The majestic gray cone of Costa Rica’s most famous volcano, Arenal, has the frustrating habit of veiling itself in thick clouds about 80% of the time. That’s why clever travelers plan to spend a few days in the region, patiently waiting for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip. Oscar was our guide, he was funny and informative and gave the tour in English and Spanish. The weather cooperated which gave us a great view of Arenal. Good lunch and dinner and the Tabacon springs were pretty amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kristie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The drive was long but it was very beautiful and the hot springs were the best part of the whole trip. Both of the meals were exceptional!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Freddy, our guide, made this trip fantastic. He knew history, geography, flora an fauna. Well spoken and well traveled. Would take a tour with him anytime anywhere. Some minor confusion about lunch and dinner, but Freddy was in contact with some one during the whole trip and made it all work. A real professional !!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

Douglas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide, Ruben, was helpful, friendly, and full of interesting information. We had a great time and were truly impressed by the remarkably blue water of the river. Be sure to see the spot where the water suddenly looks blue! It was raining when we were there and upon Ruben's recommendation, we rented rubber boots. Good thing we did because our hiking shoes would have been destroyed!

Doing what: Río Celeste Waterfall Hike from Arenal

Laura K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Amazing scenery. The drive is long, but they stop for lunch and dinner. I really enjoyed the Baldi hot springs, and just seeing the area. However, there is very little about the actual volcano - we just drove past it, and since it's quiet now, there wasn't much to see. Some members of our group did the zip lining and said it was the most amazing experience of their lives - the lines are long and very high up, so they said it was just like flying. I went on the nature walk, which was not as much fun, and a bit strenuous. Some places are steep and require you to step on an off rocks. If you can easily step up onto a kitchen chair, you'll have no problem. If you can't, don't go on this hike.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

Ines U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was so nice, it's definitely a great, relaxing start to the day . The guide, Oscar, and driver, Juan Carlos, were both super nice and helpful. We spotted iguanas, birds, monkey and bats. Oscars knowledge of the plants and animals was great and he explained it all really well. His English was really good too so everyone could understand him.
We were slowly drifting down the river for probably about 1.5 to 2 hours. But it's really nice. Oscar really took his time, stopped at several places to observe animals and did a great job.
Upon arrival Juan Carlos had cut up pineapples and watermellons for us, juice and cookies were also waiting for us to enjoy while the two of them took care of the boat.
The 4.5 hours in the tour description can be misleading a bit, for me it was exactly 4 hours from hotel pick up to drop off, so don't expect to be on the river for 4 hours but it was great nonetheless. Definitely worth every penny. Those two guide also deserve a raise!

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

Mani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour and not to be missed when in the Arenal area. Our guide Javier was great and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Ines U

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was doomed from the start. Firstly, I must say that the description on Viator is wrong. Suppposedly this tour should last about 4.5 hours, the actual hanging bridges however, took maybe 1.5 hours. So I feel this should be corrected.
Also, this tour was rushed, One couple booked on this tour was late and then had to be back at the hotel at 11 for their checkout SO DON'T BOOK A 4 HOUR TOUR!!! and the guide then rushed us through everything. We arrived at the park, the guide walked too quickly to enjoy the landscape. Most of the bridges are not hanging but just normal bridges. The few hanging bridges are nice enough but we didn't really see any animals bad timing I guess. But still our guide just hurried us through, stopped only a handful of times to show us a snake or iguana and that was it. We arrived at about 8:30 and at 10 we were ushered back into the car. One couple asked to go to the souvenir shop and the guide said maximum 5 minutes, because we had to drop off the other couple at their hotel on time. I would have just left them. Once back in the car we received a little juice box and cookies while we drove back to the hotels.
This tour was not worth it. Not worth the money, not worth the time and I definitely do not recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Huong L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour and the guides were amazing and made me feel very comfortable and I had a great time!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Shannon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We LOVED this tour! It was so nice to be in a canyon with just our small group instead of being herded around like tourists. The jumps and repels were intense. I don't like heights, but I made myself do them and I was glad. This is not a tour for those who aren't physically fit or adventurous. The guides were fun and happy to explain in both English and Spanish.

Doing what: Costa Rica Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

Yuri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An absolutely awesome adventure. Victor, Joshua and David were fun, very professional and always concerned for our safety. The canyons, waterfalls and environment in general were all gorgeous and beautiful...my only regret is not having a GoPro to capture it all. The rappelling itself was amazing and everyone should experience it...my only super slight complaint would be that you only rappel down about halfway on the second largest canyon and about a fourth of the way on the largest before letting go and sliding down the line...although the slide down is fun, I would have rather rappelled to the bottom of each. Despite this minor quibble, I would still highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Laura I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I cannot recommend this tour enough. Our guide, Max, was courteous and knowledgeable. The restaurant where we had lunch was well chosen for its location and quality of food I particularly like the guanabana, all typical Costa Rican and tasty. We were able to see the volcano clearly from the viewpoint - after a short steep climb up some steps - thanks to an earlier thunderstorm clearing away the clouds from the top. Tabacon was a little piece of paradise in a heavenly location. I tried most of the pools loved the cascading wall of water, and felt like I earned the large cocktail from the swim up bar afterwards! Dinner was buffet style, good choice with friendly and efficient service. All that was left to do was to fall asleep on the bus back to San Jose.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Terry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a Great Tour. Our Tour Guide Herne was very informative and communicated well in both Spanish and English. We chose Chicken for lunch and it was very good! We drove around the Arenal Volcano and stopped a few different places to take pictures and such. The Hot Springs was the highlight of the tour. You get approximately 4 hours to relax in the Hot springs. There is also a pool with a Bar for those who enjoy cocktails. They provide a Dinner Buffet with everything you could imagine. After a long day, our driver got us back to our Hotel Safely.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Irene H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The experience was good but it didn't meet my expectations. The brochure in the business center sold a different picture and description. The guide was pretty knowledgeable and engaging. The van that picked us up from the hotel was not what was advertised on the pamphlets. Along the ride, the guide did share interesting facts about the volcano and the surrounding areas. I had pictured our tour to be more adventurous. We drove up to the national park, climbed up a few flights of stairs, and got a view of the volcano. The stop lasted no more than 20 minutes before we headed to the Tabaco Hot Springs Resort. The hot springs pools did make up for some of the disappointment. Lunch and dinner were provided. Lunch was provided before the national park stop. Good food at the restaurant we made a stop at. Dinner was provided at the resort buffet style. We had about 3 hours at the resort before having dinner and making the trip back to San Jose. It was a good experience but not worth the 100 plus paid. We were also mislead on the time we'd return to the hotel which caused us to miss the Costa Rica vs Uruguay 8pm soccer match 30 lost. The hotel representative told us we would be back to the hotel by 6pm but we didn't make it back until 1030pm huge difference. You should definitely see the volcano and definitely visit the hot springs resort but not pay over 130 to do it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Grabien was our tour guide for the day and he helped make this tour the highlight of my trip. The volcano was beautiful, but Tabacon was simply amazing. I wish I could give this more stars!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Rochelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This day trip was very nice. I enjoyed looking at all the scenery as we drove to Arenal Volcano. I liked the stop in Sarchi for the purchasing of Souvenirs. I feel like they had a very good selection at decent prices. I am a souvenir t-shirt person, so this was exactly what I was looking for. The lunch meal we had was very tasty, especially the yucca desert that was offered to us. I enjoyed the drive through La Fortuna, it was very nice to see what the city had to offer. The Volcano was beautiful, I wish we could have gotten closer but it was still a very nice view. There were also a lot of Guava trees with ripe Guavas on them there. The best part of this day trip would have to be the visit to Tabacon Hot Springs. I have never seen hot springs before so this was exceptionally amazing to me. It felt amazing to get in. The way this hotel has it tropical landscaping and architecture set up makes this a beautiful treat. The dinner buffet was very well done. All of the food items tasted great. I really like the fresh pasta bar where a chef prepared your pasta dish to order. The ride back is a bit long and very bumpy. Besides that I feel that this was worth the price.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Zack P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour/activity was AMAZING!!! One of a kind experience, if you are ok with testing your limits and conquering your fear of heights, then GO FOR IT! It is more of an extreme tour so be prepared to do exactly what is says in the description. The tour guides were outstanding and they made the experience that much more fantastic! We had a small group so I think that made it even more enjoyable. Everything we did was very safe and Desafio Adventure Company thats the company who does this tour takes safety very seriously and explains everything you will need to know before you begin, to ensure you have a safe and enjoyable experience.

If you have a GoPro camera, please take it, its worth it! we got some amazing videos!!! You don't want to take anything that is not 100 water proof because all of you will be soaked during this trip! Shorts or swimming trunks and t-shirts are just fine for what to wear, I would recommend Keen sandals which give you great support due to the fact that they are closed toe and cover your feet but are breathable and waterproof, these sandals also provide a good grip for the climbing. The other people with us had water shoes on and seemed to do fine as well.

The lunch that is included was the best meal we had during our 6 day stay in Costa Rica! Authentic, amazing and delicious. This company does an outstanding job and this tour is a MUST DO for you adventure seekers, it truly gives you the opportunity to see some amazing sights that you will not see on any other tour!

Doing what: Costa Rica Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

Zack P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was so much fun! we had never been 4 wheeling before and Im so glad this was our first experience! We went through small village communities and got to see some of the rain forest. They let you practice first to get the hang of it and observe you to make sure you are getting the hang of it. It is very easy, even if you have never ridden before, which was the case with me and my brother.

You will most likely get dirty so don't wear your good clothes. There is a lot of mud and sitting water you will go through and the other 4 wheelers will kick up mud and water on you as well. Also my brother didn't wear sunscreen and he paid for it, so don't forget to wear sunscreen and in some areas the bugs are bad so wear your bug spray. If you have a GoPro camera, wear it!! we got some great videos with it and were so glad we got to capture those memories!

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

Melisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was unbelievably amazing. The guides were super friendly and very happy. They made me feel completely safe when doing the rappelling and went out of their way to make the experience memorable. The photo option was very affordable ($25 USD). I would recommend this to everyone! Amazing!!!!!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

steve w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very fun trip and I would recommend if in the area. Good tour guide and since I am afraid of heights, very scary!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Marquita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my vacation. I loved everything. However it made for a long day. We were picked up later than when we told but the tour made up for it by 200.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lane L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour of Arenal and the Tabacon hot springs. Evene with light Cloud Cover, Arenal is Jurassic-awsome to visit and the hot springs are simply unreal!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Katie

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was good, but not worth the price. Our guide was great, friendly and knowledgable and the walk was pretty with the bridges. It was a good experience, but at only about 2.5 hours long and not good value. You're probably better off going to the attraction yourself-it's not far from la fortuna

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

ssnandula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Must see attraction

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message