Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 264 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke of many details about the history behind the places we visited, including helpful hints and logistics on how to get to places efficiently. Tour was at a nice pace, unlike the one day tour to Mt. Fuji. We didn't cover the Inari Shrine. So be sure to see it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tourguide and the only chance to see Imperial palace to be on the safe site

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour; enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip. Todaiji Temple is spectacular. Kasuga Shrine is OK. On the whole, a great afternoon. As first time visitors to Kyoto area we enjoyed this. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour was in two halves - morning was good, guide had excellent English. Lunch was confusing, in a restaurant where none of the staff had any English - a guide should have been there to assist with ordering drinks and sorting out problems.

Afternoon tour was with a different guide (why? our first guide did the same tour but on a different bus).

Overall a good day, could have been better

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great well informed tour guide. Good humor. A bit rush.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I loved both the morning and the afternoon tour. You can skip the lunch. Would be better to have a box lunch or have people bring their own. The restaurant was crowded and noisy and a bit of a fire hazard since everyone had a burner at their seat heating the soup, that was 16 separate burners on each table with a live flame and it was on the second floor of an old building. Made me nervous and could not wait for lunch to be over and get on with the tour. It is also a very long day. We were picked up at our hotel at 7:30 and dropped off at 19:30, for a total of 12 hours. If you go, bring your own lunch and sit outside and wait.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable trip to Nara on a warm sunny afternoon at a steady pace however not suitable for travellers with walking difficulties as numerous steps at a shallow gradient .Deer park was interesting .Guide had a distinct intonation which was slightly unbearable till one acclimatised ! This trip can be made with japan rail but girl ease of transfer I felt it was reasonably priced .

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour itself was excellent. Our issue was with the guide whose English accent was so bad that you could only understand about every 10th word. He was very charming and I'm sure knowledgeable, we just couldn't understand much of what he said. We were hoping he would not be our guide the following day for the all-day tour of Kyoto. Unfortunately he was our guide for the afternoon portion and repeated himself as well as being difficult to understand.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Yes it was amazing and enjoyed the nipping live reindeers.

I wish to have been able to visit one if the interiors of the Imperial Palace and not only the garden.

My second time to Nijo castle and enjoyed it

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

the tour was perfect...cover many fabulous places and took us the distances needed....thank you to our caring tour guides too!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message