The heart of Kyoto's sake industry lies in Fushimi, a southern area of the city. From the Fushimi Momoyama Station, it is only a short walk to the sake breweries "district." The area developed as a hub for sake making due to the famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I LOVED this tour! My husband and I ended up being the only ones on our particular tour, but that actually worked out great! Our tour guide was fantastic and I learned so much about the history of the market and the things we were buying. It was fun to pick out ingredients and ask for them in Japanese. The sake tasting was a lot of fun, too, and it was even cooler to see the historic area where it was made.

The cooking lesson really topped it off for me, though I had a great time! I already really love to cook, and I had tried a few things already with minimal success. Our teacher was really nice, and was able to show me how do things better or more neatly. I really can't wait to try cook everything at home. Dessert was new for me---vanilla ice cream with dark brown sugar syrup and soybean flour on top---but it might just be my new favorite.

All in all, I can't recommend this tour highly enough. I loved every minute, and hope that you will too! This tour company is amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We are very glad to choose this tour. Our guide Yoshie is a certified Sake Sommelier, who is very passionate about the Sake culture as well as very helpful in answering our questions.

The Sake Brewery Matsui Brewing is highly recommended. It is small however the owner is the 15th generation who is very kind, friendly and well knowledgable. We also visited other bigger brewery, we are very glad that we have visited Matsui.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Tomoko and her assistant Rita were excellent. First the basics. The meeting place was easy to find, the train transportation went smoothly, and they were both helpful with taking pictures. The mix of history, culture and sake tasting was just what we were looking for. Fushimi Inari Shrine is beautiful and Tomoko helped direct us to several spots off the beaten path that were less busy and allowed us to see the true magic of the site. But even more important Tomoko is an International Kikisaki-shi sake sommelier! Her knowledge of sake, food pairings and what makes good vs. great sake is wonderful. She provided us with materials on sake types and parings that I have kept to help guide my purchases back home. The tasting done in a regular liquor store, not a tourist trap included both aged sake and unpasteurized sake neither of which are really available outside of Japan. We bought two bottles of sake but there was no pressure to do so. Thank you to the tour company, Tomoko, and Rita for a wonderful Kyoto experience.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must do tour! We were lucky enough to be the only two on this tour, with a guide who spoke excellent English. Fushimi Inari is a fascinating place, and our guide explained all the customs and traditions as we wandered through. Afterwards to the Sake Brewery museum and store with plenty of tastings was a nice way to finish off the tour - then back to Kyoto station again by train.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nobu, our guide was very nice. It was an amazing tour.
We enjoy the market tour, sake distillery without a feeling of being rushed.
The cooking class was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a private experience as my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. With most sake production, it is a small, modern operation. The owner was very generous with his time, gave us the history and background of sake production, and answered all our questions. The sake tasting was excellent. Of course it is set up to tempt you to buy, but we had no problem with that!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Was really good, learned a lot, and got to indulge in some awesome sake, now I know a good sake to a bad ones! Would recommend.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nobu our guide was nice and helpful, good English ! The walk through the market a wonderful experience. Then the brewery was Ok, a pity is not a working one but the sake tasting was good. And then the cooking was so much fun!!! We shared with a charming Vietnamese girl. We learned and had fun !!!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

rainerice
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was just my girl and I and had a blast. Great sake and very informative.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another fantastic experience w/ the ladies of the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. Tour included the market, an historic tea shop, local craft stores, and sake tasting. Our guide was patient w/ our many questions. Our cooking instructor was attentive, inclusive, and an excellent teacher. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip worth evry cent. The tour guide was well informed about myriad Japanese delicacies on display at the Nishiki market and our small group of eight people. At the sake outlet we tasted quality sakes and ended up buying a bottle for the cooking class. The cooking class gave us hands on experience at sushi-making. Our teacher was very clear in her explanations and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our experience, We will recommend anyone to take this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great exprience. I love going to Wine country in California so this was the sake version of that. The tour was given by the wife of the owner. Small sake distillery so we were able to get a behind the scene look at the making and production of Sake. Great way to spend a few hours and taste some great sake.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

From beginning to end this was a wonderful afternoon! We met our guide Yoshie at the designated spot and after waiting about 15 minutes for 2 other people who never showed up, we started our tour of the Nishiki covered market! Everywhere we turned, we saw food which we could not identify, but Yoshie answered all our questions in excellent English. She encouraged us to taste various items, some sweets some seaweed, some cakes. She explained the differences in types of rice, tofu, bean curd, tea and more. We munched our way through the colorful market for about an hour. Then, since our feet were tired, we took taxis to the Sake Brewery Museum for a brief tour and explanation of the sake brewery process, but the bulk of the time was a tastings presentation. I never realized there could be so many different nuances in the taste of sake! We loved it so much we bought 2 bottles! Afterwards, Yoshie accompanied us to the mahiya, a traditional wooden town house characterized by black wooden slats in front. There, Yoshie left us in the good hands of Akiko, our teaching chef. The cooking lesson was basic but we had a lot of fun learning the secrets to making miso soup and sushi rice. We were taught how to make tamagoyaki, an omelet in a square pan called a makiyakinabe. Then we used pieces of the tamagoyaki along with pickled vegetable, crab sticks and cucumber to make our very own maki. After cooking , our meal was served to us in a private dining room covered with tatami mats. Akiko poured the tea for us and we feasted on the fruits of our labor! EXCELLENT TOUR ON ALL ACCOUNTS!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Katrina L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. It was personalised - just my husband and me - and our guide Yoko was wonderful. Yoko speaks impecable English and she really knew her subject matter. Fushimi Inari Shrine is very different to other Shrines we have seen and is worth seeing, and the brewery museum was really interesting. We sampled and old and new style sake at the museum (my vote is for the old style), and tried 6 different sakes at specialst sake shop. A really great way to spend half a day!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My daughter and I absolutely loved this tour from the word GO! The Nishiki Market was interesting and fun as our guide shared delicacies from Japan . The walk through town was interesting, and the cooking class was fantastic. We enjoyed making miso soup, Japanese spinach salad, and sushi!! The sake tasting was also a hit. I highly recommend this tour as our guides were informative and fun!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Outstanding! Our tour guide, Mieko, made it a first class experience. She went out of her way to cater to our interests and spent extra time with us, allowing us to enjoy the sights at our own pace, take all the time we needed for photographs, and relax with a wonderful sake tasting. A highlight!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great experience exploring the tastes and sights of both the high-end and street markets. The Sake museum was interesting and the cooking of a meal in traditional style and then enjoying eating it together was a great way to introduce yourself to some of the culture and tastes of Japan.
Enjoyable and worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

You can learn a lot from a country from it's food and from this point of view, this tour is a window into Japanese culture that would be hard to look through in any other way. The first part ofthe tour in the Nishiki Food Market provided an eye openning expereince to the diversity of Japanese food, not only for the beginner, but for the more experienced foodie. There was plenty of time to check out all of the stalls, and the guide for this part of the tour was extremely knowledgeable and could talk about all of the types of foods in any detail that you would like. Absolutely incredible variety, with plenty of opportunities to taste great food, including extreme food tasting for the adventuresome!

The second part of the tour involved a visit to a saki brewery followed by an introduction to sake with tastings. I wasn't sure waht to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The cooking part of the tour was expertly done and I won't tell you what we cooked and ate as i don't want to spoil it for you, but just to say, that I learned so much and had a great time. There were some in the group who were not so experienced cooks, but there was no pressure and everyone really enjoyed it. A wonderful way to spend an afternoon with insights into Japan that would be otherwise hard to come by.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

GREAT TOUR! We were the only ones on it so we had a private tour. All the tour leaders are Japanese women who have a lot of knowledge about the traditional culture. I was really impressed by the temple, it has hundreds of red temple gates making a kind of tunnel...I was kind of over temples but this was a highlight. Sake tasting was really fun and the brewery was cool and included a museum type thing.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This tour was simply amazing! We were lead though the amazing Nishiki market, past fugu restaurants and all sorts of delicacies from different stalls with a commentary that highlighted cultural traditions and gave cooking tips, whilst naturally sampling everything along the way! We then went to a boutique sake museum/former mechant house and sampled delicious sake after a quick tour of the building where insight was shed into the procedure involved in sake manufacture! And then we went to the cooking school and made an amazing meal which left my boyfriend and i feeling quite chuffed! And we even got a certificate! Everyone was so friendly and informative and the tour was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

I can't speak highly enough about this wonderful tour. My guide was excellent, full of knowledge and tips about the market, its wares and history. The sake museum was closed for a public holiday, but I was presented with a bottle of sake and a short history of its manufacture. Then we went to the hands on cookery school, where we prepared, cooked and ate a very tasty Japanese meal. I would recommend this to people of all ages.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very knowledgable and took really good care of us.

The Sake museum was interesting and definitely worth a visit.

The Shrine itself was amazing but it involves a fair bit of walking and climbing through several steps which some people may find challenging.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Being foodies the nishiki portion was something we did on our own earlier in the day so we didn't get much out of that other than our guide Hero who was beyond cute! Sake tour, killer! Cooking class, teacher was great but very beginner. Stars are for the guide/teachers only.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The fish markets were very interesting and our guide was very informative. The sake museum was closed unfortunately, but we did get to taste sake. The dinner was fun to make and lovely to eat in traditional Japanese house. I thought $145 for two people was a little expensive for this afternoon tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really had a great time on the tour. The highlight was the cooking class at the end - the hostesses were fun and the food was really good! The tour group was nice and small which made it east to get around in the food market and easier to hear the tour guide. The only two downsides were the following: it was hard to find the meeting space and there was A LOT of walking (getting to the Sake museum and the cooking place). I think if you included a picture map of the meeting place it would help. It might also help to plan a coffee/tea stop on the way to the Sake museum. I know it takes up valuable time, but it would have been a nice break. I might also include an additional bit of money for buying more of the odd things in the market to try. We had a few items, but would have liked to have included more.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message