Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 806 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

loved this! was a great experience getting dressed up in the kimonos and learning about the Japanese traditional tea ceremony. One of the highlights of the trip. As'ka the host was fantastic!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had the most wonderful experience. Tokomo was our Tea master. What an absolute beautiful person. From the moment we walked through her door, Tokomo made us feel so welcome and explained everything so beautifully. When I left I felt so at peace. Would highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed. We would like to thank Tokomo for her hospitality and friendship

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What an experience, the start was selecting and being dressed in the beautiful Kimono's, my daughter chose a lovely dress and I was given the more formal male style Kimono. The tea ceremony started with a brief history then the demonstration of tea making and what our part was in the acceptance and drinking of the tea. The highlight was we were then allowed to make the tea ourselves. This was a truly authentic Japanese experience and I am so glad we chose it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

If you like Japanese culture and I do, this is a great opportunity to exprience a small portion of that. Great instructors who love what they do. My wife and I went to several more tea ceremony since we like this one so much.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We fell a bit in love with the experiences offered via the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. WAK seeks to share their love of Kyoto and provide hospitality. Our instructor was a delight! She ensured we learned and enjoyed the tea ceremony experience, which was held in a converted home WAK uses for instruction.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was awesome me and my wife had a great time. Our tour guide was very nice and very informative we enjoyed every moment. Wish we could have stayed longer but will defiantly plan another trip.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Outstanding tour - fantastic way to experience Nara as an afternoon adventure

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Best time of the year to see the Golden Pavillion surrounded by snow. Lots of people but well organized. Our tour guide was a well of information and made us laugh with her great sense of humor. It was a long day visiting various Temples, however well worth it. Since Tokyo is hosting the 2020 Olympics, there is a lot of renovation going on. Some temples are partially covered up due to restoration. The lunch made for a nice break in between the morning and afternoon tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow what an amazing day, our guide was an older lady and she was fantastic, she reminded me of a school teacher a little. Plenty of time for photos, really pack day but we were never rush. Lunch was traditional Japanese food and probably my best meal in Japan ever. Strongly recommend this tour

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nobu, our guide was very nice. It was an amazing tour.
We enjoy the market tour, sake distillery without a feeling of being rushed.
The cooking class was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great tour for 1st time visitors to Kyoto! Everything is all planned out for you and can just enjoy all the places they take you to! Our guide Yuki was very sweet, patient, and knowledgeable. We had a large group in the morning Kyoto trip and a smaller quaint group of 12 in the Nara afternoon group. It was difficult to hear her in the morning group unless you were standing right next to her, but the afternoon tour was nice and personable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

It was a good tour in particular worth doing for the access to the imperial palace which may be harder to organise by oneself. Kyoto however is more of a strolling and getting lost destination and enjoyed much more my evening wonders around the city with none around just dim lights and the richness of the temples. Also the tour was of 40 people a bit too many. I guess a good idea if you have just one day and want to cover lots

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message