For many travelers, Kyoto represents the highlight of a trip to Japan, thanks to its rich history and beautiful architecture. Whether you have one day or one week in Kyoto, don't miss these city highlights. Nijo Castle Built in 1603, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 738 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

pcarney2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The cultural walking tour was fun and enjoyable and very relaxed and easy while taking in the history and cultural of Buddhist and Shinto temples as well as Gion and history of geishas. Great trip and experience Lulu and assistant were fantastic!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Raphael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Touring the City by bike was a great way to see it. The tour was not too long and the tour guide spoke great English. I would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Kirilee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour. They limit the tour to 11 or 12 people, and so you get a really good vibe the entire time. Our tour host Lulu was amazing and very well informed. Wear comfortable shoes to walk in - you will be walking quite far.
Also, just a heads up, the fushimi inari shrine is super busy during the day with tourist. If you want a really beautiful and peaceful experience of it, go back during the evening or I was told very early morning. The shrine doesn't close, and it is well lit all the way to the top.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent tour - this is a great way to see the highlights of Kyoto's many historical sites in one day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Melody G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Surprised to be the only one on this tour! A nice treat which allowed us to go off script a bit and see a unique temple that had a free art show. The guide was great, was happy to answer all my questions.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent very busy full day sightseeing tour of Kyoto.
Knowledgable and entertaining guides
Would highly recommend it

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Pauline F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rebecca was an educated, informed and talented guide who I would recommend for anyone. She is an ex English/Japanese teacher who was knowledgeable, informed and fun. Thankyou for the range of activities, back stories and cultural context..... would recommend very highly

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had a great time on this tour. My guide was very good. I enjoyed all of her insights and help with proper etiquette when entering a Shrine. Something which I would have never known! It was a great day and really enjoyed the ride!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

davebaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous tour especially the visit to the Golden Pavillion and the Imperial Palace a highlight. Tour was well organised and our guide was excellent also. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

davebaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really good tour. Our guide Mari was excellent and informative. Loved Fushimi Inari Shrine although would have liked to have gone to the top but given the length of the tour and other places to go it was not possible. I will return to Japan to complete this. Gion is definitely another highlight and a fascinating insight.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Josie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great fun for someone of medium fitness. This tour took me to a part of Kyoto I had not seen in the 4 days I had been staying there. I would recommend this tour to all my friends.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

On this Kyoto Full-Day Tour we had an unforgettable experience. Our tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable, provided a lot off historical information about visited places. He provided great service. We had wonderful time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed this bike tour around Kyoto! Our Guide lulu was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable of the area's we visited!

Started off slowly due to a customer not being able to ride a bike who books a bike tour and can't even ride a bike?! but from there the morning was glorious! Definitely worth doing this during Cherry blossom season!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting Tour which included a number of places that you would probably miss, and definitely shouldn't, if you had planned Kyoto yourself :

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Patricia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Did an EXCELLENT job! Nice transportation - various pick up and drop off options. Lots of information given on the bus traveling and at the sites! Could not have asked for more! Tour guide was VERY knowledgable and congenital.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Bryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rebecca was extremely knowledgeable, good company and made suggestions regarding entainment that we followed up on and they were as good as she had said. Congratulations!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Evangelia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My daughter and I felt the tour was very informative and it gave us a great overview of the area.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous sightseeing tour and it was very busy but well organised. It was a long day and tiring for a mature couple but worth it.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Damien C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour, Love half day tours - there is just enough not to be overwhelmed or bored.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour: Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple

Mr A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent, very informative.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Vanita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had limited time in Kyoto so this was idea to be able to visit the major sites. it is essentially the morning tour and the afternoon tour with a lunch thrown in. Both tour leaders were fun and informative and gave us enough time to be able to have a quick look around despite it being a packed tour.

My only complaint would be on the lunch. We were on the second group to be called for lunch as our afternoon tour left later, but by the time we reached the lunch hall, there was hardly any food left, so didn't really get to eat much all day. It was a good thing I had some gummies on me to munch.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message