Kyoto ATTRACTIONS See all

Tenryu-ji Temple

Ranked number one of Kyoto's five great temples, Tenryu-ji celebrates a history dating back to 1339 and stands in dedication and memory to an ancient emperor. Many of the temple buildings have been destroyed over the centuries, but the temple's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour. Gorgeous scenery, wonderful temples and the Bamboo grove and preceding area are out of this world. A must do and see.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I signed up for this tour as part of my free third day activities on the 3-day Mt. Fuji, Kyoto and Nara tour.
The tour was started at New Miyako at 8:45 and I was led to the Kyoto station across the street to board a local train to Arashiyama. It was cherry blossom week and it was very crowded. You would be amazed by some of the sceneries and temples in this region. The tour concluded at 1PM and you would have option to return to Kyoto with tour guide or to explore the city on your own thereafter. This tour is very efficient but you will have to walk through out. I highly recommend this tour especially during the cherry blossom season.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We greatly enjoyed this tour- it was much better than we envisioned. Our tour guide was excellent in every way.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour was great and guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

JE R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

fantastic tour, best thing we did in Japan !

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Joanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this tour... 8.25 pick up. On the train with guide then great walk through bamboo and gardens and then best of all the lunch on the boat. the lady playing the pipe on the hill side made it a truly magical experience. Would recommend planning to stay in the area for the afternoon.

Doing what: Sagano Bamboo Grove and Arashiyama Walking Tour With Yakatabune Lunch Cruise

Linda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First class. Great Trip. Arashiyama was lovely and our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Claire B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very quiet place, nice tour; interesting and kind guide

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Anny Wang Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was initially skeptical of the tour as we began. It involved taking the local train and a lot of walking. I have no problem doing either, but coulldn't see the value of the tour. However, as the tour went on, it became clear that the value lay in the amazing tour guide and the intimacy of the small group. Our guide, Michiharu, was very knowledgeable about Kyoto and Osaka, but particularly about Arashiyama. He was able to give us full histories on all the sights we saw and answered any questions we posed to him. During the slower parts of the tour, such as on the train or walking from one sight to another, he was able to recommend us to various sights tailored to our interests. He pointed my boyfriend, an avid martial artist, to the Budo Centre, where we spent the rest of the day. However, Arashiyama is amazing, and we went back the next morning. If you are able, stay the whole day!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Jeffery T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautful area near Kyoto. Tour was great and guide was informative. Lots of walking so wear comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

wozzie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyable walk. Beautiful scenery

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Sophie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a lovely tour and great to see the Bamboo forest and the temple gardens. The tour guide was really friendly and informative. When I went it was a small group around 12 people. We got the train there and back again. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

moe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Guide was excellent. The size of this walking tour was small (3). The pace was good. See saw a lot in a beautiful setting.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Georgia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a really fun tour despite the rain we had!!!! Our guide was fabulous and did a wonderful job of watching out for 25 people!!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Kenneth J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide really added value and was very friendly and knowledgeable. She even left us with a small gift! The bamboo grove was stunning and the whole experience was very enjoyable. We had plenty of time to take things in and the walking part was very leisurely with no pressure. Definitely worth the effort.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Love the love shrine we stopped by. The bamboo groves were also super gorgeous.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Denise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

One of my favourite tours. Good tour guide and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

valerie j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a great morning. Our guide was interesting, had a good knowledge and was charming. The walk was fantastic we enjoyed all of it.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Carrie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour from MItch at Sunrise Tours. I got several prized photos from the walk. It was the perfect amount of time to catch river scenery, and both Buddhist/Shinto shrines, not to mention a walk through the prized neighbhorhood of Kyoto.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

viktoria s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour, however be prepared for lot of stair climbing. We were laughing that it is not a walking tour but a climbing tour. But the beautiful view compensated for everything. 5star.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Our tour guide was lovely and very informative. A visit to this section of Kyoto is a must for all visitors to the city.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

LJM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Enjoyed the tour. Our guide was funny and informative. She gave us information that we would not of known otherwise. Fall foliage was beautiful. Will definately use Viator on other vacations.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Anne C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Our guide, Aiko, was wonderful!! Our group size of 8 was just perfect. This walking tour was just what I was looking for - an introduction to "quiet" Kyoto. I would recommend this to anyone and will definitely seek additional tours of this kind in the future. Thanks, Aiko!!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message