La Fortuna ATTRACTIONS See all

La Fortuna Waterfall

Plunging down the side of Cerro Chato, Volcan Arenal’s dormant and thickly forested twin, is one of the most impressive, and easily accessible, waterfalls in all Costa Rica. Cascada La Fortuna pours some 65m (200ft) down a sheer, volcanic gray cliff ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our driver William and guide Edgar were very knowledgeable and made this trip fun for all ages. Would definitely recommend doing while in Costa Rica.

Doing what: 2-in-1 Arenal Volcano Combo Tour: Volcano Hike and La Fortuna Waterfall

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour far exceeded our expectations! William was top notch and a great tour guide. He was very friendly, knowledgeable, and passionate about what he does. The Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfalls are both must see's when staying in the areas, so I highly recommend this tour! I believe if you are staying in any La Fortuna area hotels, they will come and pick you up directly from your hotel. They travel in very nice tourist vans, with air conditioning, which is great. In addition to the 2 in 1 tours, the tour guides will often stop in transit to point out wildlife i.e. sloths, toucans, monkeys etc... as you travel between locations. Great people!

Doing what: 2-in-1 Arenal Volcano Combo Tour: Volcano Hike and La Fortuna Waterfall

Jason A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My tour was very exciting, and I had a lot of fun! The tour guide was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and spoke English very well.

Doing what: 2-in-1 Arenal Volcano Combo Tour: River Safari Float and La Fortuna Waterfall

Brenda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time with Edgar and Tony. They were great guides and so knowledgeable about the plants and animals and so patient with all of our questions. The hike to the waterfall was beautiful and the swim was really fun too. We had a delicious Tico lunch and then a great hike to the lava flow and through the rainforest to end our day. What a wonderful time. This is a must do if you are in La Fortuna!!

Doing what: 2-in-1 Arenal Volcano Combo Tour: Volcano Hike and La Fortuna Waterfall

Shannon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We LOVED this tour! It was so nice to be in a canyon with just our small group instead of being herded around like tourists. The jumps and repels were intense. I don't like heights, but I made myself do them and I was glad. This is not a tour for those who aren't physically fit or adventurous. The guides were fun and happy to explain in both English and Spanish.

Doing what: Costa Rica Gravity Falls Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

Zack P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour/activity was AMAZING!!! One of a kind experience, if you are ok with testing your limits and conquering your fear of heights, then GO FOR IT! It is more of an extreme tour so be prepared to do exactly what is says in the description. The tour guides were outstanding and they made the experience that much more fantastic! We had a small group so I think that made it even more enjoyable. Everything we did was very safe and Desafio Adventure Company thats the company who does this tour takes safety very seriously and explains everything you will need to know before you begin, to ensure you have a safe and enjoyable experience.

If you have a GoPro camera, please take it, its worth it! we got some amazing videos!!! You don't want to take anything that is not 100 water proof because all of you will be soaked during this trip! Shorts or swimming trunks and t-shirts are just fine for what to wear, I would recommend Keen sandals which give you great support due to the fact that they are closed toe and cover your feet but are breathable and waterproof, these sandals also provide a good grip for the climbing. The other people with us had water shoes on and seemed to do fine as well.

The lunch that is included was the best meal we had during our 6 day stay in Costa Rica! Authentic, amazing and delicious. This company does an outstanding job and this tour is a MUST DO for you adventure seekers, it truly gives you the opportunity to see some amazing sights that you will not see on any other tour!

Doing what: Costa Rica Gravity Falls Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

Lauren G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Torn Review...
There are pros and cons to everything and I understand visiting another country (2nd trip) animals are treated differently. As a paying customer and animal lover, I expect animals to be treated with the best treatment, especially hauling horses.
The ride was great. Our guide, was good until we headed back to the ranch. I noticed that some of the horses were missing their shoes on the way to the waterfall and I mentioned it.
His response: 'It's not my job!'. Are you kidding me?!
My response: 'how would you like walking on rocks, cobblestone, and rough terrain all day?'
His response: 'ehhh- it wouldn't bother me'.
Yeah right. I did not appreciate his response and more importantly how the animals are treated. Horses are an attraction of Costa Rica and help provide jobs for locals. Mis-treating animals infuriates, saddens, and makes me feel guilty for paying a company that does not take care of their animals.

On a positive, the waterfall was awesome-- an amazing creation. I would not recommend for anyone not in shape or with bad knees due to the .70 mile stair hike (I tracked the distance).

Overall, this was a great experience, but I would recommend another outlet with healthier horses.

Doing what: Horseback Riding to La Fortuna Waterfall

david b

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

it was o, but could have been better if the guide would stop a few time for 30 seconds to let the guess take some pictures

Doing what: Horseback Riding to La Fortuna Waterfall

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message