Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu, and rice – a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and other vegetarians. Before modern refrigeration technology, popular Japanese dishes of raw fish and sushi were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tea ceremony was wonderful. We not only got to experience it, but our teacher took us through the rituals and explanations that really helped explain it and made us appreciate it that much more!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely recommend. Kimonos were gorgeous!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nobu, our guide was very nice. It was an amazing tour.
We enjoy the market tour, sake distillery without a feeling of being rushed.
The cooking class was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

loved this! was a great experience getting dressed up in the kimonos and learning about the Japanese traditional tea ceremony. One of the highlights of the trip. As'ka the host was fantastic!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had the most wonderful experience. Tokomo was our Tea master. What an absolute beautiful person. From the moment we walked through her door, Tokomo made us feel so welcome and explained everything so beautifully. When I left I felt so at peace. Would highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed. We would like to thank Tokomo for her hospitality and friendship

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What an experience, the start was selecting and being dressed in the beautiful Kimono's, my daughter chose a lovely dress and I was given the more formal male style Kimono. The tea ceremony started with a brief history then the demonstration of tea making and what our part was in the acceptance and drinking of the tea. The highlight was we were then allowed to make the tea ourselves. This was a truly authentic Japanese experience and I am so glad we chose it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

If you like Japanese culture and I do, this is a great opportunity to exprience a small portion of that. Great instructors who love what they do. My wife and I went to several more tea ceremony since we like this one so much.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We fell a bit in love with the experiences offered via the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. WAK seeks to share their love of Kyoto and provide hospitality. Our instructor was a delight! She ensured we learned and enjoyed the tea ceremony experience, which was held in a converted home WAK uses for instruction.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

THIS WAS A GREAT ADVENTURE. THE ONLY ISUE WE HAD WAS LOCATING THE TOUR GUIDE IN THE BEGINNING. WE HAD A BLAST IN THE MARKET AND THE COOKING CLASS WAS FUN TOO. THE COOK BOOK WAS AN EXTRA BONUS. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO OTHERS!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Good English speaking guide for the walk throufh market with many intresting facts about the market and foods, very nice tradiational home and setup for cooking class, a very good experience

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This class was one of the highlights of our trip to Japan. The instructor was lovely and very knowledgeable and the food we made was fantastic. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Kyoto Sushi-Making Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Was really good, learned a lot, and got to indulge in some awesome sake, now I know a good sake to a bad ones! Would recommend.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nobu our guide was nice and helpful, good English ! The walk through the market a wonderful experience. Then the brewery was Ok, a pity is not a working one but the sake tasting was good. And then the cooking was so much fun!!! We shared with a charming Vietnamese girl. We learned and had fun !!!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We arrived early, as we were unsure about the location. Our instructor accommodated us and began the class 30 minutes earlier than planned. She was warm, and helpful, and encouraged us to participate in all the cooking. It was not a formal class in a learning kitchen, but in a personal kitchen with everyday utensils and cooking containers.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message