• USD ($)
  • English
Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 214 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, all of it is worth it, maybe needs a bit extra free time in Nara to enjoy the deer feeding and being nudged and even bitten by them.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

As always, the viator tours are satisfying. I particularly loved the guide who was very helpful and funny. Learned a lot about the castles and the places we went too.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent guide with a great sense of humour! Tour started on time and run on clock work precision. Lunch was ok, although nothing special. The only negative side to the tour was the non-inclusion of the Imperial Palace. The guide mentioned the Palace was closed in preparation for some "open-day" it'll be hosting the following day. Im pretty sure this was public knowledge and notice was made well in advanced as this was an annual event. The tour operator should have informed those booking the tour so we could have the option to pick a different day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We only had 1 full day in Kyoto. There was no other way to see so many sites in one day so it was well worth the trip. The tour is rushed but its the only way to see everything. The guides were very pleasant and they really made an extra effort to make sure everyone was happy. 5 Stars

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

GOOD GUIDES, LOVELY LUNCH AND GOOD TOUR OF THE AREA

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Too long a tour. It is better to split tour into two parts. Also should highlight on which days the palace is closed to public in order to plan the tour accordingly. Too many shrine visits.Better places to visit in Kyoto were left out of this tour but available in the afternoon Kyoto tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very good guide, knowledgable and informative

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour! Our guides were great. They helped to the bullet train and all along the way. The tours in Kyoto were very fun and we saw a lot of sights in a day and a half. Would definitely do again. Our hotel was very nice too!

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Intensive , but well balanced program, good time planning

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was an awesome experience!! The guides were all knowledgable and entertaining!! I would definitely recommend!!!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent itinerary, fantastic and knowledgeable tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour guide in each event. Lunch was outstanding too. Best tour in Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was kind, funny and knowledgeable. We always book through Viator when we travel if they are an option. We always find the guides to be excellent and the overall tours to be really thorough and safe.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message