Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 862 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an excellent tour! The guide Mickey was very knowledgeable, but also mixed-in the right amount of humor during the normally boring periods of traveling from one site to another.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This cooking class was very well organised and highly enjoyable. Both the tour guide and the host were lovely and it was great to experience cooking in a typical Kyoto kitchen/home. We were encouraged throughout the session to participate in the preparation of every dish made. The host made us feel very welcome in her home and was more than happy for us to take pictures throughout the class and answer our questions.

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved this tour. In total I think we visited 6 temples but the most amazing is the Golden Temple pictured. This is simply stunning and to top it off when we got off the bus it started to snow. Tour guide's speak great English and very informative. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yumi our guide in the morning was AWESOME!!!! Great morning!!!! The afternoon to Nara was incredible!!! Lunch was ok. Great tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Was able to make four items. Very fun!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Emi our tour guide was excellent! The tour well organized and she took us everywhere we wanted.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Kyoto in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This morning tour is very effective.The tour leader has a lot of knowledge , humor and proffessional.
For those has a short time in Kyoto I do recommend to joint this morning tour .

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good quality tour with a fantastic tour guide. He kept the trip up and back entertaining with stories, information and a few jokes. The crowds were large so photos and getting around inside the Todaiji temple were difficult but that's what peak tourist season is about. The deer park was fun and the deer can be aggressive if they sense you have food. Be prepared for a few nips if you're not careful. The Kasuga Shrine was very peaceful and the crowds weren't too bad by the afternoon tour time. Not sure if they are better or worse in the morning. Definitely recommend and hop you get a good guide.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! The host was incredible! Very funny as well! We loved it! Thank you very much!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice tour. The Kyoto morning tour was very informative and hospitable. I actually enjoyed the tour despite the heavy rain. After that we were dropped off on the first restaurant for the transfer for the Nara afternoon tour. The tour guide, Ms. Itsuko, was very enthusiastic in delivering the tour from Todaiji to the Kasuga Shrine. Sunrise tours also dropped us off at our hotels. Plus points for customer service.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A friend and I were visiting Japan and decided to check out this rickshaw ride in Kyoto. We had never ridden an old fashion rickshaw and figured such a ride would at the very least make for a great and humorous story. Based off a friend's recommendation, we chose the Arashiyama tour on the west side of Kyoto. To begin, the tour was incredibly beautiful. Bamboo forests, cherry blossoms, ancient temples and a scenic river line the entire route. The tour lasted a little bit over 2 hours, which seems long, but flew by given all we saw, learned, and laughed about with our guide. Secondly, our guide was great. He spoke English pretty well and had great stories and banter--he use to be a tank driver in the Japanese army and was also a sous chef in Toronto. He also recommended food in the area, which we took him up on and had a dinner that was another highlight of our trip. And of course knew the history behind the area we were touring very well. The three of us laughed and joked quite a bit the whole time. Finally, they took most hilarious pictures of our whole trip. The also met us at the train station, which was nice given that we didn't know Kyoto particularly well.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was exactly the experience we were looking for. From dressing in kimonos, to learning about the history and rituals of the tea ceremony, to experiencing the ceremony itself, it was perfect. My daughter stated that this was her favorite part of our entire trip. It was a great way to immerse ourselves in historical and traditional Japanese culture.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An excellent experience with a wonderful instructor at WAK Japan Women's Association of Kyoto in a 100 year old house. We made a great vegetarian meal of tofu teriyaki that I'm now adding to my at home repertoire and I learned a lot about Japanese cooking and customs.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, our guide spoke great English, was very knowledgeable and able to add a lot of fun history to the tour. Well worth our time and money!!!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message