle stands as a defiant symbol of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing tour and well worth cost. Nijo Castle was very interesting to tour and the Golden Pavillion was beautiful in the sunlight the day we toured. The Japanese gardens are outstandingly beautiful!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a really great tour, lots of visits to historically significant sites such as the Kyoto Imperial Palace and other sites visited. Had great tour guides who were all very knowledgeable regarding past and current historical facts related to the beautiful Kyoto Imperial Palace, the Golden Pavilion, and Nijo Castle. I would recommend this tour to anyone having an interest in the rich history in the Kyoto area.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Kyoto totally rocks and is definitely a must see. With 17 UNESCO World Heritage sites, doing a full day tour in the summer (and it is boiling hot, typically over 30 degrees Celsius) is physically taxing. By afternoon most of the people in my tour group had lost the will to live. I strongly suggest doing two half day tours on separate days. Top of the list are Nijo Castle which recaptures the story of Shogun and the subsequent loss of power to the Japanese Emperor, the Golden Pavilion whose stunning beauty will mesmerise you and Eikan-do for its beautiful grounds.
Our tour guide was perfect: friendly, knowledgeable, had great command of English and had a good sense of humour. The tour bus departed on time, was clean, climate controlled and comfortable. Buffet lunch was just ok, but could have been better given how amazing Japanese food can be.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We went on the tour in september. There are several stops in the tour. The golden pavillion, imperial palace, nijo castle, nara. You get just enough time at each spot. All interesting in different ways. The tour guide was very nice and always gave clear directions and good explanations on each attraction.
There is no way you could do so much in such a short period of time without doing a tour such as this. Highly recommend if you are short in time in beautiful kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This trip is a must do if your time in Kyoto is limited. One of the highlights was walking on the "Nightingale Floor" in the Nijo Castle. Something I use to tell my students about!

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was excellent. The highlight was Nijo castle. The Golden Pavilion was extremely crowded and a stunning sight but little else to see. The Kyoto palace had very little to see due to being all exteriors and over controlled.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were late for our tour (15mins), but there was an attendant patiently waiting for us at the hotel. He provided a taxi for us to catch up with the group but we had to pay for the taxi fee. Our tour guide was informative and had good English. Overall tour was a great experience, we saw Nijo Castle and the Golden Pavilion.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Nijo Castle was really interesting and well worth a visit, as was the Golden Pavilion which was really beautiful. I would not want to visit the Imperial Palace again. The tour group had to split into four lines and had to wait in the hot sun until we were told we could go inside the grounds. Not that much to see and there was a female security officer keeping within a short distance of us at all times.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The kyoto morning tour is always on a rush. we spent so little time in each destination and we feel pressured. the nijo castle does not allow photography and all we got was the exterior. The nara tour is better, it was laid back and i had a great time with the deers of Nara park. Seeing the UNESCO world heritage sites at Nara was a pleasure. Our tour guide Ms. Miko is very knowledgeable and was able to answer our queries.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Overall, my family enjoyed this tour even if it was raining hard. We found Nijo Castle and Todaiji Temple amazing! We got to see the interiors of Nijo Castle and my daughter really enjoyed feeding the deer at the Todaiji Temple. The statues inside the temple were all massive it was awesome. The part I like least about the tour was the terrible lunch (part of the food was cold and did not really taste good) and how we were rushed during the tour of the Imperial Palace. We were not really given time to take photos. If you linger a bit (5 min or so) for picture taking, you miss out on the explanation from the tour guide. She was rushing from one building to the next and did not really wait until the whole group was nearby before giving the history of the place. Same with the tour guide in the afternoon. He was really nice but I wish he would wait for the whole group before he gives his spiel. It would help if the tour guides inform us ahead of time the itinerary for the place - i.e. stop at the gate to get tickets, then see the temple for explanation, then 20 minutes free time (shopping, feed the deer), etc... so we know where to go and when we can take photos of the place.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Overall, my family enjoyed this tour even if it was raining hard. We found Nijo Castle and Todaiji Temple amazing! We got to see the interiors of Nijo Castle and my daughter really enjoyed feeding the deer at the Todaiji Temple. The statues inside the temple were all massive it was awesome. The part I like least about the tour was the terrible lunch (part of the food was cold and did not really taste good) and how we were rushed during the tour of the Imperial Palace. We were not really given time to take photos. If you linger a bit (5 min or so) for picture taking, you miss out on the explanation from the tour guide. She was rushing from one building to the next and did not really wait until the whole group was nearby before giving the history of the place. Same with the tour guide in the afternoon. He was really nice but I wish he would wait for the whole group before he gives his spiel. It would help if the tour guides inform us ahead of time the itinerary for the place - i.e. stop at the gate to get tickets, then see the temple for explanation, then 20 minutes free time (shopping, feed the deer), etc... so we know where to go and when we can take photos of the place.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We were disappointed to miss out on the Imperial Palace in Kyoto but Nara was definately a highlight. We were there during Golden Week, so everything was quite crowded and there was a lot of traffic. This may have been what cut into our time at each location. Our guide was very soft spoken and difficult to understand and hear but when we did, she was very informed and interesting. An extra 15 minutes would have been so appreciated at Golden Pavilion and Nijo Castle for pictures and the opportunity to feed the deer and souvenier shop. If we did that, we wouldn't have heard anything the guide said.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Very good tour. Loved seeing Kinkakuji, Nijo Castle and Kiyomize Temple again. Didn't understand why Heian Shrine was included. Aren't there more historical sites? Also didn't understand why Kiyomizu was in the afternoon when it was the hottest time of day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Good tour. Guide was very good. Bus was comfortable and on time and had convenient hotel pickup. Golden Pavilion was impressive but very crowded. Nijo Castle and the Imperial Palace were also very interesting and less crowded.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

It was a great tour. We didn't see Nijo Castle because of the Aoi Festival, but the substituted site was still worth the visit. Tour staff were excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message