Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 960 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Totally worth the money. I went alone and I was seated at the same table with another 3 travellers from all over the world. There was 2 Maiko and 1 Geiko throughout the performance. We had conversations with the Maiko who came to our table (with the help of an interpreter). Performance was authentic.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Marina Li
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing! Really enjoyed it and money well spent! It's so much easier to go on a day tour like this to see the highlight of Tokyo instead of running around yourself. Especially no one speaks English in Japan, I couldn't even get directions in Tokyo. I also loved our tour guide Mina!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An immersive experience which would enable to you jump back in time and appreciate the glorious Shogun era and other heritage sites.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour ! Our guide was wonderful and the cooking class was fun and delicious ! Truly a highlight to get to know the city and its culture with a wonderful guide and two funny, kind cooking instructors whose lessons help support female entrepreneurs ! who helped me and my dad make a delicious meal :

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun! The ladies were absolutely delightful and made sure that our traditional tea ceremony in our beautiful kimonos was something my daughters and I will remember for the rest of our lives.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Tour: Introduction to Japanese Culture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Mickey the tour guide was excellent. Wonderful attitude and very helpful. Seemed to love his job. My only recommendation would be to consider seeing a real Buddha, a rock garden and/or the bamboo gardens.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

fantastic tour, best thing we did in Japan !

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good way to cover these places without getting lost. We have booked thru Viator and liked their services.
Guides spoke fluently good English.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the best tours we went on in Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing evening, the food was excellent although quite a lot of it was fish sushi, most of it is very mild though so worth a try even if you don't normally like fish. We were lucky enough to get a Geiko and Maiko which was fantastic as it enabled us to really see the difference between them. All in all it was a great fun, no pressure evening and we would definitely do it again if given the opportunity.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic. Nara was beautiful ...just as i expected Japan to be. The visit to the Shrine, Temple and Deer Park were all worthwhile.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First class. Great Trip. Arashiyama was lovely and our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Tomoko and her assistant Rita were excellent. First the basics. The meeting place was easy to find, the train transportation went smoothly, and they were both helpful with taking pictures. The mix of history, culture and sake tasting was just what we were looking for. Fushimi Inari Shrine is beautiful and Tomoko helped direct us to several spots off the beaten path that were less busy and allowed us to see the true magic of the site. But even more important Tomoko is an International Kikisaki-shi sake sommelier! Her knowledge of sake, food pairings and what makes good vs. great sake is wonderful. She provided us with materials on sake types and parings that I have kept to help guide my purchases back home. The tasting done in a regular liquor store, not a tourist trap included both aged sake and unpasteurized sake neither of which are really available outside of Japan. We bought two bottles of sake but there was no pressure to do so. Thank you to the tour company, Tomoko, and Rita for a wonderful Kyoto experience.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good tour, great way to fit alot of the main sights of Kyoto into one day, feels a little rushed at times but hey thats the only way you can fit it all in!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

All was excellent and very well organized.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and guide. very well organized.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour with a lovely and professional guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We are very glad to choose this tour. Our guide Yoshie is a certified Sake Sommelier, who is very passionate about the Sake culture as well as very helpful in answering our questions.

The Sake Brewery Matsui Brewing is highly recommended. It is small however the owner is the 15th generation who is very kind, friendly and well knowledgable. We also visited other bigger brewery, we are very glad that we have visited Matsui.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This sushi making class was the first thing my wife and I did while in Kyoto and definitely was one of the highlights of our trip. The building was easy enough to get to. A short subway ride from the main Kyoto station and then a few block walk through some back streets. Our host Yumiko Ueda was wonderful. She was very easy to talk to and knowledgeable regarding Japanese cuisine and I tend to ask a lot of questions. We really enjoyed learning about exactly what we were making. The picture in this booking matched our meal to a tee. We also received a Japanese home cooking pamphlet so we could try other Japanese recipes on our own when we got home. We truly loved our cooking experience with Yumiko Ueda and would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Sushi-Making Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My family went on this tour in June. We had a great time.
The first half is a tour of the market -- great explanations of the products on sale there.
A lot of stuff is different than what it appears. The second half was cooking and eating a meal using what we had bought in the market. Really well done and worth the time and money.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very knowledgable and took really good care of us.

The Sake museum was interesting and definitely worth a visit.

The Shrine itself was amazing but it involves a fair bit of walking and climbing through several steps which some people may find challenging.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message