Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu, and rice – a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and other vegetarians. Before modern refrigeration technology, popular Japanese dishes of raw fish and sushi were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was much fun experiencing some of the foods of Japan and how they are prepared. Excellent program.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We fell a bit in love with the experiences offered via the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. WAK seeks to share their love of Kyoto and provide hospitality. Our instructor was a delight! She ensured we learned and enjoyed the tea ceremony experience, which was held in a converted home WAK uses for instruction.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We fell a bit in love with the experiences offered via the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. WAK seeks to share their love of Kyoto and provide hospitality. Our instructor was a delight! She ensured we learned and enjoyed the tea ceremony experience, which was held in a converted home WAK uses for instruction.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another fantastic experience w/ the ladies of the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. Tour included the market, an historic tea shop, local craft stores, and sake tasting. Our guide was patient w/ our many questions. Our cooking instructor was attentive, inclusive, and an excellent teacher. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip worth evry cent. The tour guide was well informed about myriad Japanese delicacies on display at the Nishiki market and our small group of eight people. At the sake outlet we tasted quality sakes and ended up buying a bottle for the cooking class. The cooking class gave us hands on experience at sushi-making. Our teacher was very clear in her explanations and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our experience, We will recommend anyone to take this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you like Japanese culture and I do, this is a great opportunity to exprience a small portion of that. Great instructors who love what they do. My wife and I went to several more tea ceremony since we like this one so much.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What an experience, the start was selecting and being dressed in the beautiful Kimono's, my daughter chose a lovely dress and I was given the more formal male style Kimono. The tea ceremony started with a brief history then the demonstration of tea making and what our part was in the acceptance and drinking of the tea. The highlight was we were then allowed to make the tea ourselves. This was a truly authentic Japanese experience and I am so glad we chose it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had the most wonderful experience. Tokomo was our Tea master. What an absolute beautiful person. From the moment we walked through her door, Tokomo made us feel so welcome and explained everything so beautifully. When I left I felt so at peace. Would highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed. We would like to thank Tokomo for her hospitality and friendship

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

loved this! was a great experience getting dressed up in the kimonos and learning about the Japanese traditional tea ceremony. One of the highlights of the trip. As'ka the host was fantastic!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

From beginning to end this was a wonderful afternoon! We met our guide Yoshie at the designated spot and after waiting about 15 minutes for 2 other people who never showed up, we started our tour of the Nishiki covered market! Everywhere we turned, we saw food which we could not identify, but Yoshie answered all our questions in excellent English. She encouraged us to taste various items, some sweets some seaweed, some cakes. She explained the differences in types of rice, tofu, bean curd, tea and more. We munched our way through the colorful market for about an hour. Then, since our feet were tired, we took taxis to the Sake Brewery Museum for a brief tour and explanation of the sake brewery process, but the bulk of the time was a tastings presentation. I never realized there could be so many different nuances in the taste of sake! We loved it so much we bought 2 bottles! Afterwards, Yoshie accompanied us to the mahiya, a traditional wooden town house characterized by black wooden slats in front. There, Yoshie left us in the good hands of Akiko, our teaching chef. The cooking lesson was basic but we had a lot of fun learning the secrets to making miso soup and sushi rice. We were taught how to make tamagoyaki, an omelet in a square pan called a makiyakinabe. Then we used pieces of the tamagoyaki along with pickled vegetable, crab sticks and cucumber to make our very own maki. After cooking , our meal was served to us in a private dining room covered with tatami mats. Akiko poured the tea for us and we feasted on the fruits of our labor! EXCELLENT TOUR ON ALL ACCOUNTS!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful. Small group of 5, 3 of us. Nishiki Market was amazing. Bought items for our cooking class. The WAK, Womens Association of Kyoto are tremendous. So knowledged, gracious and great command of English. Thoroughly enjoyed learning how to make Dashi, Miso, Spinach sakad and course sushi

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was cold and wet but we had a great time. Well worth the trip. Best temple in town.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Katrina L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. It was personalised - just my husband and me - and our guide Yoko was wonderful. Yoko speaks impecable English and she really knew her subject matter. Fushimi Inari Shrine is very different to other Shrines we have seen and is worth seeing, and the brewery museum was really interesting. We sampled and old and new style sake at the museum (my vote is for the old style), and tried 6 different sakes at specialst sake shop. A really great way to spend half a day!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Miata our tour guide was great. We learned a lot.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My daughter and I absolutely loved this tour from the word GO! The Nishiki Market was interesting and fun as our guide shared delicacies from Japan . The walk through town was interesting, and the cooking class was fantastic. We enjoyed making miso soup, Japanese spinach salad, and sushi!! The sake tasting was also a hit. I highly recommend this tour as our guides were informative and fun!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message