The majestic gray cone of Costa Rica’s most famous volcano, Arenal, has the frustrating habit of veiling itself in thick clouds about 80% of the time. That’s why clever travelers plan to spend a few days in the region, patiently waiting for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family enjoyed this tremenously! We had a great guide with us and felt very safe. We stopped and had some delicious fruit halfway down the river and after it ended, we were taken to a delicious organic farm for a wonderful lunch. We saw sloths, iguanas and other wildlife along the way. We would highly recommend it!:

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Bill T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Excellent guides. Recommended...

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Hosni A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Pros:
Tour guide was a blast :
Tabacón is really great, I had one of the most relaxing experiences of my life, I did not wanted to return to San José!!!!
Food was good, we had a traditional casado meal on a local restaurant, included in the price.
Dinner at Tabacón, very nice and big buffet, with seafood, fish, salads, pasta, meat, really nice.

Cons:
We really did not stop for more than 20 minutes to see the volcano... which I wan't very happy with.
The seats on the van were extremely small and unconfortable.

It's a nice trip for the price, but don't expect to see much of the volcano.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

dan b

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

good glad I did it great view of arenal

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Britney C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time and our guide El Guapo was hilarious and took great photos. We definitely got to go fast and zoom through the jungle! Originally when we booked the tour it said we would go to the hot springs and do a mud bath at the end but we only went to a small stream nearby and came back but we were okay with that.

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

Britney C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A little boring and I would say save your money. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable but we mainly seen bugs and lizards on the tour. At the end we did find a howler monkey and one tucan but overall it was mainly different views of the rain forest and learning about plants and animals, which is great if you are really interested in that. I just found it to be anti-climatic.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. We have a fairly large group and was broken into two separate groups with two separate guides. They also arrived on time to the hotel. We had a great time and enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Marc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip. Oscar was our guide, he was funny and informative and gave the tour in English and Spanish. The weather cooperated which gave us a great view of Arenal. Good lunch and dinner and the Tabacon springs were pretty amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kristie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The drive was long but it was very beautiful and the hot springs were the best part of the whole trip. Both of the meals were exceptional!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Freddy, our guide, made this trip fantastic. He knew history, geography, flora an fauna. Well spoken and well traveled. Would take a tour with him anytime anywhere. Some minor confusion about lunch and dinner, but Freddy was in contact with some one during the whole trip and made it all work. A real professional !!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very knowledgeable host - he gave the whole tour in both Spanish and English. I wish we had a little more time to shop in Sarchi we only had 20 minutes for a Costco-sized store packed with wooden gifts, but it was by far the best bargain for souvenirs that I saw while in Costa Rica.

It was a bit cloudy/rainy when we got to Arenal so we never saw the top of the volcano, but got some good photos regardless. Afterwards, the Tabacon hot springs and resort were AMAZING - lots of springs to venture through, a spa if you're into that, and a swim up bar in the hotel pool. Plus the food buffet for dinner was incredible.

The only downside was how far this was from San Jose... about 3 hours each way, so it was a long ride back on the bus.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Megan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an Awesome tour! They picked us up from our hotel in La Fortuna. There were only 5 people total in our tour. The Hike it self is not a hard hike BUT I highly recommend renting their rain boots for 3 so bring socks Because the mud was up past out ankles and my shoes kept falling off. All the lookout points and waterfall are Beautiful! And the tour includes lunch at a cute restaurant in the rainforest :

Doing what: Río Celeste Waterfall Hike from Arenal

s.horlick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We got picked up on time. The driver was very careful and attentive. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and explained everything well. Took his time. Very good guide. Enjoyed the whole experience.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Kelly I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing time, guides incredibly professional and helpful. Lots of thrills against a gorgeous jungle backdrop.

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

njtbaugh

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Pleasant drift down a lovely river. The guides were very good and informative. The pickup service was responsive to changes to schedule. Would recommend.

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

Douglas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide, Ruben, was helpful, friendly, and full of interesting information. We had a great time and were truly impressed by the remarkably blue water of the river. Be sure to see the spot where the water suddenly looks blue! It was raining when we were there and upon Ruben's recommendation, we rented rubber boots. Good thing we did because our hiking shoes would have been destroyed!

Doing what: Río Celeste Waterfall Hike from Arenal

Laura K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Amazing scenery. The drive is long, but they stop for lunch and dinner. I really enjoyed the Baldi hot springs, and just seeing the area. However, there is very little about the actual volcano - we just drove past it, and since it's quiet now, there wasn't much to see. Some members of our group did the zip lining and said it was the most amazing experience of their lives - the lines are long and very high up, so they said it was just like flying. I went on the nature walk, which was not as much fun, and a bit strenuous. Some places are steep and require you to step on an off rocks. If you can easily step up onto a kitchen chair, you'll have no problem. If you can't, don't go on this hike.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

Ines U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was so nice, it's definitely a great, relaxing start to the day . The guide, Oscar, and driver, Juan Carlos, were both super nice and helpful. We spotted iguanas, birds, monkey and bats. Oscars knowledge of the plants and animals was great and he explained it all really well. His English was really good too so everyone could understand him.
We were slowly drifting down the river for probably about 1.5 to 2 hours. But it's really nice. Oscar really took his time, stopped at several places to observe animals and did a great job.
Upon arrival Juan Carlos had cut up pineapples and watermellons for us, juice and cookies were also waiting for us to enjoy while the two of them took care of the boat.
The 4.5 hours in the tour description can be misleading a bit, for me it was exactly 4 hours from hotel pick up to drop off, so don't expect to be on the river for 4 hours but it was great nonetheless. Definitely worth every penny. Those two guide also deserve a raise!

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

Mani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour and not to be missed when in the Arenal area. Our guide Javier was great and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Ines U

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was doomed from the start. Firstly, I must say that the description on Viator is wrong. Suppposedly this tour should last about 4.5 hours, the actual hanging bridges however, took maybe 1.5 hours. So I feel this should be corrected.
Also, this tour was rushed, One couple booked on this tour was late and then had to be back at the hotel at 11 for their checkout SO DON'T BOOK A 4 HOUR TOUR!!! and the guide then rushed us through everything. We arrived at the park, the guide walked too quickly to enjoy the landscape. Most of the bridges are not hanging but just normal bridges. The few hanging bridges are nice enough but we didn't really see any animals bad timing I guess. But still our guide just hurried us through, stopped only a handful of times to show us a snake or iguana and that was it. We arrived at about 8:30 and at 10 we were ushered back into the car. One couple asked to go to the souvenir shop and the guide said maximum 5 minutes, because we had to drop off the other couple at their hotel on time. I would have just left them. Once back in the car we received a little juice box and cookies while we drove back to the hotels.
This tour was not worth it. Not worth the money, not worth the time and I definitely do not recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Huong L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour and the guides were amazing and made me feel very comfortable and I had a great time!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Shannon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We LOVED this tour! It was so nice to be in a canyon with just our small group instead of being herded around like tourists. The jumps and repels were intense. I don't like heights, but I made myself do them and I was glad. This is not a tour for those who aren't physically fit or adventurous. The guides were fun and happy to explain in both English and Spanish.

Doing what: Costa Rica Gravity Falls Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

Yuri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An absolutely awesome adventure. Victor, Joshua and David were fun, very professional and always concerned for our safety. The canyons, waterfalls and environment in general were all gorgeous and beautiful...my only regret is not having a GoPro to capture it all. The rappelling itself was amazing and everyone should experience it...my only super slight complaint would be that you only rappel down about halfway on the second largest canyon and about a fourth of the way on the largest before letting go and sliding down the line...although the slide down is fun, I would have rather rappelled to the bottom of each. Despite this minor quibble, I would still highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Laura I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I cannot recommend this tour enough. Our guide, Max, was courteous and knowledgeable. The restaurant where we had lunch was well chosen for its location and quality of food I particularly like the guanabana, all typical Costa Rican and tasty. We were able to see the volcano clearly from the viewpoint - after a short steep climb up some steps - thanks to an earlier thunderstorm clearing away the clouds from the top. Tabacon was a little piece of paradise in a heavenly location. I tried most of the pools loved the cascading wall of water, and felt like I earned the large cocktail from the swim up bar afterwards! Dinner was buffet style, good choice with friendly and efficient service. All that was left to do was to fall asleep on the bus back to San Jose.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message