Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1007 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very well organized tour, with a very professional and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting tour, even for men. The guide takes you to the market to get the components for making sushi. Then, you go to this house where the teach you how to make a perfect sushi. After that you eat your own masterpiece. It was great!

Doing what: Best Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The setting was lovely, the tutors, Meiko and Yoko, were clear and kind and the teaching was direct enough to learn from but hands on enough to feel as though we were having a real go at it.
The eating part afterwards was very elegant and pleasant.
The tutors were thoughtful enough to have small stools to sit on as westerners are so after uncomfortable at the very low tables. A recipe book was provided for us to use in the future.

Doing what: Best Kyoto Sushi-Making Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our vegetarian cooking class at WAK was great. Out tutor's English was excellent - she was interested and interesting. We also learned a lot about Japanese cooking in a short amount of time...and then got to eat the results! A fun and informative morning

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

howtaobrowncow
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed this small brewery tour of the Matsui Shuzo Brewery. They've been around for a couple of hundred years, and supply many of the local shrines, and for good reason. The brewery staff and master brewer were super nice, and the sake was really excellent I bought a couple of bottles of my favorites to keep me company during the remainder of my trip. The tour guide, Ms. Kinoshita, was terrific she was very knowledgeable about sake and about the local area, her English was very good, and she was excellent company during the tour. I had a terrific time.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. We had a lovely time and it was a very intimate setting. She was very knowledgeable and thorough during the ceremony.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome experience. We got to experience a real authentic ceremony and wear the kimonos. The staff was so helpful and kind. They explained any questions we had. It was a really great experience. i highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was informative and an excellent experience. We learnt a lot about Japanese culture and traditions and saw some interesting locations in Kyoto. Tour guide spoke excellent English and was enthusiastic, which made it even more enjoyable for us. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Yuki, was fabulous. This was a wonderful way to make the most of a short time in Kyoto. Also, it was wonderful that the tour included a viewing of the Imperial residence - something that is impossible as an individual as special permission must be granted months in advance.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, well organised, guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful!

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour, highly knowledgeable guide. For non-Japanese speakers, having an English guide in a place like Fushimi Inari is a must.

Doing what: Best Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guides were professional and the places were great. But it was too hot at this time of the year. The morning tour guide had a good sense of humour too.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved my tour guide Mickey...Very informative, humorous and helpful

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A great way to cover the bases whilst staying in Kyoto...a very professional tour with a great guide Hero and enough time for me anyway! to appreciate what I was looking at.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Worth getting out in the country. Tour size had a lot of people and was not as intimate as expected, but still ok.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Nice tour and well organised despite being a very rainy day. Our guide, KC, was fun and gave good information throughout the tour. I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and kind of funny which I thought was his strong point. It's bad that we weren't able to visit the Imperial palace it closed on weekend. But if you want to understand a bit of Kyoto history with a guided tour I recommend this one

Doing what: Best Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

tour was very well organised. The tour guides were very friendly and knowledgable. The lunch was very nice. There were no negatives as far as I was concerned.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Himeji Castle is amazing but such a long queue for tickets and another long queue to enter (2 hours)!
Koko-en Garden is truly amazing...would love to come back for an autumn visit! Super tour guide who is very helpful, speaks very good English and very knowledgable!

Doing what: Himeji Castle, Koko-en Garden and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Kyoto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Wish the tour guide was as good as the one we had with Hato Bus tour in Tokyo

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour is very convenient and the lunch was great. Time saving. Great tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message