• USD ($)
  • English
Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 697 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour! The tour guides were very informative!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip worth evry cent. The tour guide was well informed about myriad Japanese delicacies on display at the Nishiki market and our small group of eight people. At the sake outlet we tasted quality sakes and ended up buying a bottle for the cooking class. The cooking class gave us hands on experience at sushi-making. Our teacher was very clear in her explanations and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our experience, We will recommend anyone to take this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good customer service (matched lowest available price) as well as knowledgeable tour guides and good selection of sites.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tourist friendly introduction into wearing the Kimono, Tea ceremony, and Sake. We were interviewed at the tour by Japanese TV! The house was authentic old Japanese style and the guides were knowledgeable and very friendly. Good for adults and kids alike.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Tour: Introduction to Japanese Culture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Probably our favorite tour of our trip. Saw a heap of fantastic scenes from around Kyoto with a really well informed guides. The swcond half of the day we had to practically take at a run but that was only because there is so much crammed into the day. Definitely worth it if you have a spare day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very good. Guide excellent and very polite. A little rushed.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall, it was wonderful experience. Sometimes felt rushed.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Morning Kyoto tour was average, a bit rushed. But the afternoon Nara trip was great.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Japanese castles are always worth a visit and this was no exception.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Its a good trip, didnt like the lunch place. But everything else was good

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The itinerary of the tour is very good, visiting the principal touristic places of Kyoto, our guide Mr. Yoshitaka was nice and amusing, besides of knowledge of details of the visited points.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was a 50/50 experience but overall pretty good Really more of a 3+ star experience. It consisted of a tour of the markets, sake tasting and a class where you learned to make a sushi roll. The guide and cooking teacher were very pleasant and they made the experience worthwhile. English skills were good but not fluent.

Tours--
Pros: Very pleasant and outgoing guide.
Cons: Not what I really expected. The description led me to believe that we would select ingredients for the cooking class. Not really. So the experience was a lot more watching than shopping someone else buy items that -- in the end -- where not really what was used anyway in the class.

Sake tasting:
Kind of fun. Not too educational, but a historic building. Not an operational brewery.

Cooking class:
This was fun, but again, a lot of watching with a few moment of participation. The teacher was extremely nice and this was the highlight of the tour. Watched her demonstrate how to make dashi and rice. Helped cut ingredients for Miso and sushi. Rolled and cut sushi (egg and veg).

Again, a good way to spend a rainy afternoon, but not a must do.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautful area near Kyoto. Tour was great and guide was informative. Lots of walking so wear comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message