Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour with expert guides. The places we visited were so beautiful! They picked up at our hotel and drop off at the end! We strongly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour! The tour guides were very informative!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Morning Kyoto tour was average, a bit rushed. But the afternoon Nara trip was great.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Japanese castles are always worth a visit and this was no exception.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Its a good trip, didnt like the lunch place. But everything else was good

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Another great tour out of Kyoto. The temples are amazing. Tour was great. You are able to see a lot in a limited amount of time.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great day! All the arrangements were handled very efficiently. The tour guides spoke good English and were very knowledgable. We fit in a lot more than we could have on our own. At the end of the day as we were returning to Kyoto, the guide took the trouble to speak to each of us and find out if there was anything else we'd like him to talk about. I was interested in learning more about life generally in Japan and the impact of the current economic climate. He provided excellent insights. Thank you!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend! We saw so much in one day and such great sights. This tour is actually two tours combined with lunch in the middle (Kyoto morning tour and Nara afternoon tour). Our morning tour guide was amazing. So much fun and knowledgeable. The Deers are the highlight - amazing - they bow to you and you can feed them biscuits that you purchase for approx $1.50. Great day!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed the tour guide, and my favorite was being up close with deers. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding temple with large statue of Buddah and a Lantern Shrine. Much better than the temples and shrines we saw in Kyoto. Worth the drive.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour was exceptional and Nara is a must see!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour was exceptional and Nara is a must see!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guides are very funny and knowledgable. We had a great time!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message