Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 744 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guides and destinations. Convenient pick up and drop off locations. Very informative and the provided lunch was great. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke of many details about the history behind the places we visited, including helpful hints and logistics on how to get to places efficiently. Tour was at a nice pace, unlike the one day tour to Mt. Fuji. We didn't cover the Inari Shrine. So be sure to see it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tourguide and the only chance to see Imperial palace to be on the safe site

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour; enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We arrived early, as we were unsure about the location. Our instructor accommodated us and began the class 30 minutes earlier than planned. She was warm, and helpful, and encouraged us to participate in all the cooking. It was not a formal class in a learning kitchen, but in a personal kitchen with everyday utensils and cooking containers.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour was in two halves - morning was good, guide had excellent English. Lunch was confusing, in a restaurant where none of the staff had any English - a guide should have been there to assist with ordering drinks and sorting out problems.

Afternoon tour was with a different guide (why? our first guide did the same tour but on a different bus).

Overall a good day, could have been better

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a very nice trip. The bus was well maintained, the tour guide was knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor. Unfortunately, we switched tour guides in the middle of the day. There were 3 different tours together for the morning and then we split for the afternoon.
The lunch was excellent.
Overall, this was a great value. We couldn't have seen so much of Kyoto in one day on our own!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

you could probably do this tour by yourself, our guide was great and very nice and talkative, but honestly, its easy enough to get to from kyoto station on your own. the scenery in and around the bamboo forest is really worth taking in. and whilst you can do the forest itself in 15mins or so with the tour, it might be something you want to spend a little more time surrounded by. The town has great food and souvenir stops which i recommend. The tour guide gives you the option of staying behind or heading back to kyoto together - so if you can, i think staying back to experience the sights and treats is worth it. Would love to see the forest at night. The 200 yen soft-serve icecream is a must as well! :)

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great well informed tour guide. Good humor. A bit rush.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Such a nice experience for my three kids under age 10. My son was hesitant but after a lollipop bribe, loved his samuri outfit. Origami session was 30 mins. Which was short. Could have spent a good hour. They displayed other examples but we only did one.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our guide Yumi was knowledgeable. As well as about the places we visited, she told us something of Japanese life. The golden pavilion was crowded, but I expect that is normal. I learned a lot.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I loved both the morning and the afternoon tour. You can skip the lunch. Would be better to have a box lunch or have people bring their own. The restaurant was crowded and noisy and a bit of a fire hazard since everyone had a burner at their seat heating the soup, that was 16 separate burners on each table with a live flame and it was on the second floor of an old building. Made me nervous and could not wait for lunch to be over and get on with the tour. It is also a very long day. We were picked up at our hotel at 7:30 and dropped off at 19:30, for a total of 12 hours. If you go, bring your own lunch and sit outside and wait.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Being dressed in a kimono for the tea ceremony by the leaders was an interesting and involving experience. There was one other couple participating with us in the ceremony and in the house tour which added to the experience. This was our first time in Kyoto and we were a bit apprehensive about finding the location of the event. However, the directions were good even though we could not read street names which were in Japanese..

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Tour: Introduction to Japanese Culture

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message