For many travelers, Kyoto represents the highlight of a trip to Japan, thanks to its rich history and beautiful architecture. Whether you have one day or one week in Kyoto, don't miss these city highlights. Nijo Castle Built in 1603, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 668 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Blake R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour guide was very interesting, friendly and informative, no matter what the question. The tour was well paced to provide sufficient time at each location and explored some very beautiful Kyoto sights.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Blake R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour guide was very interesting, friendly and informative, no matter what the question. The tour was well paced to provide sufficient time at each location and explored some very beautiful Kyoto sights.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Terrin was our guide and he was very knowledgeable! We went to Kyoto on one of the BUSIEST weekends and boy was it busy. It was crowded, everywhere. Terrin was great though, he didn't rush anything, he made sure we got the most out of our time there. I'm kind of sad we only got to see three major places but they were worth it. This is a great tour if you are new to Kyoto and need an introduction.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

aleksei g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very nice tour which contains of two tours divided by lunch. Professional and knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Samata K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing! It had everything we could have wanted. it made seeing some of the top sights super easy and convenient.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Phil W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

a fantastic tour. Day filled with exciting sights and history.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Christopher R P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was American so easy to understand. Very knowledgeable guide. Learned a lot.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

ANDY T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour with Pepijn was very enjoyable.
Very recommended, especially if you only have very limited time like we did.
We wouldn't have been able to see much at all if we had to wonder around by ourselves

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice tour with lots of interesting information. We were in a small group so our tour guide was willing to stop for longer periods in each place. Totally recommended!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Audrey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What made the tour great were the warm, friendly, hospitable and knowledgeable guides. Well-organized and great tour overall.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Kyla D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Overall this tour was worth it, below are some key points of the two tours morning and afternoon.
---------------------------

Morning Tour:
1. The tour guide was awesome. She made jokes all morning and had lots of useful information. I learned a lot from her, not only about the tour locations we went to but about Kyoto while we drove around.

2. The tour was only slightly rushed in the morning, and only due to the Imperial Palace having strict arrival and departure rules. Overall we moved at a comfortable pace.

3. Every location we went to was worth the visit. None of the areas were too packed with people.
---------------------------

Lunch:
The lunch was a good Japanese meal. It wasn't the most amazing meal I have had, but It surpassed my expectations for a meal that was included in a tour. I left full and satisfied, the meal was prepared well and tasted good.
---------------------------

Afternoon Tour:
1. The tour guide for the afternoon tour was different then the morning. She was good, but I preferred the morning tour guide because she seemed to have more fun with jokes and interacting with us. The afternoon tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. She kept us on schedule and informed with history of the areas we were in. She also taught us the correct way to enter temples and shrines.

2. The locations we visited in the afternoon seemed to be more full with tourists. I am not sure if that was due to the later in the day schedule or the locations.

3. Pacing was perfect. Never felt rushed and we covered a lot of ground.
---------------------------

If I had to choose between the morning or afternoon tours, I would select the afternoon one. The locations we covered were more interesting to me personally and the pacing perfect. The morning one is very much worth it though, so if you have time to do the full day tour I suggest it.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Kim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this bike tour. We went with a family of 4 adults, this was the highlight of our trip! loved our tour guides that were more then happy to translate everything for us into english at the temples.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Christopher L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing overview of Kyoto. Our tour guide Terrin was outstanding!!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Kyoto one of my favourite places. Gion district Cultural Tour a must for everyone, so much history to see and it shows how the normal Japanese live. Very clean city as is all of Japan. Tour guide absolutely amazing and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Samir H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. A very knowledgeable guide. Message to guide and #39;Thanks for your very useful email, I seem to have accidentally deleted it and so was unable to thank you by replying to it and #39;. - Samir

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rebecca gave us a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Florence A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good introductory tour to Kyoto. Our guide, Alex, speaks excellent English and is very patient and kind. He is knowledgeable and answered our questions well. Yes, a lot of walking, but the pace is acceptable.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

pinklily1205

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was awesome! Great tour! I recommend highly!!!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Melanie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Took this tour on our first day in Kyoto and it's a really great introduction to this lovely city. Our guide Terin was very engaging and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the afternoon visiting Tofukuji temple, Fushimi Inari shrine and the Gion district. Highly recommended for those visiting Kyoto on limited time.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

finch7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a great afternoon Terin the guide was very informative and friendly.
Terin went out of his way to help everybody even after the tour had ended he still recommended
other places to see and walked us through the narrow streets to show us the way.
Would totally recommend this tour .

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Mary Jeanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was informative, helpful with a great sense of humor. Helped to get a feel for the city and history.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Gerald d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good and awesome experience. Good guide who speaks English really properly! Even saw some Geisha's!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Pablo E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fun tour with a really charming and informative guide. Cruising Kyoto on a bike is lovely, truly excelent route. The shrines and temples visited were amazing. My one complain is that it's all a little bit rushed, would have been nice to have more time to take it all on. Still, highly recommended, I will never forget that day.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Guide chose nice route and gave us interesting background stories. As nearly every Kyoto-citizen bikes in the city, it is really nice to become like one of them, even only for a few hours.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message