Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 982 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour is very convenient and the lunch was great. Time saving. Great tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very Nice tour! Nice lunsh and wondeful sights. Talented tour guides

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience! Highly recommended. We did the 2 hour experience and my son loved it!

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour through the Nishiki market was great, discovering the various types of preserved vegetables and fish was interesting and fun to look at. The artistry and creativity of the candies and all the foods was amazing. Our sake tasting was very educational and well done. The cooking class was so much fun and Yayoi did a fantastic job teaching us how to make miso soup, a delicious sesame dressing for our spinach salad and the trick to making rolled sushi. A big highlight for our family of 4! Domo Arigato Gozaimashta!!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I LOVED this tour! My husband and I ended up being the only ones on our particular tour, but that actually worked out great! Our tour guide was fantastic and I learned so much about the history of the market and the things we were buying. It was fun to pick out ingredients and ask for them in Japanese. The sake tasting was a lot of fun, too, and it was even cooler to see the historic area where it was made.

The cooking lesson really topped it off for me, though I had a great time! I already really love to cook, and I had tried a few things already with minimal success. Our teacher was really nice, and was able to show me how do things better or more neatly. I really can't wait to try cook everything at home. Dessert was new for me---vanilla ice cream with dark brown sugar syrup and soybean flour on top---but it might just be my new favorite.

All in all, I can't recommend this tour highly enough. I loved every minute, and hope that you will too! This tour company is amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tourguide was excellent she truly wished to make the tour of great value to each of the tourists.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything went exactly as planned. Tour guide was informative and well versed in local knowledge.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Our tour guide was great and gave us some interesting information. The Fushimi Inari is very scenic with an interesting history. Loved the sake tasting and museum tour. A great half-day tour.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Even though Kyoto itself has a lot to offer to last for years of temple-viewing, visiting Nara was a refreshing and unique experience that was totally worth the trip. Lunch was great and the temples in Nara were pretty amazing. The tour guides both in Kyoto and in Nara were great at explaining the surroundings, context and history. I'm glad to have taken this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative guilde, crazy how many deer are wandering around and come up to you. If you bow they will bow back...

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was quite a busy and full on day, not helped by the heat in Kyoto on this day! The trip to Nijo Castle was highly informative and interesting, but the icing on the cake was the trip to visit the deer in Nara! There is a huge temple which we took the time to be shown around, but feeding the deer and getting them to bow to you was loads of fun.
You can buy deer biscuits for 100 yen, which contain natural ingredients and made me feel much better about feeding them.
It was a long day, probably not advisable for young children as there was a fair amount of walking involved but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

One of the most beautiful places I've been.. 4 stars because of the crowds, not as tranquil as the photo would suggest. A UNESCO World Heritage Site which draws thousands of tourists daily.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a great performance which included short plays and it very interesting to learn about the Samurai.
The artists were extremely well trained and very friendly in allowing photos at the end of the performance.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Enjoyable day out - the trip to Nara was fabulous - loved the shrine out there.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

You guys initially gave me a shock because you did not give the specific name of the tour operator in Kyoto and in Hawaii but when we got that sorted out the tour was fantastic. The tour guides were excellent. Timing was perfect. Food was good. We cannot find ant negative except for the name of the operator. Will seek your service again when we travel. Thanks

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Totally worth the money. I went alone and I was seated at the same table with another 3 travellers from all over the world. There was 2 Maiko and 1 Geiko throughout the performance. We had conversations with the Maiko who came to our table (with the help of an interpreter). Performance was authentic.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Marina Li
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing! Really enjoyed it and money well spent! It's so much easier to go on a day tour like this to see the highlight of Tokyo instead of running around yourself. Especially no one speaks English in Japan, I couldn't even get directions in Tokyo. I also loved our tour guide Mina!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An immersive experience which would enable to you jump back in time and appreciate the glorious Shogun era and other heritage sites.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour ! Our guide was wonderful and the cooking class was fun and delicious ! Truly a highlight to get to know the city and its culture with a wonderful guide and two funny, kind cooking instructors whose lessons help support female entrepreneurs ! who helped me and my dad make a delicious meal :

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun! The ladies were absolutely delightful and made sure that our traditional tea ceremony in our beautiful kimonos was something my daughters and I will remember for the rest of our lives.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Tour: Introduction to Japanese Culture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Mickey the tour guide was excellent. Wonderful attitude and very helpful. Seemed to love his job. My only recommendation would be to consider seeing a real Buddha, a rock garden and/or the bamboo gardens.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message