Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jeremy.tang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My partner and I attended the two hour tea ceremony session with a tea master. They got us dressed in kimonos and were able to take traditional photos in a zen garden. We then participated in the tea ceremony learning the proper etiquette of servicing and receiving matcha. This was a great experience.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guides were great. Very enjoyable overall. A great way to see local Kyoto plus sake tasting plus learning to make sushi!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Evangelia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My daughter and I felt the tour was very informative and it gave us a great overview of the area.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Pattos Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed this 4 hour tour. The visit to Nijo Castle was very informative and our guide certainly knew her history. The visit to the Golden Pavilion was absolutely packed which is apparently normal. However you still get a decent opportunity to take photos. It was raining the day we went and navigating the swarm of umbrellas added an extra layer of mayhem but still worth the visit.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

praxidike1000 .

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Interesting performance delivered by nice and high skilled people.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

james m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour covered the sights in an efficient and effective fashion. The tour guide was well organized and informed about what we were visiting. I thought this was good use of our time and a fair price. We were a big group, but the guide answered our questions and explained things well.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Julien D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very-friendly drivers ! Speaking good English too.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Elsa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time! We had 2 guides one in the morning and another one in the afternoon. Both guides very knowledgeable, helpful and funny. I wish we had 1/2 an hour more to visit each landmark, though.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

martinko09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to get to know a typical household and connect with the chef/teacher. This experience was more about getting to know the chef/teacher and eating an amazing home cooked meal. A recipe book and a few small gifts were given at the end to make sure I knew how to cook everything again!

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

Lynette T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, guide and highly recommended!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Karyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We travelled as a group of 6 adults aged between 19-53 on this wonderfully engaging and interactive tour. Although it went for several hours we were sad to say goodbye. We had knowledgeable women walk us around the back blocks of Kyoto proudly showing us their markets, their special foods, their magnificient department store produce, then a very interesting insight and educational session on the making of sake and finally a delicious dinner partly prepared by our group pf 12 but under the expert guidance and care of the most beautiful ,humble and gentle Kyoto women. Sensational!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Fu-Ni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best thing we've done for our trip in Kyoto. Our guide Kento-san was very knowledgeable and full of humor through out our rickshaw guide. We will definitely request him again if we ever visit Kyoto again for another rickshaw tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Fu-Ni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun games, great food, unlimited drinks, needless to say, it was fun!

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Marise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this tour. The people were very helpful and lovely. My daughter and I had a fantastic time

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Mon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kyoto is just a stunning city to visit. By far my favorite city we visited while in Japan. This tour gives a full day of seeing some of the top spots of Kyoto. It rained the entire day, but our guide still took us everywhere and went out with us and happily explained all the buildings we got to see.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Elicia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had great fun on this Day Tour. Our tour guide Yuki is simply fantastic! She is very detail in everything she explains and bothers to guide us how to return to the meeting point. This tour is amazing especially the Nara Park with deers roaming around and those beautiful blooming Sakura trees.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Diva Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My tour of Kyoto in the beginning of cherry blossom season last week in March was simply divine! Rebecca, my tour guide, was polite, knowledgeable, and importantly, a native English speaker. Having lived in Japan for 2 years, Rebecca was able to communicate and navigate effectively as a local. Highlights include: Seeing 2 traditional Japanese weddings outdoors on a beautiful day serendipitous timing!, walking the secret path at Fushimi-Inari that is packed with mini-shrines, and strolling the preserved village streets where we went souvenir shopping at my urging and where I got to try black sesame ice cream! Yes, it was delicious! When we visited temples, Rebecca was highly knowledgeable and educated me on Buddhism and Shintoism in Japan. As a Westerner, I found this to be fascinating, as it is so different from my home culture. Rebecca can also take a great picture - something that is extremely important on such a special trip! My advice to anyone considering this tour would be to have an idea of what you would like to see and accomplish, it helps you tour guide prepare the best experience for you, but also to trust the expert - your tour guide! Rebecca had suggestions I never would have considered that turned out to be highlights of the day. What are you waiting for? Go see Kyoto, and ask for Rebecca!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Kyoto in One Day

George B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour - wonderful guides - very happy in our choice of tour company

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

renzatravel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was amazing. I will recommend this to my friends

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Kylie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent introduction to the art of calligraphy. Smart, informative teacher and easy-to-find location. A small taste with a lovely art piece to keep at the end.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I signed up for this tour as part of my free third day activities on the 3-day Mt. Fuji, Kyoto and Nara tour.
The tour was started at New Miyako at 8:45 and I was led to the Kyoto station across the street to board a local train to Arashiyama. It was cherry blossom week and it was very crowded. You would be amazed by some of the sceneries and temples in this region. The tour concluded at 1PM and you would have option to return to Kyoto with tour guide or to explore the city on your own thereafter. This tour is very efficient but you will have to walk through out. I highly recommend this tour especially during the cherry blossom season.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All very memorable and well worth seeing. Take care that the deer are very persistent and you can easily be surrounded and mobbed as long as you have goodies to feed them.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great way to see both Kyoto and Nara in one day. We happened to be there at peak Sakura time and it was just beautiful. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and very polite.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very informative and entertaining tour! The Sakura blossoms were in full bloom and it added to the beauty of the area. Well worth the time and expense of the tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message