Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu, and rice - a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and other vegetarians. Before modern refrigeration technology, popular Japanese dishes of raw fish and sushi were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

esdok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice experience . Place is very near imperial palace . Easy to find.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The teacher and her assistant were both very friendly. A friend and I along with a couple from the UK learned to make some tasty Japanese dishes. A good time was had by all.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Demitrie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although there was a mistake at the start of the tour and we were left behind, when I phoned the tour operator they were very apologetic and searched through the busy Nishiki markets to find us only knowing what colour clothing we were wearing. We were reunited with the tour group and went to the Sake Museum and the Cooking Class. We were generously refunded for the part of the tour we missed.

I highly recommend this tour operator. Although there was a mistake with the booking they did all that they could to reunite us with the tour group. The Cooking Class was a great experience.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Alison I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a totally awesome activity. My adult children was quite unimpressed when first hearing about doing this, but when they were immersed in the activity they really enjoyed every aspect of the program. I was impressed by the knowledge and ease in which the instructor was able to communicate with us and how welcoming and helpful the staff was with us. Great program and will plan to do the cooking class when visiting Kyoto again.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Kate S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a good tour. The guide was really friendly and informative. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

RONALD M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were looking for a tour that offered a cultural experience of Japan and felt this tour experience looked to meet what we were seeking. We began with a tour of the Nishiki Market. Our tour guide Yosie, was excellent and knowledgeable about the foods and products available at the market. She taught us how to ask in Japanese for items to be used in our cooking class. Thie tour enabled us to see products and vendors we wanted to spend more time visiting. We were able to return to the market for shopping the next day to visit some of the vendors we wanted to spend more time shopping.
We then walked to the sake tasting. Since Yosie had been educated on sake brewing, she was able to share interesting insights about the sake and brewing process.The highlight was to taste the sakes and beer .
Our next stop was the machiya, where the cooking class would take place. Mieko was our teaching chef, who walked us through preparing miso soup, spinach salad with roasted sesame seed dressing, and maki sushi. We watched demonstrations and took part in some of the cutting and assembly. The result was a delicious dinner.
A couple notes for the experience. The directions to meet our guide were not provided and required calling the listed number for questions. Second, there is a bit of walking through out the tour sidewalk walking that might be difficult for some.
The entire experience was excellent and we recommend it for anyone.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Rachael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a fantastic time during the Tea Ceremony with Kimono. I was feeling sick and our host made sure I was comfortable at all times. She spoke fantastic English which made the ceremony even better. It was a great authentic cultural experience which I would recommend to all.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

JOSE MARIA M Andorra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

it was, simply, a spiritual and peaceful experience. The Tea master was very sympathetic with us and showed a great skill on the Tea Ceremony Art

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

mscitygirl88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Megan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Learned a lot about making sushi as well as other items. Very personable.

Doing what: Kyoto Sushi-Making Class

Stefanie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fantastic experience. It was great to get such an insight into Japanese culture. I would recommend wearing the Kimono too! Great for tea lovers and those interested in Japanese culture. Very friendly staff also.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Maria P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful hostess, loads of info. We highly recommend anyone travelling to Japan to do a Tea ceremony

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Laura N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was amazing! The women were so sweet and knowledgeable and spoke English well. It was very interactive. I would 100% recommend this tour and the company.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The best part of the trip was the experience of Private Sushi and Tempura making in a local home. The hosts who welcomed us in their home were amazing, so sweet and gave us the best part of Japan...the people...It was a spectacular and amazing event and memory for a lifetime. It truly was worth every penny to spend time in a local home with a local of Kyoto...it is the only true way to get to know a place is in a person's home. I cannot say enough of what a blessed experience this was. Thank you Viator for making it possible. I have been on several tours of yours in several countries and you do not disappoint.

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

Katherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My daughters and I were the only attendees for the tea ceremony that day. We learned a lot!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I took this tour with Yoshie in August. This was a great day, and Yoshie was an excellent guide. At the Fushimi Inari shrine, she talked us thriugh many of the traditions and rituals,,as well as the shrine's history and cultural significance, which really elevated the experience for us as compared to other shrines we visited on our own in Kyoto. She also walked us through the sake-making and -tasting process and told us some great stories about the sake brewing district of Kyoto. She kept us on schedule without any stress or fuss, had a great sense of humor, and was obviously incredibly knowledgeable about the subjects of the tour. I would highly recommend this tour to others!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This class was a delight. My octogenarian instructor was surprised and thrilled that a student from the United States had heard of dashi, bonito, miso paste, and mirin. Her enthusiasm was infection. The lesson was short but it was a good foundation in Japanese cooking. I learned a lot and I enjoyed eating what I cooked I chose the vegetarian option, with fried tofu, salad and miso soup, since it was different than the food I was eating in restaurants. The WAC center is in a beautiful tradition home in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Dea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome experience. We got to experience a real authentic ceremony and wear the kimonos. The staff was so helpful and kind. They explained any questions we had. It was a really great experience. i highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Gustavo B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. We had a lovely time and it was a very intimate setting. She was very knowledgeable and thorough during the ceremony.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The setting was lovely, the tutors, Meiko and Yoko, were clear and kind and the teaching was direct enough to learn from but hands on enough to feel as though we were having a real go at it.
The eating part afterwards was very elegant and pleasant.
The tutors were thoughtful enough to have small stools to sit on as westerners are so after uncomfortable at the very low tables. A recipe book was provided for us to use in the future.

Doing what: Kyoto Sushi-Making Class

edwina f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our vegetarian cooking class at WAK was great. Out tutor's English was excellent - she was interested and interesting. We also learned a lot about Japanese cooking in a short amount of time...and then got to eat the results! A fun and informative morning

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Doru A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting tour, even for men. The guide takes you to the market to get the components for making sushi. Then, you go to this house where the teach you how to make a perfect sushi. After that you eat your own masterpiece. It was great!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Our tour guide was great and gave us some interesting information. The Fushimi Inari is very scenic with an interesting history. Loved the sake tasting and museum tour. A great half-day tour.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Marjorie T B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour through the Nishiki market was great, discovering the various types of preserved vegetables and fish was interesting and fun to look at. The artistry and creativity of the candies and all the foods was amazing. Our sake tasting was very educational and well done. The cooking class was so much fun and Yayoi did a fantastic job teaching us how to make miso soup, a delicious sesame dressing for our spinach salad and the trick to making rolled sushi. A big highlight for our family of 4! Domo Arigato Gozaimashta!!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Allison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I LOVED this tour! My husband and I ended up being the only ones on our particular tour, but that actually worked out great! Our tour guide was fantastic and I learned so much about the history of the market and the things we were buying. It was fun to pick out ingredients and ask for them in Japanese. The sake tasting was a lot of fun, too, and it was even cooler to see the historic area where it was made.

The cooking lesson really topped it off for me, though I had a great time! I already really love to cook, and I had tried a few things already with minimal success. Our teacher was really nice, and was able to show me how do things better or more neatly. I really can't wait to try cook everything at home. Dessert was new for me---vanilla ice cream with dark brown sugar syrup and soybean flour on top---but it might just be my new favorite.

All in all, I can't recommend this tour highly enough. I loved every minute, and hope that you will too! This tour company is amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message