Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 725 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, totally worth the money. One thing only - it gets a little tiring by the end of the day, but it is worth it.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Yes it was amazing and enjoyed the nipping live reindeers.

I wish to have been able to visit one if the interiors of the Imperial Palace and not only the garden.

My second time to Nijo castle and enjoyed it

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow! This was a very personalized experience. Our interpreter/guide met us at the hotel with a car. On the drive to the home, our guide was engaging and interesting. She spoke perfect English as she had lived in Australia for eight years. Of course the best part was the lesson! Our hostess was gracious and informative. She and her nephew did a great job with all the parts of the dishes we prepared. Our 18 year old son loved everything. The food was spectacular and we enjoyed the conversation and learning customs as well as cooking. I would strongly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great! We saw 6 temples in total and they were beautiful. We also got to see a lot of Kyoto on the way to each temple. Our two tour guides were very friendly, knowledgeable and great to have showing us around. All in all a great day!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Pauline G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a lovely lesson which I enjoyed to such an extent that I have cooked the teriyaki chicken 3 times since returning home. My Asuka San was an excellent instructor and we talked extensively about life in Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Pauline G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Booked this class for my husband, teenage son and self. Very enjoyable time was had by all of us. We complete three origami shapes which got progressively more difficult. We had a lot of fun and would happily do this class again.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

rainerice
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was just my girl and I and had a blast. Great sake and very informative.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall this was a good tour. We were definitely able to see more things in one day than we would have been able to see on our own. The tour guides knowledge and extra information she shared helped us understand more of the history of the sites we went to. And while yes we saw a bunch of sites, I didn't feel it was too rushed or that I wasn't able to get out of it what I wanted. Occasionally the tour guide was a bit difficult to understand which was a minor frustration.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was much fun experiencing some of the foods of Japan and how they are prepared. Excellent program.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very efficient and spoke excellent English. All of the places were very interesting.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour - Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our third Viator tour on this trip. We were picked up in Kyoto at the hotel we stayed at (New Miyako); again, very convenient. Our tour guide, Yoshi, was the best of the trip...very knowledegable and funny. Niho Castle was the highlight of the tour and it worth the trip--awesome. Heian Shrine was next and was a very spiritual place, again, worth the visit. From there, we visited the Golden Pavilion and got some great pics and good luck charms. We stopped for lunch at a restaurant (part of the tour) and had a great traditional lunch, shabu-shabu style. After this, we got back on the bus but were again plagued by the bus' inadequate AC, as it got hot and humid outside. The entire tour group resorted to opening the windows and braving the stickiness rather than the oven it had become inside. Our next stop was the imperial palace replica. It was immense and provided stunning pics and memories. Kiyomizu temple was out last stop. The shopping on the road up to the temple was another major attraction, here. At the conclusion of the tour, we were returned to our hotel at approx. 5pm, so we still had time to walk around Kyoto! Don't miss this one--imo its a good investment in time and money for what you get--experience this important area's major sites, explained by an expert, eat great local food, excellent shopping opportunities, and convenient pickup/drop-off. We'll do this one again, someday.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We fell a bit in love with the experiences offered via the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. WAK seeks to share their love of Kyoto and provide hospitality. Our instructor was a delight! She ensured we learned and enjoyed the tea ceremony experience, which was held in a converted home WAK uses for instruction.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message