Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dobrolioubov

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing experience. A great mixture of seeing a must-see shrine, learning about culture and religion, gaining a perspective on sake brewing, and topping off with a sake tasting session that didn't lack in variety and left you feeling great.
Yoko Akamizu was our guide and she was easily the nicest person that we've come across in Japan. She went above and beyond with teaching about the country and even helped us buy baseball tickets online.
I only wish that we would've taken this tour at the start of our trip because we had so much more appreciation for everything we saw afterwards.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

GAYLA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our party had 5 adults in their early 20s and two adults over 50.

Doing what: The Art of the Geisha: Private Dinner in Kyoto

dseed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, would not have been able to see this much in a day on our own. Tour guide was informative and helpful. Even got to see something we would not have had access to on our own. Great way to see a lot without trying to work it all out for yourself

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Alejandro M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience. Highly Recommend it.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent show explaining the history and culture of Samurai with some impressive performances.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Sara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome day trip, friendly English speaking guides. Got to see three sites in the morning then another three in the afternoon. The amount of time at each location was perfect, we even had free time for shopping. Enjoyed the lunch at the Kyoto craft centre, an amazing day and a highlight of my trip to Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Batiste J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My parents and I enjoyed a lot this experience!
We enjoyed the stories, variety of dancing styles and photo session at the end

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Yuko G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a nice tour and I will recommend to my friends.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Heather V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience, with a lot of fascinating information

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Stevie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The most incredible thing we did on our entire trip. We were late long story but we were made to feel so welcome and had so much opportunity to interact with both the Geisha and the Maiko it was incredible. We will definitely be back :

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

felixangli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellently planned tour. While the schedule seemed packed, there was enough time to do sightseeing at each of the attractions with some time to spare. Considering that public transportation in Kyoto is more bus-centric than train-centric, this is a better choice than self-guided tours during busier seasons.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic!!
Our tour guide was amazing, he was so knowledgeable and very funny. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Audrey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour guide. Very informative and interesting. Even though it was raining, it was still very enojyable.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Jeff R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was so much fun and a great experience for all ages. The ladies could not have been nicer or more engaging. And relaxing after long day of travel.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

Maria Delia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! I was in awe when we visited the Todaiji temple. Walking around at the deer park was a nice experience. Kasiuga shrine was beautiful.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! We were able to see sights we would have never been able to see on our own with the time we had. The guide was fabulous!!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Jacqui C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A really good trip for half a day
Very informative knowledgeable guide
Good informative stories on the drive there
Very enjoyable

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

robinghammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We'll never forget it, and I can't imagine an activity that can bring a foreigner closer to the Japanese.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very fun! Was nice to learn a little more about Japan's cooking styles.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fun evening. Very entertaining.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

salcala_17

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good, the only thing I would suggest to improve is the food.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Macduff

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour. The tour guides were too polite and on occasion were monopolised by one traveller. Travelling from Kyoto made it a very long day. Suggest leaving from Osaka or closer.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

Timothy H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Covered all the major sites of Kyoto and made getting around very easy. This is really composed of two half day tours with lunch in between.

Only downside is that there was 2 hours of down time in the middle of the day between the two half day tours. Part of that was lunch, but the major part was just walking through a handicrafts center. That could be significantly shortened.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

seguirant

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour to see some of the major temples in one day. This is not for those who feel if you have seen one temple you have seen them all, but if you view a temple visit as a window into the past and culture - take it. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message