It can be challenging trying to keep everyone happy and entertained when traveling with children. We've put together a few ideas and attractions that will help keep the younger members of the family entertained in Kyoto without boring the socks off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 563 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brittany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Truly an outstanding way to see major highlights of Kyoto and Nara in a limited amount of time! My only needs improvement comment pertained to the lunch, which was far and away the worst meal of my 10 day stay in Japan cannot remember when I ate worse. Much better to simply let people off the bus in a commercial area with different options for lunch and pay their own way, rather than do the buffet that was offered.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

ALOK K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide. A lot packed in a day, couldn't have done it without a packaged tour. Nara was the best part.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Ella T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly recommend this tour! You could never see and do this much in one day yourself. The guide was very informative - nice buffet lunch. The deer park was a standout with deer roaming around and interacting with people. Amazing shrines too.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Terrin was our guide and he was very knowledgeable! We went to Kyoto on one of the BUSIEST weekends and boy was it busy. It was crowded, everywhere. Terrin was great though, he didn't rush anything, he made sure we got the most out of our time there. I'm kind of sad we only got to see three major places but they were worth it. This is a great tour if you are new to Kyoto and need an introduction.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Mariateresa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide very funny and knowledgeable

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Christopher R P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was American so easy to understand. Very knowledgeable guide. Learned a lot.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

ANDY T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour with Pepijn was very enjoyable.
Very recommended, especially if you only have very limited time like we did.
We wouldn't have been able to see much at all if we had to wonder around by ourselves

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice tour with lots of interesting information. We were in a small group so our tour guide was willing to stop for longer periods in each place. Totally recommended!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Christopher L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing overview of Kyoto. Our tour guide Terrin was outstanding!!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Kyoto one of my favourite places. Gion district Cultural Tour a must for everyone, so much history to see and it shows how the normal Japanese live. Very clean city as is all of Japan. Tour guide absolutely amazing and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Samir H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. A very knowledgeable guide. Message to guide and #39;Thanks for your very useful email, I seem to have accidentally deleted it and so was unable to thank you by replying to it and #39;. - Samir

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rebecca gave us a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Glen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good deal for the price. Worth the day trip to Nara. Casey was my guide he was funny and had great energy.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Elisha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day and a wonderful lunch in the heart of Kyoto. This tour covers a lot of ground that might otherwise be difficult to pack into a day trip yourself. Highly recommended

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Full day tour with knowlegeble and helpful tour guide

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Lolita A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely tour! Mickey was wonderful and friendly and he kept the tour atmosphere light and interesting.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Florence A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good introductory tour to Kyoto. Our guide, Alex, speaks excellent English and is very patient and kind. He is knowledgeable and answered our questions well. Yes, a lot of walking, but the pace is acceptable.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

pinklily1205

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was awesome! Great tour! I recommend highly!!!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

aiochem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip! The temples and shrines were spectacular. The deer park was quite entertaining and along with the the awe inspiring bronze Buddha, were the highlights of the tour. Buy food at the deer park, it makes for some amazing pictures!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Melanie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Took this tour on our first day in Kyoto and it's a really great introduction to this lovely city. Our guide Terin was very engaging and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the afternoon visiting Tofukuji temple, Fushimi Inari shrine and the Gion district. Highly recommended for those visiting Kyoto on limited time.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

finch7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a great afternoon Terin the guide was very informative and friendly.
Terin went out of his way to help everybody even after the tour had ended he still recommended
other places to see and walked us through the narrow streets to show us the way.
Would totally recommend this tour .

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Gerald d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good and awesome experience. Good guide who speaks English really properly! Even saw some Geisha's!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Katherine A Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was perfect if you want to see a lot with limited time. It also worked well when you travel with an older 77 person and a bus will take you from place to place.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We greatly enjoyed this tour- it was much better than we envisioned. Our tour guide was excellent in every way.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Samantha A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It was very well organised and our tour guide Marie was fantastic! She was funny and energetic and had heaps of information to tell us about life in Japan. The sites were amazing, the view from the top of the mt in Hakone were stunning. DO THIS TOUR! Will not disappoint!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message