For many travelers, Kyoto represents the highlight of a trip to Japan, thanks to its rich history and beautiful architecture. Whether you have one day or one week in Kyoto, don’t miss these city highlights. Nijo Castle Built in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, even with the rain. The guide was very informative, helpful and accommodating. I booked this, along with the Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural tour (walking) at the last minute after I arrived in Kyoto. I had basically a day and a half in Kyoto prior to spending the bulk of my Japan trip in Tokyo. This was a great way to see the city in a half day's time. I'm not sure I would have wanted more time in Kyoto, because once you've seen several temples and shrines, I think seeing more would just become redundant. Bring a rain poncho, just in case.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful guide. The process was easy. Meeting place was easy to find next to Kyoto station. Really enjoyed the walk through the residential streets which felt more like real Kyoto instead of staying exclusively with tourist places.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We visited kyoto last week and this half day tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Our guide Elsa was friendly and knowledgable and provided us with some valuable tips and suggestions that we found very useful. She is passionate about what she does and that helped enhance our overall experience. Highly recommend this tour, our guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Probably our favorite tour of our trip. Saw a heap of fantastic scenes from around Kyoto with a really well informed guides. The swcond half of the day we had to practically take at a run but that was only because there is so much crammed into the day. Definitely worth it if you have a spare day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nothing but praise for this tour. Fantastic guide ( Elsa) and a wonderful way to see and learn about some of Kyoto's best sites. Easy , safe but also fun cycle for all ages.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed the tour of Kyoto. The tour guides were infomative and covered all the highlights of Kyoto. On the whole I had fantastic time especially because the one day tour was compact for the limited time I had in Kyoto. Please thank tour guide Izumi. P.S. Lunch at the restaurant great too..

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is great for the highlights of Kyoto. Our afternoon tour guide (male) was amazing.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a small group of two families and both of us had small children in prams. Keep in mind that there is a lot of walking.
Our guide was Ramon, who was friendly and informative He provided a different slant on the Japanese culture that you would have otherwise got from a larger more corporate tour company.
The tour features a temple and shrine as well as well as the backstreets of Gion. We would have never found these places by ourselves. Our guide had spent some time overseas so had a great take on western life compared to Japanese life and narrated the tour well and in a funny way.
After the tour concluded our guide walked us back to the bus stop to get back to Kyoto Station. We were lucky to catch the express bus and I understand the normal one would have taken a while. It’s too far for taxi so remember to grab the express bus. Well recommended and a highlight of our trip to Japan.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was excellent:) the guide we had was really friendly and told us her plans for the tour before we set off checking if everyone was okay with where we were going etc.She organised everything for us i.e train travel around Kyoto.She was full of knowledge and never hurried us,
Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized. Recommended if you have only one day in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

As with everything in Japan, this tour was run super efficiently - it is a bit of a whistle stop tour, seeing 6 places in a day, but as Kyoto is quite spread out there's no way we could have seen half as much in our own.
The tour guides were funny and made it enjoyable - recommended!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was our favourite day in Kyoto - we saw so much in only a few hours and the locations we went to were amazing.
If you only do 1 tour in Kyoto, this should be it!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a great experience! A slight drizzle on the morning of the tour resulted in my being the only one to show up - a personal tour with excellent guide Kumiko. We saw so much, including rainbows and blue skies. Kyoto by bike is the way to go! An A+ day.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very good introduction to Kyoto and its neighbourhoods

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We are a family with 2 young children 11 and 9. The tour started with a complimentary pickup at a nearby hotel and was very well organised. Of course each attraction was packed with other tour groups, but we still had clear directions and precise times to meet our schedule and to make sure that we saw all the sites. With so many places to visit and busy traffic, time at each spot is limited. The good thing about Kyoto is that if you want to go back the next day and have a really good look at one or two of the attractions it can be easily done as they are relatively close. The included lunch was good, the kids had a different menu more suited to them. We would thoroughly recommend this tour. The guides, drivers and buses are excellent. We are so glad that we chose this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message