Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu, and rice - a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and other vegetarians. Before modern refrigeration technology, popular Japanese dishes of raw fish and sushi were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I LOVED this tour! My husband and I ended up being the only ones on our particular tour, but that actually worked out great! Our tour guide was fantastic and I learned so much about the history of the market and the things we were buying. It was fun to pick out ingredients and ask for them in Japanese. The sake tasting was a lot of fun, too, and it was even cooler to see the historic area where it was made.

The cooking lesson really topped it off for me, though I had a great time! I already really love to cook, and I had tried a few things already with minimal success. Our teacher was really nice, and was able to show me how do things better or more neatly. I really can't wait to try cook everything at home. Dessert was new for me---vanilla ice cream with dark brown sugar syrup and soybean flour on top---but it might just be my new favorite.

All in all, I can't recommend this tour highly enough. I loved every minute, and hope that you will too! This tour company is amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My family went on this tour in June. We had a great time.
The first half is a tour of the market -- great explanations of the products on sale there.
A lot of stuff is different than what it appears. The second half was cooking and eating a meal using what we had bought in the market. Really well done and worth the time and money.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This sushi making class was the first thing my wife and I did while in Kyoto and definitely was one of the highlights of our trip. The building was easy enough to get to. A short subway ride from the main Kyoto station and then a few block walk through some back streets. Our host Yumiko Ueda was wonderful. She was very easy to talk to and knowledgeable regarding Japanese cuisine and I tend to ask a lot of questions. We really enjoyed learning about exactly what we were making. The picture in this booking matched our meal to a tee. We also received a Japanese home cooking pamphlet so we could try other Japanese recipes on our own when we got home. We truly loved our cooking experience with Yumiko Ueda and would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Sushi-Making Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour ! Our guide was wonderful and the cooking class was fun and delicious ! Truly a highlight to get to know the city and its culture with a wonderful guide and two funny, kind cooking instructors whose lessons help support female entrepreneurs ! who helped me and my dad make a delicious meal :

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Tomoko and her assistant Rita were excellent. First the basics. The meeting place was easy to find, the train transportation went smoothly, and they were both helpful with taking pictures. The mix of history, culture and sake tasting was just what we were looking for. Fushimi Inari Shrine is beautiful and Tomoko helped direct us to several spots off the beaten path that were less busy and allowed us to see the true magic of the site. But even more important Tomoko is an International Kikisaki-shi sake sommelier! Her knowledge of sake, food pairings and what makes good vs. great sake is wonderful. She provided us with materials on sake types and parings that I have kept to help guide my purchases back home. The tasting done in a regular liquor store, not a tourist trap included both aged sake and unpasteurized sake neither of which are really available outside of Japan. We bought two bottles of sake but there was no pressure to do so. Thank you to the tour company, Tomoko, and Rita for a wonderful Kyoto experience.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a lovely way to pass an hour and half learning about the Japanese history of the tea ceremony. Our host was charming and very knowledgeable - we felt we honoured to spend time with her - and loved our kimonos !

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great food, great instruction.

Top marks.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour company offers a very good service value for money. They were very professional and adapted to our special needs. Our Tea Master was very kind and knowledgeable. I recommend it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If interested in really experiencing culture of Japan, this tour is not to be missed. Machiko, our instructor took us through step-by-step how to make chicken teriyaki, as well as other accompanying dishes, was terrific and both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed making our own lunch in an authentic Japanese kitchen with all the correct ingredients. We not only enjoyed eating it all but also received a recipe booklet to take away so we can make it and other dishes ourselves at home. Yum!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must do tour! We were lucky enough to be the only two on this tour, with a guide who spoke excellent English. Fushimi Inari is a fascinating place, and our guide explained all the customs and traditions as we wandered through. Afterwards to the Sake Brewery museum and store with plenty of tastings was a nice way to finish off the tour - then back to Kyoto station again by train.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An excellent experience with a wonderful instructor at WAK Japan Women's Association of Kyoto in a 100 year old house. We made a great vegetarian meal of tofu teriyaki that I'm now adding to my at home repertoire and I learned a lot about Japanese cooking and customs.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was exactly the experience we were looking for. From dressing in kimonos, to learning about the history and rituals of the tea ceremony, to experiencing the ceremony itself, it was perfect. My daughter stated that this was her favorite part of our entire trip. It was a great way to immerse ourselves in historical and traditional Japanese culture.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! The host was incredible! Very funny as well! We loved it! Thank you very much!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This cooking class was very well organised and highly enjoyable. Both the tour guide and the host were lovely and it was great to experience cooking in a typical Kyoto kitchen/home. We were encouraged throughout the session to participate in the preparation of every dish made. The host made us feel very welcome in her home and was more than happy for us to take pictures throughout the class and answer our questions.

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour!!
Sensei Kimi was such a wonderful person! Had the best possible tea ceremony and Kimono experience! Absolutely a must try for everyone who wants to know Japanese culture

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We all enjoyed this introduction to the tea ceremony. The host was truely exceptional. We felt truely welcome.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tea ceremony was wonderful. We not only got to experience it, but our teacher took us through the rituals and explanations that really helped explain it and made us appreciate it that much more!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely recommend. Kimonos were gorgeous!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nobu, our guide was very nice. It was an amazing tour.
We enjoy the market tour, sake distillery without a feeling of being rushed.
The cooking class was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

loved this! was a great experience getting dressed up in the kimonos and learning about the Japanese traditional tea ceremony. One of the highlights of the trip. As'ka the host was fantastic!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had the most wonderful experience. Tokomo was our Tea master. What an absolute beautiful person. From the moment we walked through her door, Tokomo made us feel so welcome and explained everything so beautifully. When I left I felt so at peace. Would highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed. We would like to thank Tokomo for her hospitality and friendship

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message