Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu, and rice - a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and other vegetarians. Before modern refrigeration technology, popular Japanese dishes of raw fish and sushi were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very fun! Was nice to learn a little more about Japan's cooking styles.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

robinghammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We'll never forget it, and I can't imagine an activity that can bring a foreigner closer to the Japanese.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Heather V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience, with a lot of fascinating information

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

dobrolioubov

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing experience. A great mixture of seeing a must-see shrine, learning about culture and religion, gaining a perspective on sake brewing, and topping off with a sake tasting session that didn't lack in variety and left you feeling great.
Yoko Akamizu was our guide and she was easily the nicest person that we've come across in Japan. She went above and beyond with teaching about the country and even helped us buy baseball tickets online.
I only wish that we would've taken this tour at the start of our trip because we had so much more appreciation for everything we saw afterwards.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

baskalina c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Was one of the highlights of our trip. The guide and the cooking teacher were great. Looking forward to trying out the recipes we learnt.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Stephanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Though it rained pretty bad my trip was awesome! Our guide was very knowledgeable and polite in helping us and answering any of our questions.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

alerica2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really loved this tour and our tour guide. She provided lots of information and answered all our questions. We had plenty of time to explore the areas on the schedule for this tour. Highly recommend to do if visiting Kyoto!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

jeremy.tang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My partner and I attended the two hour tea ceremony session with a tea master. They got us dressed in kimonos and were able to take traditional photos in a zen garden. We then participated in the tea ceremony learning the proper etiquette of servicing and receiving matcha. This was a great experience.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guides were great. Very enjoyable overall. A great way to see local Kyoto plus sake tasting plus learning to make sushi!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

jason h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

didn't know what to expect, but had and amazing experience with Tea Master Seiko She was wonderfully hilarious. Learned a lot about the customs, culture, and intricate details of making tea properly. Did not know that there was a lot of meaning attributed to a simple task of making tea. From demonstration, to having you experience it yourself. It was a pure highlight of my trip.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Milena P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was wonderful experience with a kimono wearing and explanation about the meaning and traditions for tea ceremony.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Shannon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Dont miss out! On previous trips I have been to shrines and temples without a tour guide and I totally regretted it. So when planning my trip to Japan - I would this tour and jumped on it. You should too - you wont regret it! Our tour guide - Yoshie - was amazing. She spoke perfect English and had so much knowledge about not only the shrine and sake, but also Kyoto in general, Japan foods and culture in general. It was like spending the day with a friend. Dont miss out and request Yoshie if you can!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sitting on your knees on a tatami mat is not the most comfortable, but a small price to pay for participating in a tea ceremony. It as fascinating to learn how each movement has meaning and Kaori was beautiful to watch. Take the opportunity like I did to make a cup of tea. Definately worth it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Marise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this tour. The people were very helpful and lovely. My daughter and I had a fantastic time

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

martinko09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to get to know a typical household and connect with the chef/teacher. This experience was more about getting to know the chef/teacher and eating an amazing home cooked meal. A recipe book and a few small gifts were given at the end to make sure I knew how to cook everything again!

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

Karyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We travelled as a group of 6 adults aged between 19-53 on this wonderfully engaging and interactive tour. Although it went for several hours we were sad to say goodbye. We had knowledgeable women walk us around the back blocks of Kyoto proudly showing us their markets, their special foods, their magnificient department store produce, then a very interesting insight and educational session on the making of sake and finally a delicious dinner partly prepared by our group pf 12 but under the expert guidance and care of the most beautiful ,humble and gentle Kyoto women. Sensational!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Samantha R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing! Seiko-san was very knowledgeable about the history of Tea Ceremony in Japan and we learned a lot! My fiance and I have wanted to go to Japan for a long time and this experience was 100 worthwhile. We were even able to try making our own tea! The entire staff was kind and generous - we felt like we were visiting lifelong friends! I highly suggest this tour to get a taste of real historical Japanese culture to appreciate the society as a whole - it is amazing how much tea ceremonies impacted history and Japanese politics. We plan to go back when we return to Japan in the future!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

hossai_collins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was great, we really enjoyed it as it was quite educational, the food was delicious, everyone involved were lovely and they also spoke fluent English!!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this. With just 4 people it was nice and intimate. We were taken through streets we hadn and #39;t seen and learnt a lot about Japanese food and cuisine. A few samples of different items down the markets was also a plus. Great guide, great cooking teacher. Overall a fun experience

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Kristen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our host was the best!! She made the whole experience great. We loved every minute of it. She should get a raise!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Karin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My partner and I spent three days in Kyoto on our first trip to Japan, and booked in advance to attend a 90 minute 'obanzai' cooking class at WAK Japan. It was amazing. Obanzai refers to Japanese home cooking and we were gently guided through several recipes, ending up with a delicious and picturesque lunch. The recipes were surprisingly simple and we're already cooking them at home. Our teacher Akiko also recommended the local markets so we walked there afterwards to check out the ingredients and cooking implements for sale. Definitely recommended. It was an excellent experience.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

esdok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice experience . Place is very near imperial palace . Easy to find.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The teacher and her assistant were both very friendly. A friend and I along with a couple from the UK learned to make some tasty Japanese dishes. A good time was had by all.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Demitrie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although there was a mistake at the start of the tour and we were left behind, when I phoned the tour operator they were very apologetic and searched through the busy Nishiki markets to find us only knowing what colour clothing we were wearing. We were reunited with the tour group and went to the Sake Museum and the Cooking Class. We were generously refunded for the part of the tour we missed.

I highly recommend this tour operator. Although there was a mistake with the booking they did all that they could to reunite us with the tour group. The Cooking Class was a great experience.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message