Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brittany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Truly an outstanding way to see major highlights of Kyoto and Nara in a limited amount of time! My only needs improvement comment pertained to the lunch, which was far and away the worst meal of my 10 day stay in Japan cannot remember when I ate worse. Much better to simply let people off the bus in a commercial area with different options for lunch and pay their own way, rather than do the buffet that was offered.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

ALOK K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide. A lot packed in a day, couldn't have done it without a packaged tour. Nara was the best part.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Glen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good deal for the price. Worth the day trip to Nara. Casey was my guide he was funny and had great energy.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Easy way to see the Nara highlights while saving yourself the hassle or to'ing and fro'ing on your own from Kyoto. Our guide was lovely and the Todaiji Temple was truly impressive!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Laura M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was quite a busy and full on day, not helped by the heat in Kyoto on this day! The trip to Nijo Castle was highly informative and interesting, but the icing on the cake was the trip to visit the deer in Nara! There is a huge temple which we took the time to be shown around, but feeding the deer and getting them to bow to you was loads of fun.
You can buy deer biscuits for 100 yen, which contain natural ingredients and made me feel much better about feeding them.
It was a long day, probably not advisable for young children as there was a fair amount of walking involved but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Sergio T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Even though Kyoto itself has a lot to offer to last for years of temple-viewing, visiting Nara was a refreshing and unique experience that was totally worth the trip. Lunch was great and the temples in Nara were pretty amazing. The tour guides both in Kyoto and in Nara were great at explaining the surroundings, context and history. I'm glad to have taken this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Linda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic. Nara was beautiful ...just as i expected Japan to be. The visit to the Shrine, Temple and Deer Park were all worthwhile.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Jeremy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I was happy to be able to visit all the major spots in Kyoto and Nara in one day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Matt M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice tour. The Kyoto morning tour was very informative and hospitable. I actually enjoyed the tour despite the heavy rain. After that we were dropped off on the first restaurant for the transfer for the Nara afternoon tour. The tour guide, Ms. Itsuko, was very enthusiastic in delivering the tour from Todaiji to the Kasuga Shrine. Sunrise tours also dropped us off at our hotels. Plus points for customer service.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

kauaijess2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yumi our guide in the morning was AWESOME!!!! Great morning!!!! The afternoon to Nara was incredible!!! Lunch was ok. Great tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Pamela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My sister and I took the full day Kyoto and Nara trip, and it fulfilled all our expectations. The guide was knowledgeable and very helpful, the sights included were beautiful, and as a bonus, lunch was absolutely delicious. Nara was the highlight - what a gem! Our only criticism was that some of the seat belts on the bus weren't working - ours included - and no real effort was made to rectify this. Otherwise, it was a brilliant day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

JSBerg01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Outstanding tour - fantastic way to experience Nara as an afternoon adventure

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent to both the Kyoto sights and Nara. Our morning and afternoon guides were very knowledgable, pleasant and responsible to keeping our group together.
Only downside was lack of time in Nara. I really felt rushed. On looking back we should have separated from the group and wandered on our own.
Over all the tour was great and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

ZHI WEI L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed the Kyoto and Nara One day tour, the pace was not too fast and we were able to visit all the places by the recommended time. The tour guides were local Japanese who can speak good English. The lunch provided was of good quality and we are happy about the service we received.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Yashar S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great day tour. don't miss Nara!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Yogesh J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of our most fascinating tours we took in Japan. Nara is an interesting, historical, place and the tour makes the trip easy and enjoyable. The guides were great and gave us a fabulous commentary on the background of the places we visited, as well as the historical perspective. The lunch was not great, but tolerable. The trip was well planned and very comfortable. A must in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour was exceptional and Nara is a must see!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

k.davis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend! We saw so much in one day and such great sights. This tour is actually two tours combined with lunch in the middle (Kyoto morning tour and Nara afternoon tour). Our morning tour guide was amazing. So much fun and knowledgeable. The Deers are the highlight - amazing - they bow to you and you can feed them biscuits that you purchase for approx $1.50. Great day!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Tarvo J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very good tour for the afternoon if you don't want to visit Nara by your own. All 3 most important places in Nara will be visited.
Good and comfortable busses and pleasant tour guides. Start from hotel, opposite of Kyoto railway station, is very convenient.
I recommend if you have half a day free

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Francisco G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, all of it is worth it, maybe needs a bit extra free time in Nara to enjoy the deer feeding and being nudged and even bitten by them.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Glenn Richmond O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great experience touring Kyoto and Nara in one day. The value of having a tour guide is realized when you compare yourself with other guests without tour guide - they don't get to understand what the signs and symbols are of each tourist spot.

It will be cheaper if you take the train from Osaka to Kyoto by yourself and just meet up with the rest of the tourists in the hotel. Lunch was OK, just enough to re-energize you from the morning's tour. It takes about 1.5 hours to travel from Kyoto to Nara, but the experience of seeing deer in the streets was worthwhile.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Jeffrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Stunning temples, shrines and castles. A great way to see the highlights of Kyoto and Nara in one day. Our guide knew her stuff and was very entertaining. A fantastic trip that I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Trojans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Morning trip to Kyoto was great....afternoon trip to Nara...the lady guide spoke too much...the trip did not give us time to dhop

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

NARAT C. Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good for briefly trip for Kyoto and Nara in 1 day. Guides were terrific.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Dina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting places, good air-conditioned bus, good meal and very knowledgable English-speaking guide. Happy that I combined it with Nara trip, it added some variety with a deer park.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message