Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 802 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a private experience as my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. With most sake production, it is a small, modern operation. The owner was very generous with his time, gave us the history and background of sake production, and answered all our questions. The sake tasting was excellent. Of course it is set up to tempt you to buy, but we had no problem with that!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A wonderful tour that featured the two main religions in Japan - Buddhism and Shintoism. The visit to the two different temples were very insightful and awe inspiring, especially the Buddhist temple with the giant Buddha statue set in a park with free roaming deers that you can feed and take photos with!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour. But be careful about the deers. They eat everything!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great experience! I chose calligraphy lesson. My sensei Tomoko was very encouraging and taught me a lot about shodo. Thank you so very much.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I really liked this tour. Our tour guide was really funny and still informative and even kept her calm when half of the group run away to make photos with pretty kimono girls. The most beautiful spot was the Golden Pavilion, the most interesting the Nightingale floor of Nijo Castle.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great experience!! I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in experiencing traditional Japanese culture!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The trip was nice however it was quite disappointing not being able to see Kyoto Palace. It was understandable though. I would suggest to those planning to go to Japan not to do any tours towards the end of the year since there are a lot of places closed in preparation for New Yeat.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Nice tour to see the popular temples and shrines.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This was great to experience for our first morning in Japan. Nijo Castle was great as we actually were taken through the building and our Guide provided great background history to it's construction.
The Golden Pavilion was okay to see but was disappointing due to the large swarms of local school-kids but it was a bright sunny day which made the gold shine well.
The Imperial Palace was rather disappointing as we couldn't go inside the building structures, we could only walk around the outside of the Palace Grounds before we were quickly ushered to the bus because they impose strict timings for tourists. (And only Tour Groups are allowed entry).

Overall, for the first morning in Japan, rather than stumbling around looking for things to do, this gets you out seeing the three top attractions.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The lunch was awful and the location of the lunch was very poor. The brochure called for a hotel pickup and drop-off and it was not provided. Leaving out the Imperial Palace was unfortunate.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, supported by great tour guides! It gave us a broader insight to Japan's culture and the city's rich historical heritage. In particular, we've found our tour guides storytelling very informative and compelling. Lunch was OK, albeit nothing memorable.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

3 great places to see for just half a day. The tour guide is excellent!

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent to both the Kyoto sights and Nara. Our morning and afternoon guides were very knowledgable, pleasant and responsible to keeping our group together.
Only downside was lack of time in Nara. I really felt rushed. On looking back we should have separated from the group and wandered on our own.
Over all the tour was great and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Good English speaking guide for the walk throufh market with many intresting facts about the market and foods, very nice tradiational home and setup for cooking class, a very good experience

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

two different guides for each area both with good English and a goos sense of humour, slighlty rushed to get to see everything, but really worth it

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message