La Fortuna ATTRACTIONS See all

Tabacon Hot Springs

In this well-watered rain forest pierced by the perfect gray cone of Volcan Arenal, it is not only lava that wells up from the depths of the Earth. Steaming hot springs pour like a river from the great mountain’s barren flanks, coursing through the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my vacation. I loved everything. However it made for a long day. We were picked up later than when we told but the tour made up for it by 200.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour of Arenal and the Tabacon hot springs. Evene with light Cloud Cover, Arenal is Jurassic-awsome to visit and the hot springs are simply unreal!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karina S
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The highlight of this tour is definitely the Hot Spring. I was honestly going for the volcano but there was a huge cloud right on top of it. I actually met people that visited the volcano a day after me and got to see it fully with clear skies, bad luck for me I suppose. After the volcano we headed to Tabacon Hot Spring and that pretty much was it. I loved it. The place was gorgeous. The food by the pool's bar is not included but you must try their ceviche and patacones, they were the best I had in the area. Yes, the trip is long if you are coming from Sa Jose or Alahuela area but totally worth it. My guide was Hernan. he took time to talk to every person on the tour. Thank you for such a nice time.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide food and scenery was great hot springs amazing. Only negative is it ended up being a 16 hour day and the bus ride to and from is horrible. But not much you can do about bus ride. But other then that everything was perfect and I would definitely recommend it just be well rested

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

By far one of the best tours I have even taken. The transportation bus was old and noisy and could not hear anything. The guide did not seem to care where you can hear him or not. On the way back the bus broke down. Luckily the driver was smart and able to fix it. Got back at 11 pm back to the hotel- too late for me.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

good volcano visit. Tabacon was fantastic

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This started out badly when the tour guides were late then we had to wait for other people from our hotel (rudeness is part of traveling, not the tour company). Get on the road and the guide immediately starts warning of CRs unpredictable weather which was a red flag for us. The guide gave a running commentary of CR which was a nice feature, we learned some nice info about CR as a whole. Had to stop along the way to pick up some other people from a zip line tour which wouldn't have been a problem except they weren't ready and our guide was hesitant to prod them along (the rudeness factor again). Finally get to the volcano/hot springs area and sit down to a hour long lunch after sitting for 4-1/2 hours to get there after we were told it would take about 3 hours. Lunch was very good but ate up more time than expected. Then back on the bus to a scenic outlook at a volcano we couldn't see as the weather had gotten horrible during lunch. Based on the Viator tour description we thought the volcano part of the tour would have been more than standing miles from the base. Finally to the hot springs after getting stuck at the scenic outlook in rain as our guide wouldn't run back to bus in the rain. Tabacon hot springs was the high point of the day, this place was amazing, theres enough hot springs pools to satisfy everyone and the towel service was excellent and the locker rooms and showers were very clean. The dinner provided was top notch but the service to get drinks was a bit slow. We felt rushed during dinner as the guide wanted to get on the road so that lasted less than an hour. Back on the bus and we stop at a bar halfway to use the restrooms and endure harsh stares from the locals, gross toilet facilities and a longer than expected stop for the same people we waited on at the zip line stop and still the guide seems like hes friends with them so wont prod them along. All in all, over 7 hours on a bus for 3 hours in the hot springs. Very misleading Viator.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Spent almost entire morning in a lame craft shop and then took us to a view point to see Volcano for 15 min. The best part of the tour is the hot spring in the resort Tabacon. The spring is awesome.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

superb ,profesional knowledge guía

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgable on the volcano and its history. The hot springs resort is beautiful! Very relaxing!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Relaxing easy day. Tabacon is beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day trip! Good transportation and guide. The food was excellent. Definitely do Tabacon Hot Springs!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour was good but the tour guide English was not very good. It actually made the time on the bus annoying at times. The time spent at Hot Springs was amazing but the trip was tiring I would like to suggest to spend the night in Fortuna spend a few more hours in the hot springs and head back the next day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Beautiful area. As usual, couldn't see the peak of Arenal, but still very impressive. Hot springs at Tabacon also very relaxng, and both meals were very good. Long ride there and back, and the first bus had a problem with AC, so we had to switch buses. Good drivers. Good guide (Galvin?)

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the view of the volcano. We were able to take some awesome pictures. The TABACON Hot Springs was so worth it. This was the best hit springs I ever been to. We took our two kids and they loved it to. After working hard at work all year trust my husband and I needed this. It was greet!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

George was a great driver and Max was a great host with a nice sense of humor. He was informative about the background of the things we were seeing along the way and history of the area. Arenal Volcano has not been an active volcano since Oct 2010. The weather determines whether or not you can see the top of the volcano. The area and sights are beautiful and unforgettable. Tabacon Hot Springs were amazing. My sister is very well traveled and lists this as as one of the best, most unusually wonderful things she has ever experienced. I agree. Many hot waterfalls and variety of hidden warm water pools and trails with gorgeous foliage in a natural setting. The water has a high mineral content and is very soothing and refreshing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message