Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 294 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an excellent tour! The guide Mickey was very knowledgeable, but also mixed-in the right amount of humor during the normally boring periods of traveling from one site to another.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yumi our guide in the morning was AWESOME!!!! Great morning!!!! The afternoon to Nara was incredible!!! Lunch was ok. Great tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good quality tour with a fantastic tour guide. He kept the trip up and back entertaining with stories, information and a few jokes. The crowds were large so photos and getting around inside the Todaiji temple were difficult but that's what peak tourist season is about. The deer park was fun and the deer can be aggressive if they sense you have food. Be prepared for a few nips if you're not careful. The Kasuga Shrine was very peaceful and the crowds weren't too bad by the afternoon tour time. Not sure if they are better or worse in the morning. Definitely recommend and hop you get a good guide.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice tour. The Kyoto morning tour was very informative and hospitable. I actually enjoyed the tour despite the heavy rain. After that we were dropped off on the first restaurant for the transfer for the Nara afternoon tour. The tour guide, Ms. Itsuko, was very enthusiastic in delivering the tour from Todaiji to the Kasuga Shrine. Sunrise tours also dropped us off at our hotels. Plus points for customer service.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Kyoto tour was truly entertaining in large part due to our guide. We changed guides for the Nara tour which was good but the guide repeated herself quite a bit.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Not enough time in the deer park!
Other than this it was pretty good tour. Lots of good locations, but this meant it was sometimes rushed.
Recommend if you have never been to kyoto before.
The tour does not drop back to all hotels, so make sure you ask the guide to help you find a way back!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good tour but guide was in a hurry. No time to take family photos. I felt rushed.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The places we visited were great and the lunch was a nice representation of a traditional Japanese meal.. The only problem we experienced was that you could not hear the tour guide both on the bus and outside. They need to be louder and wait till most gather together before they start talking.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Kyoto has many beautiful sights to see-- unfortunately much of our time was wasted sitting in the bus waiting!!!
The groups are much too large-- difficult to control . We would not do a tour luje this again. Fuji mountain, the bucket train and the palaces were beautiful. Food also not good

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My sister and I took the full day Kyoto and Nara trip, and it fulfilled all our expectations. The guide was knowledgeable and very helpful, the sights included were beautiful, and as a bonus, lunch was absolutely delicious. Nara was the highlight - what a gem! Our only criticism was that some of the seat belts on the bus weren't working - ours included - and no real effort was made to rectify this. Otherwise, it was a brilliant day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Alan
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a wet day on the day of my tour, so all the outdoor portion of it was not that enjoyable. Overall still a very knowledgeable one for the family.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

First Class experience. Faultless.

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide named Casey. The Zen Garden and Deer Park were really cool!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. It was a great way to see the major sites with my limited time frame. Both the Kyoto and Nara tour guides were friendly, knowledgeable, and entertaining. The only drawback was the deer park in Nara, where I was nipped by the deer. A warning would have been appreciated!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message