For many travelers, Kyoto represents the highlight of a trip to Japan, thanks to its rich history and beautiful architecture. Whether you have one day or one week in Kyoto, don’t miss these city highlights. Nijo Castle Built in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our bike tour was so great! It was an amazing way to see Kyoto. It turned out that we were the only 2 on the trip so it was like a private tour. Salome was very knowedgeable about Kyoto and was a great tour guide. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to see Kyoto in a fun way!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent personal tour for a Kyoto first-timer. The enthusiasm of our English speaking guide was infectious and made the afternoon memorable. Her insights offered glimpses into Japanese life that a tourist would not be able to obtain on a big bus tour or by following a guidebook on one's own.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide Namba was excellent, he was witty and his anecdotes were hilarious. The temples and shrines were beautiful and I was surprised we saw so many in one day. This is definitely worth doing if you don't have much time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative tour. We were able to see many of the main shrines and temples along with some shopping. The tour guide had great English and was very knowledgeable on the history of Kyoto. We had a blast!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved Kyoto thanks to my fantastic tour guide! Went to three sights in half a day and enjoyed every minute of it! Thank you for an unforgettable tour!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour is very complete to see Kyoto in just one day. We had two tour guides, (Saiko and Mickey), both of them outstanding.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour is very complete to see Kyoto in just one day. We had two tour guides, (Saiko and Mickey), both of them outstanding.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was fantastic, we saw parts of Kyoto that tourists don't normally get to, also just long enough to keep the interest. Fantastic guide

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Full day of sightseeing. I was only in Kyoto for a day so this package was perfect. Both guides were good (one of was named Gucci) and really explained the various sites in great detail. The lunch we had wasn't anything special.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A marvellous introduction to Kyoto.A great guide . everything was as I expected. only better!!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Jade was an absolutely delightful guide and provided us with an excellent tour through many sections of Kyoto. This is a great way to get an overview and lay of the land of any city, especially after a long flight. The fresh air and exercise was great - not too strenuous, we rode comfortable bikes on a mostly flat path along the river and then up and through the streets to see two of the most prominent sights a shrine and we were there to witness a private ceremony at the temple. She was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of history with us. Additionally, she answered all of our questions about Kyoto, including some suggestions for dinner. Highly recommended tour for all ages.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good tour. Recommended it to everyone visiting Kyoto. However, be prepared to be a very long day and very tired by the end of it. The lunch was very good in a nice restaurant. The tour guides are excellent and speak very good English.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an amazing tour! Jade was an incredible guide who was a fountain of information and fun tips about Kyoto. It was such a wonderful experience that i shall cherish for a lifetime! Jade is hands down the best tour guide I have ever had, truly a free spirit and kind person! Cannot recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an excellent tour. Kyoto is a quaint city in some respects but unless you are prepared to really study the history and spend some serious time walking and taking the metro, you won't see these sites with this much information and this efficiently. The guide was excellent. All of the stops were extremely interesting and the guide explained all of the history. The time allotment was good. We traveled with kids (7 and 14) and they were interested in everything. Beware that if you have those who cannot climb a lot of stairs or walk an incline at the last stop, Kiyomizu Temple, they may have to wait at the bottom. It is an inclined road, leading to a lot of stairs with a very large and interesting complex at the top. The view is incredible and the site very interesting so don't skip it if you can handle the stairs. There is great shopping on the small streets below if you want to leave the tour there and make your way back to your hotel on your own. The last stop is right next to the Gion District. Our hotel was there so we shopped, tested sake, ate green tea ice cream and slowly walked back to our hotel. All other stops were fine for those with moderate walking ability.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Kyoto is a wonderful place with many interesting sites. The Golden Pavilion is spectacular. All sites are well worth visiting. The tour guides were very nice, professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message