Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 270 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent to both the Kyoto sights and Nara. Our morning and afternoon guides were very knowledgable, pleasant and responsible to keeping our group together.
Only downside was lack of time in Nara. I really felt rushed. On looking back we should have separated from the group and wandered on our own.
Over all the tour was great and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

two different guides for each area both with good English and a goos sense of humour, slighlty rushed to get to see everything, but really worth it

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed the Kyoto and Nara One day tour, the pace was not too fast and we were able to visit all the places by the recommended time. The tour guides were local Japanese who can speak good English. The lunch provided was of good quality and we are happy about the service we received.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic afternoon tour We had a wonderful guide-- entertaining and informative

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was excellent, the rest is just weather! :)

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Tour was good, to little time in each place though. Would recommend though.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke of many details about the history behind the places we visited, including helpful hints and logistics on how to get to places efficiently. Tour was at a nice pace, unlike the one day tour to Mt. Fuji. We didn't cover the Inari Shrine. So be sure to see it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tourguide and the only chance to see Imperial palace to be on the safe site

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour; enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip. Todaiji Temple is spectacular. Kasuga Shrine is OK. On the whole, a great afternoon. As first time visitors to Kyoto area we enjoyed this. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour was in two halves - morning was good, guide had excellent English. Lunch was confusing, in a restaurant where none of the staff had any English - a guide should have been there to assist with ordering drinks and sorting out problems.

Afternoon tour was with a different guide (why? our first guide did the same tour but on a different bus).

Overall a good day, could have been better

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great well informed tour guide. Good humor. A bit rush.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message