• USD ($)
  • English
Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu, and rice – a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and other vegetarians. Before modern refrigeration technology, popular Japanese dishes of raw fish and sushi were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful. Small group of 5, 3 of us. Nishiki Market was amazing. Bought items for our cooking class. The WAK, Womens Association of Kyoto are tremendous. So knowledged, gracious and great command of English. Thoroughly enjoyed learning how to make Dashi, Miso, Spinach sakad and course sushi

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was cold and wet but we had a great time. Well worth the trip. Best temple in town.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Katrina L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. It was personalised - just my husband and me - and our guide Yoko was wonderful. Yoko speaks impecable English and she really knew her subject matter. Fushimi Inari Shrine is very different to other Shrines we have seen and is worth seeing, and the brewery museum was really interesting. We sampled and old and new style sake at the museum (my vote is for the old style), and tried 6 different sakes at specialst sake shop. A really great way to spend half a day!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Miata our tour guide was great. We learned a lot.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My daughter and I absolutely loved this tour from the word GO! The Nishiki Market was interesting and fun as our guide shared delicacies from Japan . The walk through town was interesting, and the cooking class was fantastic. We enjoyed making miso soup, Japanese spinach salad, and sushi!! The sake tasting was also a hit. I highly recommend this tour as our guides were informative and fun!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Outstanding! Our tour guide, Mieko, made it a first class experience. She went out of her way to cater to our interests and spent extra time with us, allowing us to enjoy the sights at our own pace, take all the time we needed for photographs, and relax with a wonderful sake tasting. A highlight!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great experience exploring the tastes and sights of both the high-end and street markets. The Sake museum was interesting and the cooking of a meal in traditional style and then enjoying eating it together was a great way to introduce yourself to some of the culture and tastes of Japan.
Enjoyable and worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tout était parfait. L'accueil était chaleureux et les cours bien préparés. À faire absolument !

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Had a fantastic time even though we were the only ones on the tour. Yoko was great and we learned quite a bit-would really suggest this tour it was definitely a good time!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very interesting way to be involved in the culture, shopping, cooking and sampling the local food and drink. Hiro and Mieko, our guides were great.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

You can learn a lot from a country from it's food and from this point of view, this tour is a window into Japanese culture that would be hard to look through in any other way. The first part ofthe tour in the Nishiki Food Market provided an eye openning expereince to the diversity of Japanese food, not only for the beginner, but for the more experienced foodie. There was plenty of time to check out all of the stalls, and the guide for this part of the tour was extremely knowledgeable and could talk about all of the types of foods in any detail that you would like. Absolutely incredible variety, with plenty of opportunities to taste great food, including extreme food tasting for the adventuresome!

The second part of the tour involved a visit to a saki brewery followed by an introduction to sake with tastings. I wasn't sure waht to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The cooking part of the tour was expertly done and I won't tell you what we cooked and ate as i don't want to spoil it for you, but just to say, that I learned so much and had a great time. There were some in the group who were not so experienced cooks, but there was no pressure and everyone really enjoyed it. A wonderful way to spend an afternoon with insights into Japan that would be otherwise hard to come by.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My guide was amazing, friendly, and a lot of fun to hang out with. I was the only person on the tour, so we became fast friends,

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

I was a little concerned with booking a tour online with a website I hadn't used before. But the guide was amazing, the tour was everything it said it was and I LOVED IT. My guide even taught me some Japanese words. Don't worry and just book it - you'll have a fabulous day.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Was an awesome afternoon. We were the only people on the tour!!! We got to see what we wanted and learnt so much about Japanese culture, food, drink and how to cook it. To top it off once we had done our cooking we had dinner with our teachers. We felt part of the family. We would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to experience a little of the culture once you have seen all the sights!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

GREAT TOUR! We were the only ones on it so we had a private tour. All the tour leaders are Japanese women who have a lot of knowledge about the traditional culture. I was really impressed by the temple, it has hundreds of red temple gates making a kind of tunnel...I was kind of over temples but this was a highlight. Sake tasting was really fun and the brewery was cool and included a museum type thing.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message