It can be challenging trying to keep everyone happy and entertained when traveling with children. We've put together a few ideas and attractions that will help keep the younger members of the family entertained in Kyoto without boring the socks off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 601 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting Tour which included a number of places that you would probably miss, and definitely shouldn't, if you had planned Kyoto yourself :

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Bryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rebecca was extremely knowledgeable, good company and made suggestions regarding entainment that we followed up on and they were as good as she had said. Congratulations!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

ernp1663

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great afternoon tour, if you only have a short period of time in Kyoto. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The Todaiji Temple with the largest Buddha and other guardians were incredible. The massive amounts of deer in the area was equally enjoyable. We must have feed them 5-6 packs of biscuits which you can buy on the premises, as they provided a lot of great photo ops and were friendly to pet. Kasuga shrine was a great experience and were amazed by the sheer volume of the lanterns in the area, as well as more deer roaming freely around. Great Tour.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Dean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guides and Tour - It was very comprehensive - covering a number of sites and locations . Bring comfortable shoes and be prepared for rain. The lunch at handicrafts centre was good. Our personal highlight was the trip to Nara - Deer and Temple. - our only concern was for some older people who chose to stay on the bus at locations where walking was intensive. -

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

holidayhangover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great full day out you see a lot on this tour and still have enough time to linger in places like Nara. Lunch was buffet style and tasty. Our tour guide Seiko pronounced psycho was fun organised and informative, Lots of photo opportunities and the highlight would have to be the deer park. Only downside was head office didn't get back to us about our transfer hotel pick up so had to make our own way to Sunrise Tour Office by bus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

holidayhangover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great full day out you see a lot on this tour and still have enough time to linger in places like Nara. Lunch was buffet style and tasty. Our tour guide Seiko pronounced psycho was fun organised and informative, Lots of photo opportunities and the highlight would have to be the deer park. Only downside was head office didn't get back to us about our transfer hotel pick up so had to make our own way to Sunrise Tour Office by bus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour. Gorgeous scenery, wonderful temples and the Bamboo grove and preceding area are out of this world. A must do and see.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great way to see both Kyoto and Nara in one day. We happened to be there at peak Sakura time and it was just beautiful. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and very polite.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very informative and entertaining tour! The Sakura blossoms were in full bloom and it added to the beauty of the area. Well worth the time and expense of the tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All very memorable and well worth seeing. Take care that the deer are very persistent and you can easily be surrounded and mobbed as long as you have goodies to feed them.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Athena K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The shrine was much more crowded than I expected but our guide, Mari, was wonderful and we enjoyed all of the activities.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I signed up for this tour as part of my free third day activities on the 3-day Mt. Fuji, Kyoto and Nara tour.
The tour was started at New Miyako at 8:45 and I was led to the Kyoto station across the street to board a local train to Arashiyama. It was cherry blossom week and it was very crowded. You would be amazed by some of the sceneries and temples in this region. The tour concluded at 1PM and you would have option to return to Kyoto with tour guide or to explore the city on your own thereafter. This tour is very efficient but you will have to walk through out. I highly recommend this tour especially during the cherry blossom season.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Lynette T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, guide and highly recommended!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Elicia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had great fun on this Day Tour. Our tour guide Yuki is simply fantastic! She is very detail in everything she explains and bothers to guide us how to return to the meeting point. This tour is amazing especially the Nara Park with deers roaming around and those beautiful blooming Sakura trees.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Eleanor Joy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was very informative. Food was yummy. Nara deer were the highlight of this tour. I have recommended this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour to get to know a bit of a Japanese culture. Unlike castles and museums this needs to be witness with real life commentary. Our guide was excellent. Worth the money spent. Definitely recommend - and it's walking - great way to soak in atmosphere of Nara, Gion and Kyoto.
Guide knew what he was talking about, his English was good and tour was well planned. All fees included but the return to Kyoto train station taxi - ca. JPY1,200

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lauraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved this tour, perfect way to find my feet in Kyoto!
Our guide Lulu was warm and engaging and very Smiley and happy to help in anyway.
The pace and size of the tour was great and finishing off in the Gion district at dusk works well for dinner after! We saw 9 Geishas! Only recommendation would be a 20-30 minute stop somewheere for a coffe or beer, all the others in the group felt the same pretty much about that!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Roy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide, Dustin was punctual and got us on the road a little bit later due to non shows. He did however extend the tour to take this into account. He was informative and chatty without over doing us with facts and figures to the extent, you couldn't take it in. He walked at a good pace through the tour and took on questions easily. The tour took us through some of the beautiful areas of Kyoto and we even managed to see a Geysha girl. I would definitely recommend this tour, and Dustin as a tour guide.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Monica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was great and the tour guide was exceptional. Thank you.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

O Lam Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a great tour for a first time Kyoto visitor. The buffet style lunch was delicious, but felt very much like a school canteen style layout. The highlight for this tour was the visit to Deer Park in the afternoon, however we felt very rushed as we were only given about 20-30mins to play with the deers. Overall we would highly reccomend this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Glen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour. Best tour we did in Japan. Thank you to our wonderful guide Pepijn who is very knowledgeable. We learnt and saw so much.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Karin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Despite it being a bitterly cold day about 3 degrees Celsius our tour guide Alex did a great job. He led us to several diverse and interesting parts of Kyoto and provided a fascinating commentary. We learnt a lot about the history and culture both of Kyoto, and of Japan more generally. Dont forget your comfortable walking shoes youll get a lot of exercise in this tour! If I had one suggestion for how the tour might be improved, Id say it would be good to sit down somewhere with a drink and a snack halfway through. Maybe linger longer at the food stalls near the Inari Shrine, or build in a visit to a tea shop? Anyway, we enjoyed the tour and found it interesting. Thanks!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Brittany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Truly an outstanding way to see major highlights of Kyoto and Nara in a limited amount of time! My only needs improvement comment pertained to the lunch, which was far and away the worst meal of my 10 day stay in Japan cannot remember when I ate worse. Much better to simply let people off the bus in a commercial area with different options for lunch and pay their own way, rather than do the buffet that was offered.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

ALOK K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide. A lot packed in a day, couldn't have done it without a packaged tour. Nara was the best part.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message