It can be challenging trying to keep everyone happy and entertained when traveling with children. We've put together a few ideas and attractions that will help keep the younger members of the family entertained in Kyoto without boring the socks off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 610 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The cultural walking tour was fun and enjoyable and very relaxed and easy while taking in the history and cultural of Buddhist and Shinto temples as well as Gion and history of geishas. Great trip and experience Lulu and assistant were fantastic!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Kirilee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour. They limit the tour to 11 or 12 people, and so you get a really good vibe the entire time. Our tour host Lulu was amazing and very well informed. Wear comfortable shoes to walk in - you will be walking quite far.
Also, just a heads up, the fushimi inari shrine is super busy during the day with tourist. If you want a really beautiful and peaceful experience of it, go back during the evening or I was told very early morning. The shrine doesn't close, and it is well lit all the way to the top.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour - this is a great way to see Nara if you are short on time.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Pauline F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rebecca was an educated, informed and talented guide who I would recommend for anyone. She is an ex English/Japanese teacher who was knowledgeable, informed and fun. Thankyou for the range of activities, back stories and cultural context..... would recommend very highly

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lawrence F H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everyone involved was attentive and kind and thoughtful. I had to use a wheel chair and it was always there.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

davebaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really good tour. Our guide Mari was excellent and informative. Loved Fushimi Inari Shrine although would have liked to have gone to the top but given the length of the tour and other places to go it was not possible. I will return to Japan to complete this. Gion is definitely another highlight and a fascinating insight.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting Tour which included a number of places that you would probably miss, and definitely shouldn't, if you had planned Kyoto yourself :

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Bryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rebecca was extremely knowledgeable, good company and made suggestions regarding entainment that we followed up on and they were as good as she had said. Congratulations!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

ernp1663

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great afternoon tour, if you only have a short period of time in Kyoto. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The Todaiji Temple with the largest Buddha and other guardians were incredible. The massive amounts of deer in the area was equally enjoyable. We must have feed them 5-6 packs of biscuits which you can buy on the premises, as they provided a lot of great photo ops and were friendly to pet. Kasuga shrine was a great experience and were amazed by the sheer volume of the lanterns in the area, as well as more deer roaming freely around. Great Tour.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Dean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guides and Tour - It was very comprehensive - covering a number of sites and locations . Bring comfortable shoes and be prepared for rain. The lunch at handicrafts centre was good. Our personal highlight was the trip to Nara - Deer and Temple. - our only concern was for some older people who chose to stay on the bus at locations where walking was intensive. -

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

holidayhangover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great full day out you see a lot on this tour and still have enough time to linger in places like Nara. Lunch was buffet style and tasty. Our tour guide Seiko pronounced psycho was fun organised and informative, Lots of photo opportunities and the highlight would have to be the deer park. Only downside was head office didn't get back to us about our transfer hotel pick up so had to make our own way to Sunrise Tour Office by bus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

holidayhangover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great full day out you see a lot on this tour and still have enough time to linger in places like Nara. Lunch was buffet style and tasty. Our tour guide Seiko pronounced psycho was fun organised and informative, Lots of photo opportunities and the highlight would have to be the deer park. Only downside was head office didn't get back to us about our transfer hotel pick up so had to make our own way to Sunrise Tour Office by bus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour. Gorgeous scenery, wonderful temples and the Bamboo grove and preceding area are out of this world. A must do and see.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great way to see both Kyoto and Nara in one day. We happened to be there at peak Sakura time and it was just beautiful. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and very polite.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very informative and entertaining tour! The Sakura blossoms were in full bloom and it added to the beauty of the area. Well worth the time and expense of the tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All very memorable and well worth seeing. Take care that the deer are very persistent and you can easily be surrounded and mobbed as long as you have goodies to feed them.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Athena K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The shrine was much more crowded than I expected but our guide, Mari, was wonderful and we enjoyed all of the activities.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I signed up for this tour as part of my free third day activities on the 3-day Mt. Fuji, Kyoto and Nara tour.
The tour was started at New Miyako at 8:45 and I was led to the Kyoto station across the street to board a local train to Arashiyama. It was cherry blossom week and it was very crowded. You would be amazed by some of the sceneries and temples in this region. The tour concluded at 1PM and you would have option to return to Kyoto with tour guide or to explore the city on your own thereafter. This tour is very efficient but you will have to walk through out. I highly recommend this tour especially during the cherry blossom season.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Lynette T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, guide and highly recommended!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Elicia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had great fun on this Day Tour. Our tour guide Yuki is simply fantastic! She is very detail in everything she explains and bothers to guide us how to return to the meeting point. This tour is amazing especially the Nara Park with deers roaming around and those beautiful blooming Sakura trees.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Eleanor Joy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was very informative. Food was yummy. Nara deer were the highlight of this tour. I have recommended this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour to get to know a bit of a Japanese culture. Unlike castles and museums this needs to be witness with real life commentary. Our guide was excellent. Worth the money spent. Definitely recommend - and it's walking - great way to soak in atmosphere of Nara, Gion and Kyoto.
Guide knew what he was talking about, his English was good and tour was well planned. All fees included but the return to Kyoto train station taxi - ca. JPY1,200

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lauraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved this tour, perfect way to find my feet in Kyoto!
Our guide Lulu was warm and engaging and very Smiley and happy to help in anyway.
The pace and size of the tour was great and finishing off in the Gion district at dusk works well for dinner after! We saw 9 Geishas! Only recommendation would be a 20-30 minute stop somewheere for a coffe or beer, all the others in the group felt the same pretty much about that!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Roy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide, Dustin was punctual and got us on the road a little bit later due to non shows. He did however extend the tour to take this into account. He was informative and chatty without over doing us with facts and figures to the extent, you couldn't take it in. He walked at a good pace through the tour and took on questions easily. The tour took us through some of the beautiful areas of Kyoto and we even managed to see a Geysha girl. I would definitely recommend this tour, and Dustin as a tour guide.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message