For many travelers, Kyoto represents the highlight of a trip to Japan, thanks to its rich history and beautiful architecture. Whether you have one day or one week in Kyoto, don’t miss these city highlights. Nijo Castle Built in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour. Takes you in just an afternoon to some of the more pleasant sights in Kyoto. Besides visiting several important temples, it takes you to a top of a hill from where you get a great view of the surroundings and also through an interesting market that has all kinds of gifts and curios. Certainly worth going on this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour - Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great! We saw 6 temples in total and they were beautiful. We also got to see a lot of Kyoto on the way to each temple. Our two tour guides were very friendly, knowledgeable and great to have showing us around. All in all a great day!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and knowledgeable guides. If you want to see some of the most famous sights in Kyoto in an efficient and stress free way, then this is the tour to go on!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our third Viator tour on this trip. We were picked up in Kyoto at the hotel we stayed at (New Miyako); again, very convenient. Our tour guide, Yoshi, was the best of the trip...very knowledegable and funny. Niho Castle was the highlight of the tour and it worth the trip--awesome. Heian Shrine was next and was a very spiritual place, again, worth the visit. From there, we visited the Golden Pavilion and got some great pics and good luck charms. We stopped for lunch at a restaurant (part of the tour) and had a great traditional lunch, shabu-shabu style. After this, we got back on the bus but were again plagued by the bus' inadequate AC, as it got hot and humid outside. The entire tour group resorted to opening the windows and braving the stickiness rather than the oven it had become inside. Our next stop was the imperial palace replica. It was immense and provided stunning pics and memories. Kiyomizu temple was out last stop. The shopping on the road up to the temple was another major attraction, here. At the conclusion of the tour, we were returned to our hotel at approx. 5pm, so we still had time to walk around Kyoto! Don't miss this one--imo its a good investment in time and money for what you get--experience this important area's major sites, explained by an expert, eat great local food, excellent shopping opportunities, and convenient pickup/drop-off. We'll do this one again, someday.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, even with the rain. The guide was very informative, helpful and accommodating. I booked this, along with the Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural tour (walking) at the last minute after I arrived in Kyoto. I had basically a day and a half in Kyoto prior to spending the bulk of my Japan trip in Tokyo. This was a great way to see the city in a half day's time. I'm not sure I would have wanted more time in Kyoto, because once you've seen several temples and shrines, I think seeing more would just become redundant. Bring a rain poncho, just in case.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful guide. The process was easy. Meeting place was easy to find next to Kyoto station. Really enjoyed the walk through the residential streets which felt more like real Kyoto instead of staying exclusively with tourist places.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We visited kyoto last week and this half day tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Our guide Elsa was friendly and knowledgable and provided us with some valuable tips and suggestions that we found very useful. She is passionate about what she does and that helped enhance our overall experience. Highly recommend this tour, our guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Probably our favorite tour of our trip. Saw a heap of fantastic scenes from around Kyoto with a really well informed guides. The swcond half of the day we had to practically take at a run but that was only because there is so much crammed into the day. Definitely worth it if you have a spare day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nothing but praise for this tour. Fantastic guide ( Elsa) and a wonderful way to see and learn about some of Kyoto's best sites. Easy , safe but also fun cycle for all ages.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed the tour of Kyoto. The tour guides were infomative and covered all the highlights of Kyoto. On the whole I had fantastic time especially because the one day tour was compact for the limited time I had in Kyoto. Please thank tour guide Izumi. P.S. Lunch at the restaurant great too..

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is great for the highlights of Kyoto. Our afternoon tour guide (male) was amazing.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a small group of two families and both of us had small children in prams. Keep in mind that there is a lot of walking.
Our guide was Ramon, who was friendly and informative He provided a different slant on the Japanese culture that you would have otherwise got from a larger more corporate tour company.
The tour features a temple and shrine as well as well as the backstreets of Gion. We would have never found these places by ourselves. Our guide had spent some time overseas so had a great take on western life compared to Japanese life and narrated the tour well and in a funny way.
After the tour concluded our guide walked us back to the bus stop to get back to Kyoto Station. We were lucky to catch the express bus and I understand the normal one would have taken a while. It’s too far for taxi so remember to grab the express bus. Well recommended and a highlight of our trip to Japan.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was excellent:) the guide we had was really friendly and told us her plans for the tour before we set off checking if everyone was okay with where we were going etc.She organised everything for us i.e train travel around Kyoto.She was full of knowledge and never hurried us,
Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized. Recommended if you have only one day in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

As with everything in Japan, this tour was run super efficiently - it is a bit of a whistle stop tour, seeing 6 places in a day, but as Kyoto is quite spread out there's no way we could have seen half as much in our own.
The tour guides were funny and made it enjoyable - recommended!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message