Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julien D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very-friendly drivers ! Speaking good English too.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Elsa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time! We had 2 guides one in the morning and another one in the afternoon. Both guides very knowledgeable, helpful and funny. I wish we had 1/2 an hour more to visit each landmark, though.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

martinko09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to get to know a typical household and connect with the chef/teacher. This experience was more about getting to know the chef/teacher and eating an amazing home cooked meal. A recipe book and a few small gifts were given at the end to make sure I knew how to cook everything again!

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

Lynette T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, guide and highly recommended!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Karyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We travelled as a group of 6 adults aged between 19-53 on this wonderfully engaging and interactive tour. Although it went for several hours we were sad to say goodbye. We had knowledgeable women walk us around the back blocks of Kyoto proudly showing us their markets, their special foods, their magnificient department store produce, then a very interesting insight and educational session on the making of sake and finally a delicious dinner partly prepared by our group pf 12 but under the expert guidance and care of the most beautiful ,humble and gentle Kyoto women. Sensational!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Fu-Ni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best thing we've done for our trip in Kyoto. Our guide Kento-san was very knowledgeable and full of humor through out our rickshaw guide. We will definitely request him again if we ever visit Kyoto again for another rickshaw tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Fu-Ni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun games, great food, unlimited drinks, needless to say, it was fun!

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Marise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this tour. The people were very helpful and lovely. My daughter and I had a fantastic time

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Mon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kyoto is just a stunning city to visit. By far my favorite city we visited while in Japan. This tour gives a full day of seeing some of the top spots of Kyoto. It rained the entire day, but our guide still took us everywhere and went out with us and happily explained all the buildings we got to see.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Elicia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had great fun on this Day Tour. Our tour guide Yuki is simply fantastic! She is very detail in everything she explains and bothers to guide us how to return to the meeting point. This tour is amazing especially the Nara Park with deers roaming around and those beautiful blooming Sakura trees.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Diva Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My tour of Kyoto in the beginning of cherry blossom season last week in March was simply divine! Rebecca, my tour guide, was polite, knowledgeable, and importantly, a native English speaker. Having lived in Japan for 2 years, Rebecca was able to communicate and navigate effectively as a local. Highlights include: Seeing 2 traditional Japanese weddings outdoors on a beautiful day serendipitous timing!, walking the secret path at Fushimi-Inari that is packed with mini-shrines, and strolling the preserved village streets where we went souvenir shopping at my urging and where I got to try black sesame ice cream! Yes, it was delicious! When we visited temples, Rebecca was highly knowledgeable and educated me on Buddhism and Shintoism in Japan. As a Westerner, I found this to be fascinating, as it is so different from my home culture. Rebecca can also take a great picture - something that is extremely important on such a special trip! My advice to anyone considering this tour would be to have an idea of what you would like to see and accomplish, it helps you tour guide prepare the best experience for you, but also to trust the expert - your tour guide! Rebecca had suggestions I never would have considered that turned out to be highlights of the day. What are you waiting for? Go see Kyoto, and ask for Rebecca!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Kyoto in One Day

George B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour - wonderful guides - very happy in our choice of tour company

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

renzatravel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was amazing. I will recommend this to my friends

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Kylie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent introduction to the art of calligraphy. Smart, informative teacher and easy-to-find location. A small taste with a lovely art piece to keep at the end.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I signed up for this tour as part of my free third day activities on the 3-day Mt. Fuji, Kyoto and Nara tour.
The tour was started at New Miyako at 8:45 and I was led to the Kyoto station across the street to board a local train to Arashiyama. It was cherry blossom week and it was very crowded. You would be amazed by some of the sceneries and temples in this region. The tour concluded at 1PM and you would have option to return to Kyoto with tour guide or to explore the city on your own thereafter. This tour is very efficient but you will have to walk through out. I highly recommend this tour especially during the cherry blossom season.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All very memorable and well worth seeing. Take care that the deer are very persistent and you can easily be surrounded and mobbed as long as you have goodies to feed them.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great way to see both Kyoto and Nara in one day. We happened to be there at peak Sakura time and it was just beautiful. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and very polite.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very informative and entertaining tour! The Sakura blossoms were in full bloom and it added to the beauty of the area. Well worth the time and expense of the tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Shannon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Dont miss out! On previous trips I have been to shrines and temples without a tour guide and I totally regretted it. So when planning my trip to Japan - I would this tour and jumped on it. You should too - you wont regret it! Our tour guide - Yoshie - was amazing. She spoke perfect English and had so much knowledge about not only the shrine and sake, but also Kyoto in general, Japan foods and culture in general. It was like spending the day with a friend. Dont miss out and request Yoshie if you can!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Milena P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was wonderful experience with a kimono wearing and explanation about the meaning and traditions for tea ceremony.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Konrad S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience! Very professional and outgoing staff. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

Vanita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had limited time in Kyoto so this was idea to be able to visit the major sites. it is essentially the morning tour and the afternoon tour with a lunch thrown in. Both tour leaders were fun and informative and gave us enough time to be able to have a quick look around despite it being a packed tour.

My only complaint would be on the lunch. We were on the second group to be called for lunch as our afternoon tour left later, but by the time we reached the lunch hall, there was hardly any food left, so didn't really get to eat much all day. It was a good thing I had some gummies on me to munch.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sitting on your knees on a tatami mat is not the most comfortable, but a small price to pay for participating in a tea ceremony. It as fascinating to learn how each movement has meaning and Kaori was beautiful to watch. Take the opportunity like I did to make a cup of tea. Definately worth it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message