It can be challenging trying to keep everyone happy and entertained when traveling with children. We’ve put together a few ideas and attractions that will help keep the younger members of the family entertained in Kyoto without boring the socks off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 366 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour with a very knowledgable guide. Visiting fushimi inari was a dream come true. Spotted a geisha in Gion to top it off.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip. Todaiji Temple is spectacular. Kasuga Shrine is OK. On the whole, a great afternoon. As first time visitors to Kyoto area we enjoyed this. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour; enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great cultural tour. We met with Elsa who brought us around a few of the shrines and temples in the Kyoto area and she provided information in a perfectly understandable english.

There is quite a bit of walking, but she gives the group an option to walk or take a train.

The Geisha portion of the tour (towards the end) is a hit or miss. You may, or may not, be able to stumble upon a geisha during the tour. So, there is a bit of luck that goes with it. I did manage to see one from afar (legit geisha, not an ordinary woman dressed in a Kimono), but to make your tour more successful, I suggest staying away from the main road.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tourguide and the only chance to see Imperial palace to be on the safe site

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

best value and great experience!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke of many details about the history behind the places we visited, including helpful hints and logistics on how to get to places efficiently. Tour was at a nice pace, unlike the one day tour to Mt. Fuji. We didn't cover the Inari Shrine. So be sure to see it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic. The tour guide was funny, friendly, and knowledgeable. The small group size worked very well as we did a good amount of walking in busy areas. At the end of the tour the guide recommended a few areas for dinner that were english-speaking friendly but off the beaten path - really fabulous.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Elsa was wonderful and took us to some great sights. As a resident she was able to share some interesting insights to Japanese culture. It started to pour at one point but she kept going as long as the group was ok with it. group size was just right. Highly recommend

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great day tour. don't miss Nara!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

the tour was perfect...cover many fabulous places and took us the distances needed....thank you to our caring tour guides too!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of our most fascinating tours we took in Japan. Nara is an interesting, historical, place and the tour makes the trip easy and enjoyable. The guides were great and gave us a fabulous commentary on the background of the places we visited, as well as the historical perspective. The lunch was not great, but tolerable. The trip was well planned and very comfortable. A must in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message