Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brittany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Truly an outstanding way to see major highlights of Kyoto and Nara in a limited amount of time! My only needs improvement comment pertained to the lunch, which was far and away the worst meal of my 10 day stay in Japan cannot remember when I ate worse. Much better to simply let people off the bus in a commercial area with different options for lunch and pay their own way, rather than do the buffet that was offered.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Jesse United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Had a great time at this event, would recommend to anyone interested in Maiko performances and traditions, Japanese culture, traditional Japanese meals. Participants had opportunity to speak one-on-one with a Maiko performer and ask questions.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Blake R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour guide was very interesting, friendly and informative, no matter what the question. The tour was well paced to provide sufficient time at each location and explored some very beautiful Kyoto sights.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Blake R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour guide was very interesting, friendly and informative, no matter what the question. The tour was well paced to provide sufficient time at each location and explored some very beautiful Kyoto sights.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

steven h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

a really memorable experience - everyone who visits Kyoto should see these sights

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Mariateresa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide very funny and knowledgeable

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Phil W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

a fantastic tour. Day filled with exciting sights and history.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

aleksei g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very nice tour which contains of two tours divided by lunch. Professional and knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The teacher and her assistant were both very friendly. A friend and I along with a couple from the UK learned to make some tasty Japanese dishes. A good time was had by all.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Samata K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing! It had everything we could have wanted. it made seeing some of the top sights super easy and convenient.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Jesse United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Even though this was my second time on this tour, this was again a really great second tour, lots of visits to historically significant sites such as the Kyoto Imperial Palace and other sites visited. Had great tour guides who were all very knowledgeable regarding past and current historical facts related to the beautiful Kyoto Imperial Palace, the Golden Pavilion, and Nijo Castle. I would recommend this tour to anyone having an interest in the rich history in the Kyoto area.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The ryokan was very beautiful, the food was delicious, and the performance was great to watch. We got to speak with the performers briefly and get our photos taken with them, and we all had the opportunity to go up and play drinking games which I lost. I highly recommend this experience if you're in Kyoto.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

esdok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice experience . Place is very near imperial palace . Easy to find.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Breanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a lot of fun. Good exercise though so be prepared to get hot! We learned one taiko drumming song during the lesson after a brief warmup. Having no drumming experience is fine as long as you can keep a beat. Definitely worth doing. I recommend telling taxi drivers the cross roads though since he didn't know where the taiko drumming center was and had to ask another Japanese person!

Doing what: Japanese Taiko Drum Lesson in Kyoto

Breanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The steps up the castle were steep with low ceilings. From an architectural and engineering standpoint the castle was very impressive. We also were lucky going during the winter off season so there were no lines. We did not see the garden because of the winter weather but the Akashi bridge was also a fun highlight. Overall this was a great experience and our guide was both friendly and informative.

Doing what: Himeji Castle, Koko-en Garden and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Kyoto

Ella T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly recommend this tour! You could never see and do this much in one day yourself. The guide was very informative - nice buffet lunch. The deer park was a standout with deer roaming around and interacting with people. Amazing shrines too.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

ALOK K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide. A lot packed in a day, couldn't have done it without a packaged tour. Nara was the best part.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Mary S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Unique and educational performance about Kyoto samurai history. Stage was in a small basement and hosted by 4 very dedicated Kembu performers.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Mary S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Quick intro to Kyoto and our guide was extremely informative. On the bus listening was easy but during the tour it was hard to hear due to surrounding crowds and other tour guides with microphones speaking over him.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Breanne K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our guide gave us fun insights about Osaka Castle's history and Japanese culture in general. We were impressed with the inside of the castle too - several cool exhibits were in the castle and were very informative, plus they had a nice little gift shop. We felt like the the castle was a bit rushed 50 minutes to see the whole interior was a little fast. The river cruise after seeing the castle was a great way to end the day. Not knowing the area, we were glad to have a guide with us but some adventurous travelers would probably not have too much trouble visiting Osaka on their own, and taking their time more.

Doing what: Osaka Walking Tour with River Cruise and Osaka Castle from Kyoto

fand83

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

The guide was very friendly except she does not seem to know much about the venues we visited...gave VERY BRIEF introductions. We took the bus public transport to all the venues, and she does not seem to know her way around too well. We were supposed to confirm our tour 24 hours prior, which I did, about 60 hours before via email as instructed, but NOBODY ever emailed me back. When I called the tel listed, I was told that was no longer the for Kyoto tour. Only after I inquired further was I given the CORRECT tel . It was overall disappointing service.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Kyoto in One Day

Robert Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a really fun experience with our 12 year old son. Something different and a nice break from the typical Shrine and Temple site-seeing.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Audrey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What made the tour great were the warm, friendly, hospitable and knowledgeable guides. Well-organized and great tour overall.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Kyla D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Overall this tour was worth it, below are some key points of the two tours morning and afternoon.
---------------------------

Morning Tour:
1. The tour guide was awesome. She made jokes all morning and had lots of useful information. I learned a lot from her, not only about the tour locations we went to but about Kyoto while we drove around.

2. The tour was only slightly rushed in the morning, and only due to the Imperial Palace having strict arrival and departure rules. Overall we moved at a comfortable pace.

3. Every location we went to was worth the visit. None of the areas were too packed with people.
---------------------------

Lunch:
The lunch was a good Japanese meal. It wasn't the most amazing meal I have had, but It surpassed my expectations for a meal that was included in a tour. I left full and satisfied, the meal was prepared well and tasted good.
---------------------------

Afternoon Tour:
1. The tour guide for the afternoon tour was different then the morning. She was good, but I preferred the morning tour guide because she seemed to have more fun with jokes and interacting with us. The afternoon tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. She kept us on schedule and informed with history of the areas we were in. She also taught us the correct way to enter temples and shrines.

2. The locations we visited in the afternoon seemed to be more full with tourists. I am not sure if that was due to the later in the day schedule or the locations.

3. Pacing was perfect. Never felt rushed and we covered a lot of ground.
---------------------------

If I had to choose between the morning or afternoon tours, I would select the afternoon one. The locations we covered were more interesting to me personally and the pacing perfect. The morning one is very much worth it though, so if you have time to do the full day tour I suggest it.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message