• USD ($)
  • English

Kyoto ATTRACTIONS See all

Nishiki Food Market

From sushi fish to kitchen knives, you’ll find everything under the sun relating to food at Nishiki Market. The covered market is a foodie's wonderland, and provides fascinating glimpses into the shopping and eating habits of Kyoto's locals, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful. Small group of 5, 3 of us. Nishiki Market was amazing. Bought items for our cooking class. The WAK, Womens Association of Kyoto are tremendous. So knowledged, gracious and great command of English. Thoroughly enjoyed learning how to make Dashi, Miso, Spinach sakad and course sushi

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My daughter and I absolutely loved this tour from the word GO! The Nishiki Market was interesting and fun as our guide shared delicacies from Japan . The walk through town was interesting, and the cooking class was fantastic. We enjoyed making miso soup, Japanese spinach salad, and sushi!! The sake tasting was also a hit. I highly recommend this tour as our guides were informative and fun!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great experience exploring the tastes and sights of both the high-end and street markets. The Sake museum was interesting and the cooking of a meal in traditional style and then enjoying eating it together was a great way to introduce yourself to some of the culture and tastes of Japan.
Enjoyable and worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

You can learn a lot from a country from it's food and from this point of view, this tour is a window into Japanese culture that would be hard to look through in any other way. The first part ofthe tour in the Nishiki Food Market provided an eye openning expereince to the diversity of Japanese food, not only for the beginner, but for the more experienced foodie. There was plenty of time to check out all of the stalls, and the guide for this part of the tour was extremely knowledgeable and could talk about all of the types of foods in any detail that you would like. Absolutely incredible variety, with plenty of opportunities to taste great food, including extreme food tasting for the adventuresome!

The second part of the tour involved a visit to a saki brewery followed by an introduction to sake with tastings. I wasn't sure waht to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The cooking part of the tour was expertly done and I won't tell you what we cooked and ate as i don't want to spoil it for you, but just to say, that I learned so much and had a great time. There were some in the group who were not so experienced cooks, but there was no pressure and everyone really enjoyed it. A wonderful way to spend an afternoon with insights into Japan that would be otherwise hard to come by.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Nishiki market is great fun, tour guides are very well prepared and really caring. Recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The tour was great. My tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. She explained all about the different foods in the market. The cooking lesson was fun and interesting. Overall a great way to start my stay in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This tour was simply amazing! We were lead though the amazing Nishiki market, past fugu restaurants and all sorts of delicacies from different stalls with a commentary that highlighted cultural traditions and gave cooking tips, whilst naturally sampling everything along the way! We then went to a boutique sake museum/former mechant house and sampled delicious sake after a quick tour of the building where insight was shed into the procedure involved in sake manufacture! And then we went to the cooking school and made an amazing meal which left my boyfriend and i feeling quite chuffed! And we even got a certificate! Everyone was so friendly and informative and the tour was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We had a great time shopping in the Nishiki Food Market. There is an array of food the likes of which I have never seen before! The cooking class was great and our sushi even turned out delicious. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

I can't speak highly enough about this wonderful tour. My guide was excellent, full of knowledge and tips about the market, its wares and history. The sake museum was closed for a public holiday, but I was presented with a bottle of sake and a short history of its manufacture. Then we went to the hands on cookery school, where we prepared, cooked and ate a very tasty Japanese meal. I would recommend this to people of all ages.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The fish markets were very interesting and our guide was very informative. The sake museum was closed unfortunately, but we did get to taste sake. The dinner was fun to make and lovely to eat in traditional Japanese house. I thought $145 for two people was a little expensive for this afternoon tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really had a great time on the tour. The highlight was the cooking class at the end - the hostesses were fun and the food was really good! The tour group was nice and small which made it east to get around in the food market and easier to hear the tour guide. The only two downsides were the following: it was hard to find the meeting space and there was A LOT of walking (getting to the Sake museum and the cooking place). I think if you included a picture map of the meeting place it would help. It might also help to plan a coffee/tea stop on the way to the Sake museum. I know it takes up valuable time, but it would have been a nice break. I might also include an additional bit of money for buying more of the odd things in the market to try. We had a few items, but would have liked to have included more.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

You can't compare the experience of going through this wonderful market with a knowledgeable guide that can answer your every question. The cooking class was very enjoyable, and we have been using the skills we acquired there ever since we got home!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

There are three aspects to this tour. First we had a guide who was very nice and spoke pretty good English, who took us through the market and the sake tasting. The cooking instructor spoke excellent English and did a great job of explaining the importance and significance of the cooking process.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was a great tour although would have liked to have finished a little earlier than the 6.30pm as we had to go out to dinner. Would also have liked to have had the taxi ordered to enable us to get back to our hotel from the home where we did our cooking class.
But the cooking class excellent and very detailed, and the vist to the market so very interesting and a chance to ask about the many foods on sale.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Tour guide and cooking demonstrator where great. The market tour was very interesting. Cooking class was well organised and food was nice

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message