Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 286 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My sister and I took the full day Kyoto and Nara trip, and it fulfilled all our expectations. The guide was knowledgeable and very helpful, the sights included were beautiful, and as a bonus, lunch was absolutely delicious. Nara was the highlight - what a gem! Our only criticism was that some of the seat belts on the bus weren't working - ours included - and no real effort was made to rectify this. Otherwise, it was a brilliant day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Alan
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a wet day on the day of my tour, so all the outdoor portion of it was not that enjoyable. Overall still a very knowledgeable one for the family.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

First Class experience. Faultless.

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide named Casey. The Zen Garden and Deer Park were really cool!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. It was a great way to see the major sites with my limited time frame. Both the Kyoto and Nara tour guides were friendly, knowledgeable, and entertaining. The only drawback was the deer park in Nara, where I was nipped by the deer. A warning would have been appreciated!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was a great way to see both Kyoto and Nara. We would definitely recommend the tour as they will take you to all the main tourist sights in a day. Be prepared to do a lot of walking :. This tour also saves you the trouble of find your own way there, so if you are pressed for time and want to experience Japan you can do it all in one day. The temples were amazing as expected and was a very memorable trip for us.

The only feedback that we have, and yes the guides were very knowledgeable in their information and their English was great is that because the groups were large we felt that we could not get the full insight of each of the temples and history because of it. It would have been more valuable if the group was smaller maybe smaller van size vs a bus full of people so we could hear the guides and the history. Nevertheless it was a great tour and we would recommend it to others.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was awesome me and my wife had a great time. Our tour guide was very nice and very informative we enjoyed every moment. Wish we could have stayed longer but will defiantly plan another trip.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Outstanding tour - fantastic way to experience Nara as an afternoon adventure

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great tour for 1st time visitors to Kyoto! Everything is all planned out for you and can just enjoy all the places they take you to! Our guide Yuki was very sweet, patient, and knowledgeable. We had a large group in the morning Kyoto trip and a smaller quaint group of 12 in the Nara afternoon group. It was difficult to hear her in the morning group unless you were standing right next to her, but the afternoon tour was nice and personable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A wonderful tour that featured the two main religions in Japan - Buddhism and Shintoism. The visit to the two different temples were very insightful and awe inspiring, especially the Buddhist temple with the giant Buddha statue set in a park with free roaming deers that you can feed and take photos with!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour. But be careful about the deers. They eat everything!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The lunch was awful and the location of the lunch was very poor. The brochure called for a hotel pickup and drop-off and it was not provided. Leaving out the Imperial Palace was unfortunate.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message