It can be challenging trying to keep everyone happy and entertained when traveling with children. We've put together a few ideas and attractions that will help keep the younger members of the family entertained in Kyoto without boring the socks off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 632 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Naomi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was well worth it. The tour guide was excellent have very good knowledge of the area and the scenery was amazing I would recommend this tour

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

afsilitonga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Lulu had planned an eventful tour. She was very knowledgable and could speak very well English.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Jacqui C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A really good trip for half a day
Very informative knowledgeable guide
Good informative stories on the drive there
Very enjoyable

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Maria Delia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! I was in awe when we visited the Todaiji temple. Walking around at the deer park was a nice experience. Kasiuga shrine was beautiful.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! We were able to see sights we would have never been able to see on our own with the time we had. The guide was fabulous!!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

paul s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good way to see Kyoto in short order. Lulu was lovely.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Sara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome day trip, friendly English speaking guides. Got to see three sites in the morning then another three in the afternoon. The amount of time at each location was perfect, we even had free time for shopping. Enjoyed the lunch at the Kyoto craft centre, an amazing day and a highlight of my trip to Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Trudy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This 4 hour tour was the best part of my 5 days in Japan - the guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and went out of her way to ensure we each got back to where we needed to be after the tour - which is quite something as Kyoto is an easy place for a visitor to get confused in. We avoided the crowded areas but still saw a lovely garden, the amazing gates and then the geisha area and stopped for good street food on the way. I keep recommending this trip to friends.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

pcarney2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The cultural walking tour was fun and enjoyable and very relaxed and easy while taking in the history and cultural of Buddhist and Shinto temples as well as Gion and history of geishas. Great trip and experience Lulu and assistant were fantastic!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Kirilee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour. They limit the tour to 11 or 12 people, and so you get a really good vibe the entire time. Our tour host Lulu was amazing and very well informed. Wear comfortable shoes to walk in - you will be walking quite far.
Also, just a heads up, the fushimi inari shrine is super busy during the day with tourist. If you want a really beautiful and peaceful experience of it, go back during the evening or I was told very early morning. The shrine doesn't close, and it is well lit all the way to the top.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour - this is a great way to see Nara if you are short on time.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Pauline F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rebecca was an educated, informed and talented guide who I would recommend for anyone. She is an ex English/Japanese teacher who was knowledgeable, informed and fun. Thankyou for the range of activities, back stories and cultural context..... would recommend very highly

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lawrence F H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everyone involved was attentive and kind and thoughtful. I had to use a wheel chair and it was always there.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

davebaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really good tour. Our guide Mari was excellent and informative. Loved Fushimi Inari Shrine although would have liked to have gone to the top but given the length of the tour and other places to go it was not possible. I will return to Japan to complete this. Gion is definitely another highlight and a fascinating insight.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting Tour which included a number of places that you would probably miss, and definitely shouldn't, if you had planned Kyoto yourself :

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Bryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rebecca was extremely knowledgeable, good company and made suggestions regarding entainment that we followed up on and they were as good as she had said. Congratulations!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

ernp1663

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great afternoon tour, if you only have a short period of time in Kyoto. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The Todaiji Temple with the largest Buddha and other guardians were incredible. The massive amounts of deer in the area was equally enjoyable. We must have feed them 5-6 packs of biscuits which you can buy on the premises, as they provided a lot of great photo ops and were friendly to pet. Kasuga shrine was a great experience and were amazed by the sheer volume of the lanterns in the area, as well as more deer roaming freely around. Great Tour.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Dean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guides and Tour - It was very comprehensive - covering a number of sites and locations . Bring comfortable shoes and be prepared for rain. The lunch at handicrafts centre was good. Our personal highlight was the trip to Nara - Deer and Temple. - our only concern was for some older people who chose to stay on the bus at locations where walking was intensive. -

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

holidayhangover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great full day out you see a lot on this tour and still have enough time to linger in places like Nara. Lunch was buffet style and tasty. Our tour guide Seiko pronounced psycho was fun organised and informative, Lots of photo opportunities and the highlight would have to be the deer park. Only downside was head office didn't get back to us about our transfer hotel pick up so had to make our own way to Sunrise Tour Office by bus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

holidayhangover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great full day out you see a lot on this tour and still have enough time to linger in places like Nara. Lunch was buffet style and tasty. Our tour guide Seiko pronounced psycho was fun organised and informative, Lots of photo opportunities and the highlight would have to be the deer park. Only downside was head office didn't get back to us about our transfer hotel pick up so had to make our own way to Sunrise Tour Office by bus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour. Gorgeous scenery, wonderful temples and the Bamboo grove and preceding area are out of this world. A must do and see.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great way to see both Kyoto and Nara in one day. We happened to be there at peak Sakura time and it was just beautiful. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and very polite.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message