Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 893 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly Recommended personal tour with experienced teacher.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.

We didn't know what to expect from this performance but ended up loving every minute of it. The stage is small and personal and we 2 adults and 2 children were the only ones there. Even still, the performers gave it everything and it showed. At times it was moving, funny, sad, but always fantastic.

I can't explain why we were the only ones at this performance, but they deserve a visit!!

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great experience. It was small group with only 5 tourists. We had a lot of interaction with the three local women conducting the tea ceremony. We were dressed in kimonos for the occasion. After the tea ceremony we had the choice of origami or sake tasting. The only difficulty was finding the actual building for the tea ceremony. I included a photo of the front of the shop Wak Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Tour: Introduction to Japanese Culture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A real highlight to our trip. Definately worth seeing this. Got to play drinking games with the maiko

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great show all round! Unlike with other touristy things you can do around the world, you never got the sense that these guys were trying to sell you anything - they were genuinely exhibiting their culture. It was a nice little bonus being able to take pictures with the performers and hold their swords!

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great food, great instruction.

Top marks.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must do tour! We were lucky enough to be the only two on this tour, with a guide who spoke excellent English. Fushimi Inari is a fascinating place, and our guide explained all the customs and traditions as we wandered through. Afterwards to the Sake Brewery museum and store with plenty of tastings was a nice way to finish off the tour - then back to Kyoto station again by train.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If interested in really experiencing culture of Japan, this tour is not to be missed. Machiko, our instructor took us through step-by-step how to make chicken teriyaki, as well as other accompanying dishes, was terrific and both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed making our own lunch in an authentic Japanese kitchen with all the correct ingredients. We not only enjoyed eating it all but also received a recipe booklet to take away so we can make it and other dishes ourselves at home. Yum!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Meiko was our instructor and she was brilliant! She guided us through the steps needed to write Japanese characters, including signing our work with our own names in Japanese, and we got to take away our work as keepsakes. It was great fun, very interesting to see how to do it properly, and Meiko's encouragement along the way made it most enjoyable! Would do it all over again for sure.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour company offers a very good service value for money. They were very professional and adapted to our special needs. Our Tea Master was very kind and knowledgeable. I recommend it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great value! This tour is jam-packed with non-stop sightseeing, entertainment and history. There is a lot of walking through some rough terrain with beautiful sights, so make sure to bring your camera and good closed toe shoes. The tour guides were nice and very informative lots of talking. The bus ride was comfortable and the lunch was unique and delicious. If you have a limited time in Kyoto then I highly recommend this tour. But if you're one who likes to take their time at each place and/ or do self-guiding, then this might not be for you. Overall I really enjoyed myself. I only wish I took a tour in Tokyo too!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing, we had an excellent guides and got to see everything on schedule.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour and guide! The lunch was very good.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a lovely way to pass an hour and half learning about the Japanese history of the tea ceremony. Our host was charming and very knowledgeable - we felt we honoured to spend time with her - and loved our kimonos !

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was amazing. We love Kyoto, what a beautiful place.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Kyoto is a beautiful city with so much to see and take in, and in a sense I had the feeling that this particular tour tried to cover too much ground for just one day. You would go to one UNESCO world heritage site take a look around and immediately be on route to the next one. the full-day tour is even comprised to two separate tours, the morning half-day and the afternoon half-day which further added to the fractured atmosphere.

The lunch was also rather disappointing by Japanese cooking standards the saving grace of the day however was kiyomizudera.right at the end. The perfect place to take a pic from up high of the whole city and pick up yatsuhashi omiage. The shop-lined streets and geisha-clad tourists added to the ambience and was a highlight not just of this tour but of my vacation as a whole.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Pro: Yuki our tour guide was wonderful. Good tour to cover key landmarks of Kyoto if you are short of time

Con: Need better co-ordination by company in directing people to right buses. Almost got left behind after lunch

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a long day and not much time at some temples. This is a good tour to start off your exploration of Kyoto as you may find places that you may wish to revisit and spend a bit more time exploring.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Was a great day out, lots to see and the guide was extremely knowledgeable. A bit rushed at times to fit everything in, but it was enjoyable. Lunch was great too!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We signed up for two half day tours wanting to pack the one day we had in Kyoto. Viator full day tour visits the same sites and provides lunch. Don' make the mistake we did and take two half day tours with luch on your own. The full day tour has it all.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I did the tea ceremony kimono wearing and was a little worried that it would be strange. luckily i was joined by three Brits that made the whole thing delightful. you get to pick your kimono from a good selection and then the sash obi?, after that there's the tabi sox - but you keep the trousers as the kimono is long enough to cover them. then a nice lady dresses you - or should i say packs you in to the kimono. amazing to see how the fabric feels and the pattern of the garment is not familiar. then you pick your hair decorations and you ushered to the tea ceremony room where lovely Aska hope i got the name right taught us all about tea growing, tea making and the meaning of the tea ceremony. we all got to participate as we wished. after the tea ceremony was done we changed back into our everyday clothes and even received a gift - a card game that teaches about the tea ceremony. i was promised a test if i ever come back : . the only thing is that i was a little rushed to leave and didn't get to hear about the place in Hiroshima from my new friends, please drop me a line rayabendavid on gmail and i'll also send you the pic.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Really enjoyed this tour until the visit to the last shrine where we were caught up in so much traffic from other tour buses trying to get in and out of the car park . Would happily have given this visit a miss - but the other stops - Ninjo Castle, Imperial Palace , Sanjusangen-do Temple were amazing ! The guide was very knowledgeable and kept us under control ! The lunch was also very good . Would never have seen so much if trying to do by myself .

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

A large tour and a little unwieldy, relying on public transit with very little commentary over the headsets given to our group. In retrospect, I could have easily gotten to the area and then would have had the time to wander at my leisure. It was disappointing that the temple tour was limited to the gardens and not the temple and with wayward group members disappearing, much time was wasted rounding up our too-large group. At least we had the option of returning the headsets and wandering on our own at our own pace.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message