Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 274 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent to both the Kyoto sights and Nara. Our morning and afternoon guides were very knowledgable, pleasant and responsible to keeping our group together.
Only downside was lack of time in Nara. I really felt rushed. On looking back we should have separated from the group and wandered on our own.
Over all the tour was great and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

two different guides for each area both with good English and a goos sense of humour, slighlty rushed to get to see everything, but really worth it

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed the Kyoto and Nara One day tour, the pace was not too fast and we were able to visit all the places by the recommended time. The tour guides were local Japanese who can speak good English. The lunch provided was of good quality and we are happy about the service we received.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic afternoon tour We had a wonderful guide-- entertaining and informative

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was excellent, the rest is just weather! :)

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Miko and Yoishi were fantastic tour guides.

Our tour was on Tuesday - Nijo Castle is closed on Tuesdays - so they substituted it with a trip to the Ryoanji temple. It worked out perfectly (Nijo Castle is relatively easy to find on our own because it was on 2nd street and Kyoto is a grid) because Ryoanji is actually harder to get to. So it was almost like a bonus.

Anyway - the guides were knowledgeable and super sweet. I asked Yoishi for some extra guidance on other temples and he pointed out a gorgeous path from the Yasaka Temple to the Kiyomizu Temple - we would never have found it without him!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour of locations with good english speaking guides. Never felt hurried throughout. Definitely orth every penny.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guides were both excellent. Knowledgeable and friendly.
The lunch was a disaster. The food very cold. The service very poor.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was very nice, tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave a lot of details about the sits we visited in that tour, the locations are very interesting and worth to visit.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Tour was good, to little time in each place though. Would recommend though.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke of many details about the history behind the places we visited, including helpful hints and logistics on how to get to places efficiently. Tour was at a nice pace, unlike the one day tour to Mt. Fuji. We didn't cover the Inari Shrine. So be sure to see it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tourguide and the only chance to see Imperial palace to be on the safe site

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour; enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message