Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1281 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Did an EXCELLENT job! Nice transportation - various pick up and drop off options. Lots of information given on the bus traveling and at the sites! Could not have asked for more! Tour guide was VERY knowledgable and congenital.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

jeremy.tang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My partner and I attended the two hour tea ceremony session with a tea master. They got us dressed in kimonos and were able to take traditional photos in a zen garden. We then participated in the tea ceremony learning the proper etiquette of servicing and receiving matcha. This was a great experience.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guides were great. Very enjoyable overall. A great way to see local Kyoto plus sake tasting plus learning to make sushi!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Evangelia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My daughter and I felt the tour was very informative and it gave us a great overview of the area.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Lawrence F H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everyone involved was attentive and kind and thoughtful. I had to use a wheel chair and it was always there.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

baskalina c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Was one of the highlights of our trip. The guide and the cooking teacher were great. Looking forward to trying out the recipes we learnt.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

On this Kyoto Full-Day Tour we had an unforgettable experience. Our tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable, provided a lot off historical information about visited places. He provided great service. We had wonderful time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Dirk S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Please refer to my previous review, it never fails to amaze me that Viator works so well. I sit at my desk in North Queensland, Australia, and have organised trips and excursions all over the world with Viator and never once have I had an issue. The guides are always where they should be, are of great quality and provide excellent service. I have sung your praises many times and have numerous friends who are now Viator converts. Keep up the great work.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

Thomas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative and charming. Not a fight show, but artistic performances mixed with brief explanations of samurai culture. The photo session at the end gives the opportunity to swing a sword under the supervision of one of the Masters, while the staff snaps action shots. Great fun!

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Shannon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It seemed to me like you should definitely go to the show beforehand, which wasn't advertised to me. If you do that, you get to see a show and then have your lesson. Anyway, it felt a bit disorganized when we arrived as everyone else was watching the show, and it was going on in the next room, and we were walking right into backstage. However, once the dust settled, it was great! We got to put on Tabi socks and start learning with REAL swords. They had appropriately sized socks and swords for me and my small son 6 years old. The lesson felt authentic, and I felt like the instructor cared that we got it right, and that we learned a bit about Japanese culture and the Samurai code. Midway through the lesson, we got to dress up as samurai! I really enjoyed that part - they had a huge selection of very nice costumes.

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

Stephanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Though it rained pretty bad my trip was awesome! Our guide was very knowledgeable and polite in helping us and answering any of our questions.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

alerica2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The performance was great and we loved interacting with the maiko performers. The games we played after dinner with them was also a fun time. The food was different than anything we had elsewhere in Kyoto but do try it!

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

alerica2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really loved this tour and our tour guide. She provided lots of information and answered all our questions. We had plenty of time to explore the areas on the schedule for this tour. Highly recommend to do if visiting Kyoto!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

davebaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous tour especially the visit to the Golden Pavillion and the Imperial Palace a highlight. Tour was well organised and our guide was excellent also. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Lauren J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent value for the money. We covered a lot of ground in one morning: the Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle, and Imperial Palace. It was a bit hectic, but we were on a tight schedule and this was the only way to fit in so many sights. It would have been much more difficult and confusing to do this on our own, as we don't speak Japanese. However, the guide's English was very good and his explanations added a lot to the tour, as English signage was limited. Very worthwhile.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent entertaining evening - couldn't fault it. It's class Kaiseki Dinner, unlimited drinks followed by great Maiko performance and opportunity to have photographs with Maikos.
Would highly recommend it !

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent very busy full day sightseeing tour of Kyoto.
Knowledgable and entertaining guides
Would highly recommend it

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was amazing! It's the best way to see the entire area and save your legs if you've been walking for days. The photos the guide took were well timed and beautiful!

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour - this is a great way to see Nara if you are short on time.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent tour - this is a great way to see the highlights of Kyoto's many historical sites in one day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

serena.staples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a really great time. Would definately recommend this tour!

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

serena.staples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent show and the staff were very informative.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

ana.hickey1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was hilarious and made the day thoroughly enjoyable. The buffet lunch was great and the six attractions were well worth going to. Only downside is that we felt the full day was very long and the guide repeated himself a lot in the afternoon as new people joined after lunch.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Mark S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a lot of fun and the teachers and tour leaders were excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message