Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Easy way to see the Nara highlights while saving yourself the hassle or to'ing and fro'ing on your own from Kyoto. Our guide was lovely and the Todaiji Temple was truly impressive!

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was quite a busy and full on day, not helped by the heat in Kyoto on this day! The trip to Nijo Castle was highly informative and interesting, but the icing on the cake was the trip to visit the deer in Nara! There is a huge temple which we took the time to be shown around, but feeding the deer and getting them to bow to you was loads of fun.
You can buy deer biscuits for 100 yen, which contain natural ingredients and made me feel much better about feeding them.
It was a long day, probably not advisable for young children as there was a fair amount of walking involved but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Even though Kyoto itself has a lot to offer to last for years of temple-viewing, visiting Nara was a refreshing and unique experience that was totally worth the trip. Lunch was great and the temples in Nara were pretty amazing. The tour guides both in Kyoto and in Nara were great at explaining the surroundings, context and history. I'm glad to have taken this tour.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic. Nara was beautiful ...just as i expected Japan to be. The visit to the Shrine, Temple and Deer Park were all worthwhile.

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I was happy to be able to visit all the major spots in Kyoto and Nara in one day.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice tour. The Kyoto morning tour was very informative and hospitable. I actually enjoyed the tour despite the heavy rain. After that we were dropped off on the first restaurant for the transfer for the Nara afternoon tour. The tour guide, Ms. Itsuko, was very enthusiastic in delivering the tour from Todaiji to the Kasuga Shrine. Sunrise tours also dropped us off at our hotels. Plus points for customer service.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yumi our guide in the morning was AWESOME!!!! Great morning!!!! The afternoon to Nara was incredible!!! Lunch was ok. Great tour.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My sister and I took the full day Kyoto and Nara trip, and it fulfilled all our expectations. The guide was knowledgeable and very helpful, the sights included were beautiful, and as a bonus, lunch was absolutely delicious. Nara was the highlight - what a gem! Our only criticism was that some of the seat belts on the bus weren't working - ours included - and no real effort was made to rectify this. Otherwise, it was a brilliant day.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Outstanding tour - fantastic way to experience Nara as an afternoon adventure

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent to both the Kyoto sights and Nara. Our morning and afternoon guides were very knowledgable, pleasant and responsible to keeping our group together.
Only downside was lack of time in Nara. I really felt rushed. On looking back we should have separated from the group and wandered on our own.
Over all the tour was great and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed the Kyoto and Nara One day tour, the pace was not too fast and we were able to visit all the places by the recommended time. The tour guides were local Japanese who can speak good English. The lunch provided was of good quality and we are happy about the service we received.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great day tour. don't miss Nara!

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of our most fascinating tours we took in Japan. Nara is an interesting, historical, place and the tour makes the trip easy and enjoyable. The guides were great and gave us a fabulous commentary on the background of the places we visited, as well as the historical perspective. The lunch was not great, but tolerable. The trip was well planned and very comfortable. A must in Kyoto.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour was exceptional and Nara is a must see!

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend! We saw so much in one day and such great sights. This tour is actually two tours combined with lunch in the middle (Kyoto morning tour and Nara afternoon tour). Our morning tour guide was amazing. So much fun and knowledgeable. The Deers are the highlight - amazing - they bow to you and you can feed them biscuits that you purchase for approx $1.50. Great day!

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very good tour for the afternoon if you don't want to visit Nara by your own. All 3 most important places in Nara will be visited.
Good and comfortable busses and pleasant tour guides. Start from hotel, opposite of Kyoto railway station, is very convenient.
I recommend if you have half a day free

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, all of it is worth it, maybe needs a bit extra free time in Nara to enjoy the deer feeding and being nudged and even bitten by them.

Doing what: Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great experience touring Kyoto and Nara in one day. The value of having a tour guide is realized when you compare yourself with other guests without tour guide - they don't get to understand what the signs and symbols are of each tourist spot.

It will be cheaper if you take the train from Osaka to Kyoto by yourself and just meet up with the rest of the tourists in the hotel. Lunch was OK, just enough to re-energize you from the morning's tour. It takes about 1.5 hours to travel from Kyoto to Nara, but the experience of seeing deer in the streets was worthwhile.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Stunning temples, shrines and castles. A great way to see the highlights of Kyoto and Nara in one day. Our guide knew her stuff and was very entertaining. A fantastic trip that I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Morning trip to Kyoto was great....afternoon trip to Nara...the lady guide spoke too much...the trip did not give us time to dhop

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

NARAT C.
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good for briefly trip for Kyoto and Nara in 1 day. Guides were terrific.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting places, good air-conditioned bus, good meal and very knowledgable English-speaking guide. Happy that I combined it with Nara trip, it added some variety with a deer park.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It's really educational and what wow an eye opener! Our guides Mickey and another lady (sorry can't remember her name who took us on our afternoon tour to Nara on 16th Aug) were knowledgeable and could answer any questions the participants had thrown to them.. Great job guys!

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My husband and I had a great time in this tour. The tour company assigned two tour guides to this tour, one guide for Kyoto and the other guide for Nara. The guide for Nara was an old Japanese man who was the most funny guide I have ever met in a tour. He showed us around Nara National Park to see deers bowing at us. He also shared with us some of his funny jokes. He told us that no Japanese residents have private pools in their backyards. One time he flew to Australia on a plane. From the plane, he saw lots of "fish ponds" in backyards in Australia and he couldn't understand why Australian like "fish ponds" that much. Later he realised that those "fish ponds" were swimming pools. The tour guide also told us that Japan has a large number of population. Japanese government exports electronic products and food to Australia and Canada, why the government does not export people to those countries since they have low population compared to Japan. Every guest on the bus really enjoyed the humor of the tour guide. We all had a great time in this tour.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

For an all-day tour this is definitely something you should look into. Kyoto and Nara have a lot of places to see and this tour lets you see all the major sites.

The tour guides were happy to answer any questions and were very informative.

The only draw-back was that I wish we had spent more time in some places rather than others (we only spent about 20 minutes at the Golden Pavilion).

Overall I was very pleased. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Best Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message