Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 720 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, totally worth the money. One thing only - it gets a little tiring by the end of the day, but it is worth it.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Yes it was amazing and enjoyed the nipping live reindeers.

I wish to have been able to visit one if the interiors of the Imperial Palace and not only the garden.

My second time to Nijo castle and enjoyed it

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow! This was a very personalized experience. Our interpreter/guide met us at the hotel with a car. On the drive to the home, our guide was engaging and interesting. She spoke perfect English as she had lived in Australia for eight years. Of course the best part was the lesson! Our hostess was gracious and informative. She and her nephew did a great job with all the parts of the dishes we prepared. Our 18 year old son loved everything. The food was spectacular and we enjoyed the conversation and learning customs as well as cooking. I would strongly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

Pauline G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Booked this class for my husband, teenage son and self. Very enjoyable time was had by all of us. We complete three origami shapes which got progressively more difficult. We had a lot of fun and would happily do this class again.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was much fun experiencing some of the foods of Japan and how they are prepared. Excellent program.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very efficient and spoke excellent English. All of the places were very interesting.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our third Viator tour on this trip. We were picked up in Kyoto at the hotel we stayed at (New Miyako); again, very convenient. Our tour guide, Yoshi, was the best of the trip...very knowledegable and funny. Niho Castle was the highlight of the tour and it worth the trip--awesome. Heian Shrine was next and was a very spiritual place, again, worth the visit. From there, we visited the Golden Pavilion and got some great pics and good luck charms. We stopped for lunch at a restaurant (part of the tour) and had a great traditional lunch, shabu-shabu style. After this, we got back on the bus but were again plagued by the bus' inadequate AC, as it got hot and humid outside. The entire tour group resorted to opening the windows and braving the stickiness rather than the oven it had become inside. Our next stop was the imperial palace replica. It was immense and provided stunning pics and memories. Kiyomizu temple was out last stop. The shopping on the road up to the temple was another major attraction, here. At the conclusion of the tour, we were returned to our hotel at approx. 5pm, so we still had time to walk around Kyoto! Don't miss this one--imo its a good investment in time and money for what you get--experience this important area's major sites, explained by an expert, eat great local food, excellent shopping opportunities, and convenient pickup/drop-off. We'll do this one again, someday.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We fell a bit in love with the experiences offered via the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. WAK seeks to share their love of Kyoto and provide hospitality. Our instructor was a delight! She ensured we learned and enjoyed the tea ceremony experience, which was held in a converted home WAK uses for instruction.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We fell a bit in love with the experiences offered via the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. WAK seeks to share their love of Kyoto and provide hospitality. Our instructor was a delight! She ensured we learned and enjoyed the tea ceremony experience, which was held in a converted home WAK uses for instruction.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another fantastic experience w/ the ladies of the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. Tour included the market, an historic tea shop, local craft stores, and sake tasting. Our guide was patient w/ our many questions. Our cooking instructor was attentive, inclusive, and an excellent teacher. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Friendly tour guide, it was great to find out all the information about each location from an expert!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was initially skeptical of the tour as we began. It involved taking the local train and a lot of walking. I have no problem doing either, but coulldn't see the value of the tour. However, as the tour went on, it became clear that the value lay in the amazing tour guide and the intimacy of the small group. Our guide, Michiharu, was very knowledgeable about Kyoto and Osaka, but particularly about Arashiyama. He was able to give us full histories on all the sights we saw and answered any questions we posed to him. During the slower parts of the tour, such as on the train or walking from one sight to another, he was able to recommend us to various sights tailored to our interests. He pointed my boyfriend, an avid martial artist, to the Budo Centre, where we spent the rest of the day. However, Arashiyama is amazing, and we went back the next morning. If you are able, stay the whole day!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour with expert guides. The places we visited were so beautiful! They picked up at our hotel and drop off at the end! We strongly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message