For many travelers, Kyoto represents the highlight of a trip to Japan, thanks to its rich history and beautiful architecture. Whether you have one day or one week in Kyoto, don't miss these city highlights. Nijo Castle Built in 1603, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 717 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

On this Kyoto Full-Day Tour we had an unforgettable experience. Our tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable, provided a lot off historical information about visited places. He provided great service. We had wonderful time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed this bike tour around Kyoto! Our Guide lulu was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable of the area's we visited!

Started off slowly due to a customer not being able to ride a bike who books a bike tour and can't even ride a bike?! but from there the morning was glorious! Definitely worth doing this during Cherry blossom season!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting Tour which included a number of places that you would probably miss, and definitely shouldn't, if you had planned Kyoto yourself :

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Patricia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Did an EXCELLENT job! Nice transportation - various pick up and drop off options. Lots of information given on the bus traveling and at the sites! Could not have asked for more! Tour guide was VERY knowledgable and congenital.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Bryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rebecca was extremely knowledgeable, good company and made suggestions regarding entainment that we followed up on and they were as good as she had said. Congratulations!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Evangelia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My daughter and I felt the tour was very informative and it gave us a great overview of the area.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous sightseeing tour and it was very busy but well organised. It was a long day and tiring for a mature couple but worth it.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Damien C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour, Love half day tours - there is just enough not to be overwhelmed or bored.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour: Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

Mr A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent, very informative.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Vanita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had limited time in Kyoto so this was idea to be able to visit the major sites. it is essentially the morning tour and the afternoon tour with a lunch thrown in. Both tour leaders were fun and informative and gave us enough time to be able to have a quick look around despite it being a packed tour.

My only complaint would be on the lunch. We were on the second group to be called for lunch as our afternoon tour left later, but by the time we reached the lunch hall, there was hardly any food left, so didn't really get to eat much all day. It was a good thing I had some gummies on me to munch.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great tour. It was face paced, but that way you got to the see the maximum of sights in just one day. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. Lunch was poorly organized however.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Warwick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a brilliant way to see Kyoto! Tatsuya met us 6 people at the train station and took us to the bike rental....although a pricey tour 96 pp, included was bike and helmet and a Japanese snack you could have the bike all day if you wished, it was well worth it. Tatsuya is a crazy cycling enthusiast who cycles the world. He was so informative, fun and interesting. Mainly did the Eastern side of Kyoto....Heian Jingu Shrine, Nanzenji Temple, Path of Philosophy , Chion-In temple in Maruyama Park, Yasaka Pagoda and all around the back streets of Gion and the Geisha area. Supposedly 3 and a half hours but was more like 4 and a half....brilliant tour and there is no way we would have found these places by ourselves. Tatsuya knew all the back streets which meant we didn't have to deal with too much traffic. Of course being the cherry blossom season it was a superb way to see them all by bike. Highly recommend this tour and was a highlight of our stay in Kyoto. Thank you Tatsuya.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Athena K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The shrine was much more crowded than I expected but our guide, Mari, was wonderful and we enjoyed all of the activities.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Mon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kyoto is just a stunning city to visit. By far my favorite city we visited while in Japan. This tour gives a full day of seeing some of the top spots of Kyoto. It rained the entire day, but our guide still took us everywhere and went out with us and happily explained all the buildings we got to see.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Elsa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time! We had 2 guides one in the morning and another one in the afternoon. Both guides very knowledgeable, helpful and funny. I wish we had 1/2 an hour more to visit each landmark, though.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour to get to know a bit of a Japanese culture. Unlike castles and museums this needs to be witness with real life commentary. Our guide was excellent. Worth the money spent. Definitely recommend - and it's walking - great way to soak in atmosphere of Nara, Gion and Kyoto.
Guide knew what he was talking about, his English was good and tour was well planned. All fees included but the return to Kyoto train station taxi - ca. JPY1,200

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lauraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved this tour, perfect way to find my feet in Kyoto!
Our guide Lulu was warm and engaging and very Smiley and happy to help in anyway.
The pace and size of the tour was great and finishing off in the Gion district at dusk works well for dinner after! We saw 9 Geishas! Only recommendation would be a 20-30 minute stop somewheere for a coffe or beer, all the others in the group felt the same pretty much about that!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Roy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide, Dustin was punctual and got us on the road a little bit later due to non shows. He did however extend the tour to take this into account. He was informative and chatty without over doing us with facts and figures to the extent, you couldn't take it in. He walked at a good pace through the tour and took on questions easily. The tour took us through some of the beautiful areas of Kyoto and we even managed to see a Geysha girl. I would definitely recommend this tour, and Dustin as a tour guide.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Monica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was great and the tour guide was exceptional. Thank you.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Leah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must! We did this tour with our children ages 11 and 13 and it was a perfect way to see the highlights of Kyoto. The guide was super informative and our driver was wonderful. The bus is very comfortable, there are plenty of opportunities for photos, snacks, bathroom breaks - you won't feel rushed at all. A great way to see so much in one day! The lunch was very good and we appreciated the chance to look at souvenirs without any pressure to purchase although we did since the art centre has great items! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Glen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour. Best tour we did in Japan. Thank you to our wonderful guide Pepijn who is very knowledgeable. We learnt and saw so much.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Karin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Despite it being a bitterly cold day about 3 degrees Celsius our tour guide Alex did a great job. He led us to several diverse and interesting parts of Kyoto and provided a fascinating commentary. We learnt a lot about the history and culture both of Kyoto, and of Japan more generally. Dont forget your comfortable walking shoes youll get a lot of exercise in this tour! If I had one suggestion for how the tour might be improved, Id say it would be good to sit down somewhere with a drink and a snack halfway through. Maybe linger longer at the food stalls near the Inari Shrine, or build in a visit to a tea shop? Anyway, we enjoyed the tour and found it interesting. Thanks!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

steven h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

a really memorable experience - everyone who visits Kyoto should see these sights

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Blake R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour guide was very interesting, friendly and informative, no matter what the question. The tour was well paced to provide sufficient time at each location and explored some very beautiful Kyoto sights.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message