Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu, and rice – a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and other vegetarians. Before modern refrigeration technology, popular Japanese dishes of raw fish and sushi were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An excellent experience with a wonderful instructor at WAK Japan Women's Association of Kyoto in a 100 year old house. We made a great vegetarian meal of tofu teriyaki that I'm now adding to my at home repertoire and I learned a lot about Japanese cooking and customs.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was exactly the experience we were looking for. From dressing in kimonos, to learning about the history and rituals of the tea ceremony, to experiencing the ceremony itself, it was perfect. My daughter stated that this was her favorite part of our entire trip. It was a great way to immerse ourselves in historical and traditional Japanese culture.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! The host was incredible! Very funny as well! We loved it! Thank you very much!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This cooking class was very well organised and highly enjoyable. Both the tour guide and the host were lovely and it was great to experience cooking in a typical Kyoto kitchen/home. We were encouraged throughout the session to participate in the preparation of every dish made. The host made us feel very welcome in her home and was more than happy for us to take pictures throughout the class and answer our questions.

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour!!
Sensei Kimi was such a wonderful person! Had the best possible tea ceremony and Kimono experience! Absolutely a must try for everyone who wants to know Japanese culture

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We all enjoyed this introduction to the tea ceremony. The host was truely exceptional. We felt truely welcome.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tea ceremony was wonderful. We not only got to experience it, but our teacher took us through the rituals and explanations that really helped explain it and made us appreciate it that much more!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely recommend. Kimonos were gorgeous!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nobu, our guide was very nice. It was an amazing tour.
We enjoy the market tour, sake distillery without a feeling of being rushed.
The cooking class was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

loved this! was a great experience getting dressed up in the kimonos and learning about the Japanese traditional tea ceremony. One of the highlights of the trip. As'ka the host was fantastic!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had the most wonderful experience. Tokomo was our Tea master. What an absolute beautiful person. From the moment we walked through her door, Tokomo made us feel so welcome and explained everything so beautifully. When I left I felt so at peace. Would highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed. We would like to thank Tokomo for her hospitality and friendship

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What an experience, the start was selecting and being dressed in the beautiful Kimono's, my daughter chose a lovely dress and I was given the more formal male style Kimono. The tea ceremony started with a brief history then the demonstration of tea making and what our part was in the acceptance and drinking of the tea. The highlight was we were then allowed to make the tea ourselves. This was a truly authentic Japanese experience and I am so glad we chose it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

If you like Japanese culture and I do, this is a great opportunity to exprience a small portion of that. Great instructors who love what they do. My wife and I went to several more tea ceremony since we like this one so much.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message