The majestic gray cone of Costa Rica’s most famous volcano, Arenal, has the frustrating habit of veiling itself in thick clouds about 80% of the time. That’s why clever travelers plan to spend a few days in the region, patiently waiting for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Grabien was our tour guide for the day and he helped make this tour the highlight of my trip. The volcano was beautiful, but Tabacon was simply amazing. I wish I could give this more stars!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This day trip was very nice. I enjoyed looking at all the scenery as we drove to Arenal Volcano. I liked the stop in Sarchi for the purchasing of Souvenirs. I feel like they had a very good selection at decent prices. I am a souvenir t-shirt person, so this was exactly what I was looking for. The lunch meal we had was very tasty, especially the yucca desert that was offered to us. I enjoyed the drive through La Fortuna, it was very nice to see what the city had to offer. The Volcano was beautiful, I wish we could have gotten closer but it was still a very nice view. There were also a lot of Guava trees with ripe Guavas on them there. The best part of this day trip would have to be the visit to Tabacon Hot Springs. I have never seen hot springs before so this was exceptionally amazing to me. It felt amazing to get in. The way this hotel has it tropical landscaping and architecture set up makes this a beautiful treat. The dinner buffet was very well done. All of the food items tasted great. I really like the fresh pasta bar where a chef prepared your pasta dish to order. The ride back is a bit long and very bumpy. Besides that I feel that this was worth the price.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour/activity was AMAZING!!! One of a kind experience, if you are ok with testing your limits and conquering your fear of heights, then GO FOR IT! It is more of an extreme tour so be prepared to do exactly what is says in the description. The tour guides were outstanding and they made the experience that much more fantastic! We had a small group so I think that made it even more enjoyable. Everything we did was very safe and Desafio Adventure Company thats the company who does this tour takes safety very seriously and explains everything you will need to know before you begin, to ensure you have a safe and enjoyable experience.

If you have a GoPro camera, please take it, its worth it! we got some amazing videos!!! You don't want to take anything that is not 100 water proof because all of you will be soaked during this trip! Shorts or swimming trunks and t-shirts are just fine for what to wear, I would recommend Keen sandals which give you great support due to the fact that they are closed toe and cover your feet but are breathable and waterproof, these sandals also provide a good grip for the climbing. The other people with us had water shoes on and seemed to do fine as well.

The lunch that is included was the best meal we had during our 6 day stay in Costa Rica! Authentic, amazing and delicious. This company does an outstanding job and this tour is a MUST DO for you adventure seekers, it truly gives you the opportunity to see some amazing sights that you will not see on any other tour!

Doing what: Best Costa Rica Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was so much fun! we had never been 4 wheeling before and Im so glad this was our first experience! We went through small village communities and got to see some of the rain forest. They let you practice first to get the hang of it and observe you to make sure you are getting the hang of it. It is very easy, even if you have never ridden before, which was the case with me and my brother.

You will most likely get dirty so don't wear your good clothes. There is a lot of mud and sitting water you will go through and the other 4 wheelers will kick up mud and water on you as well. Also my brother didn't wear sunscreen and he paid for it, so don't forget to wear sunscreen and in some areas the bugs are bad so wear your bug spray. If you have a GoPro camera, wear it!! we got some great videos with it and were so glad we got to capture those memories!

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was unbelievably amazing. The guides were super friendly and very happy. They made me feel completely safe when doing the rappelling and went out of their way to make the experience memorable. The photo option was very affordable ($25 USD). I would recommend this to everyone! Amazing!!!!!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very fun trip and I would recommend if in the area. Good tour guide and since I am afraid of heights, very scary!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my vacation. I loved everything. However it made for a long day. We were picked up later than when we told but the tour made up for it by 200.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour of Arenal and the Tabacon hot springs. Evene with light Cloud Cover, Arenal is Jurassic-awsome to visit and the hot springs are simply unreal!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was good, but not worth the price. Our guide was great, friendly and knowledgable and the walk was pretty with the bridges. It was a good experience, but at only about 2.5 hours long and not good value. You're probably better off going to the attraction yourself-it's not far from la fortuna

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Must see attraction

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Karina S
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The highlight of this tour is definitely the Hot Spring. I was honestly going for the volcano but there was a huge cloud right on top of it. I actually met people that visited the volcano a day after me and got to see it fully with clear skies, bad luck for me I suppose. After the volcano we headed to Tabacon Hot Spring and that pretty much was it. I loved it. The place was gorgeous. The food by the pool's bar is not included but you must try their ceviche and patacones, they were the best I had in the area. Yes, the trip is long if you are coming from Sa Jose or Alahuela area but totally worth it. My guide was Hernan. he took time to talk to every person on the tour. Thank you for such a nice time.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide food and scenery was great hot springs amazing. Only negative is it ended up being a 16 hour day and the bus ride to and from is horrible. But not much you can do about bus ride. But other then that everything was perfect and I would definitely recommend it just be well rested

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

By far one of the best tours I have even taken. The transportation bus was old and noisy and could not hear anything. The guide did not seem to care where you can hear him or not. On the way back the bus broke down. Luckily the driver was smart and able to fix it. Got back at 11 pm back to the hotel- too late for me.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

good volcano visit. Tabacon was fantastic

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This started out badly when the tour guides were late then we had to wait for other people from our hotel (rudeness is part of traveling, not the tour company). Get on the road and the guide immediately starts warning of CRs unpredictable weather which was a red flag for us. The guide gave a running commentary of CR which was a nice feature, we learned some nice info about CR as a whole. Had to stop along the way to pick up some other people from a zip line tour which wouldn't have been a problem except they weren't ready and our guide was hesitant to prod them along (the rudeness factor again). Finally get to the volcano/hot springs area and sit down to a hour long lunch after sitting for 4-1/2 hours to get there after we were told it would take about 3 hours. Lunch was very good but ate up more time than expected. Then back on the bus to a scenic outlook at a volcano we couldn't see as the weather had gotten horrible during lunch. Based on the Viator tour description we thought the volcano part of the tour would have been more than standing miles from the base. Finally to the hot springs after getting stuck at the scenic outlook in rain as our guide wouldn't run back to bus in the rain. Tabacon hot springs was the high point of the day, this place was amazing, theres enough hot springs pools to satisfy everyone and the towel service was excellent and the locker rooms and showers were very clean. The dinner provided was top notch but the service to get drinks was a bit slow. We felt rushed during dinner as the guide wanted to get on the road so that lasted less than an hour. Back on the bus and we stop at a bar halfway to use the restrooms and endure harsh stares from the locals, gross toilet facilities and a longer than expected stop for the same people we waited on at the zip line stop and still the guide seems like hes friends with them so wont prod them along. All in all, over 7 hours on a bus for 3 hours in the hot springs. Very misleading Viator.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The guide picked us up at our hotel and we drove to the hanging bridges site. The bridges (some more fixed than others) gave a great view of the canopy. The guide pointed out many things that we would have missed (a viper snake coiled on a branch, the hollow trumpet tree, hummingbirds) and I don't think we would have appreciated the close view of the canopy nearly as much without him. His English and sense of humor were great. Please note that most "canopy" tours around Costa Rica are zip lines, and, while fun, don't focus on a view of the canopy. Bridge tours, on the other hand, do.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Spent almost entire morning in a lame craft shop and then took us to a view point to see Volcano for 15 min. The best part of the tour is the hot spring in the resort Tabacon. The spring is awesome.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Torn Review...
There are pros and cons to everything and I understand visiting another country (2nd trip) animals are treated differently. As a paying customer and animal lover, I expect animals to be treated with the best treatment, especially hauling horses.
The ride was great. Our guide, was good until we headed back to the ranch. I noticed that some of the horses were missing their shoes on the way to the waterfall and I mentioned it.
His response: 'It's not my job!'. Are you kidding me?!
My response: 'how would you like walking on rocks, cobblestone, and rough terrain all day?'
His response: 'ehhh- it wouldn't bother me'.
Yeah right. I did not appreciate his response and more importantly how the animals are treated. Horses are an attraction of Costa Rica and help provide jobs for locals. Mis-treating animals infuriates, saddens, and makes me feel guilty for paying a company that does not take care of their animals.

On a positive, the waterfall was awesome-- an amazing creation. I would not recommend for anyone not in shape or with bad knees due to the .70 mile stair hike (I tracked the distance).

Overall, this was a great experience, but I would recommend another outlet with healthier horses.

Doing what: Horseback Riding to La Fortuna Waterfall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

superb ,profesional knowledge guía

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgable on the volcano and its history. The hot springs resort is beautiful! Very relaxing!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Relaxing easy day. Tabacon is beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day trip! Good transportation and guide. The food was excellent. Definitely do Tabacon Hot Springs!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message