It can be challenging trying to keep everyone happy and entertained when traveling with children. We've put together a few ideas and attractions that will help keep the younger members of the family entertained in Kyoto without boring the socks off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 501 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was my second time taking this tour, yet I still learned a lot and had a great time! The tour guide was very informative and entertaining! You get to see so much and the price is reasonable! The food they served for lunch was also delicious! This is a great experience for first time visitors to Japan!

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, well organised, guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful!

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Yuki, was fabulous. This was a wonderful way to make the most of a short time in Kyoto. Also, it was wonderful that the tour included a viewing of the Imperial residence - something that is impossible as an individual as special permission must be granted months in advance.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely loved it!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very well organized tour, with a very professional and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Easy way to see the Nara highlights while saving yourself the hassle or to'ing and fro'ing on your own from Kyoto. Our guide was lovely and the Todaiji Temple was truly impressive!

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was quite a busy and full on day, not helped by the heat in Kyoto on this day! The trip to Nijo Castle was highly informative and interesting, but the icing on the cake was the trip to visit the deer in Nara! There is a huge temple which we took the time to be shown around, but feeding the deer and getting them to bow to you was loads of fun.
You can buy deer biscuits for 100 yen, which contain natural ingredients and made me feel much better about feeding them.
It was a long day, probably not advisable for young children as there was a fair amount of walking involved but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tourguide was excellent she truly wished to make the tour of great value to each of the tourists.

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative guilde, crazy how many deer are wandering around and come up to you. If you bow they will bow back...

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour guide that was very informative about the local history and culture. great tour!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Even though Kyoto itself has a lot to offer to last for years of temple-viewing, visiting Nara was a refreshing and unique experience that was totally worth the trip. Lunch was great and the temples in Nara were pretty amazing. The tour guides both in Kyoto and in Nara were great at explaining the surroundings, context and history. I'm glad to have taken this tour.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Benjamin was very informative and friendly. I highly recommend this tour if in Kyoto.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very Nice tour! Nice lunsh and wondeful sights. Talented tour guides

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Tomo was fantastic and had great English language skills. The whole tour was very well done from start to finish and she was extremely good with helping group members with more holiday ideas. We visited beautiful Temples and all tour members seem to manage the walk well. We were a group of 12 ranging from 60-ish year old couples to 6year olds.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Super knowledgeable guide. Very professional and relaxed. Top recommendations.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great.....Our guide was very informative. Made a great day out of a rainy one. Truly enjoyed our afternoon.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really loved the small group setup - it allowed for a more personalized, intimate tour. Our tour guide was both knowledgeable and friendly. A worthwhile investment! Felt like it helped us get the most out of the city.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

fantastic tour, best thing we did in Japan !

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and guide. very well organized.

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyable and rewarding tour. The guide was very informative and made sure we saw as much as possible within the timeframe of the tour.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and our guide was very knowledgeable. He was quietly spoken but I think it was due to a cold. He was very patient and went above and beyond to make sure we saw and learnt about Kyoto. The tour fit in perfectly as we had already booked in another tour which went to completely different sites.
Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An immersive experience which would enable to you jump back in time and appreciate the glorious Shogun era and other heritage sites.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message