The national park-protected Saona Island (or Isla Saona) lies just off the southern coast of the Dominican Republic. Lovely beaches fringe this remote slice of heaven, with the best swimming at Mano Juan and Punta Gorda. It’s an ideal beach ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 208 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We completely enjoyed our tour during our recent trip to the Dominican. Our guide - Benji - was fantastic - he was funny and entertaining the entire time. He also knew a lot about the country and its history. The highlights had to be the BBQ at Saona Island, the speed boat ride home, and the stop at the natural pool where the starfish were - my youngest child age 9 LOVED swimming and picking up the starfish. It was excellent!

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Yveta G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The crew picked us up exactly on time and they were so funny and informative, we had a blast!

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Shelva G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the most amazing tour and highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Molly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a blast!!! Totally worth it and the water is beautiful!!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Melinda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The catamaran ride was fantastic. From the moment we boarded the boat, the crew was full of life and so welcoming. They made sure everyone had something to drink and was having fun. The island BBQ was delicious and seeing the star fish was great. Saona was beautiful! I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

pepperjackm United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Benjamin was great host, small group, could have skipped the tour of Altos.
Suggest if have choice speed boat over to Saona, blue hole was fun, water refreshing, clear, water entry and exits from boats, shoes off in boats, they do not want the sand.
Island was white sand beach, few weeds, great beach, shelving, no close reef, so snorkeling not a worthwhile activity.
Typical Beach buffet, chicken, fish,rice, fruit, no running water, water to wash hands at Banos.
Do this trip, bring hand sanitizer, sun screen, towel, snacks, no books or kindle's, boat or beach time.

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

jafar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We Enjoyed every moment of it, both guide and crew members were friendly and helpful.My wife had her knee replaced recently there fore she had walking problem the crew members helped her when ever she needed help.The pick up driver was excellent.We would highly recommend.

Doing what: Saona Paradise Island Speedboat and Catamaran Excursion

Nicholas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great time! The bus picked us up on time and transported us to the port to pick up our catamaran. The tour guide, bus driver, and all the staff on the boats were very friendly, fun, and helpful. And Isla Saona is beautiful!!! Our stop in the sandbar to swim and see starfish was also very fun. This excursion was definitely the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Punta Cana Catamaran and Speedboat Cruise to Saona Island

CINDY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice trip, good staff, very nice catamaran. The island is beautiful, the food was good, very relaxing excursion.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

h.stkitts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderfully relaxing full day excursion. The tour guide Mota was superfriendly and very knowledgeable about all things Dominican and happily explained historical facts to us en route. The bus from Bavaro to La Romana was very comfortable and a smooth ride the whole way. We then boarded the catamaran and sailed to Saona Island for 2.5 hours of relaxation on the beautiful and tranquil island. The buffet lunch was very nice. There are some vendors on the island but they truly don't harass you and if you wish to purchase anything they are happy to sell their wares. We then took a speedboat to a little shallow cove to see starfish. We didn't see that many, but the boat crew dove down to find some for us to see. We then took the speedboat back the rest of the way which was a lot of fun! On the way back to Bavaro we stopped a little market/mall for half an hour. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Mayur P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was one of my most memorable one during my Punta Cana vacation. Island is beautiful, well maintained. Catamaran cruise was enjoyable too, nice music, dance and drinks!!! Other best part if the natural swimming pool in the middle of ocean, where we can see starfishes, was pretty awesome. We had rainfall for half the day, so did not fully enjoy the place, but there is very little anyone can do about the weather in DR.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sharondeyhle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour is good but hotel pick up stressful, drivers speak no English.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Carmen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AMAZING excursion. Francis was our Tour leader and did a fantastic job!!! Saona was beautiful, but the private island time even more exciting, and the starfish at the off coast swim were amazing. HIGHLY recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

ScorpionQueen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our pick up time was great and the ride was a nice and comfortable one. I loved the experience and the weather and accommendations were excellent. The food was good however they should think about nets or covers for the food with the insects and flies. Other than that it was a wonderful time and when I go back to Punta Cana I wouldn't mind going on another tour.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Simone F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was amazing, the tour was great organized. we spend a great day! I would book it again!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

rosaalove7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

booked my tour through Viator whom use a local tour operator for the Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana. First we were picked up by our bus 10 mins late but that alright they work on Dominican time. Its hard to tell its there bus. The bus is very nice and air conditioned. The ride down to get to port was nice. Once we got to port we were directed to get on a small boat that took us to the Catamaran. Then we set sail on the catamaran the staff would hand Dixie cups of either coke, sprite, water, or rum. two staff member danced and try to get other too.We just enjoyed the ride. We then got off onto another small boat and went to the Blue lagoon first WOW! is all i can say the water here is amazing. we has lunch at 12:30. It was nice but watch out lots of fly's seem to come quickly. we enjoyed the beach for another 30 mins and then got a speed boat drove maybe 5 mins to the natural pool. at first we thought the starfish were fake but people around us had snorkeling gear and just kept finding one after another. we took picture with 2 different ones. we did this for about 20 mins and then off to Saona Island. I got to say thank god we did the Blue Lagoon first and for longer cause Saona wasn't as breathtaking it was more like the water back in Punta Cana and lots of annoying Vendors. i did get a massage from one lady and it was nice. They are expensive but haggle them down. Also there is an amazing tree covered in butterfly. you shake it and butterflies just come flying off. We were on Saona for only an hour and headed back to port at 3:30. we got back on the bus but first stopped at a shopping Center in Punta Cana our tour guide whom was fantastic Yoni Gutierrez stated 20 mins. we waited 45 mins for 2 people who took off. they did not return and we could not wait any longer. The market was small we took some kool pics next to some statues. we got back about 6:20. which can make for a long day make sure to take snack which we did. Overall

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Allan United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A perfect day of fun and sailing with some of the most beautiful exotic island scenes I have ever witnessed in my life. If youve not been to Dominican Republic before and only plan on doing one excursion Id make it this one.

The journey from our Punta Cana resort to La Romana harbour wasnt too long with the new roads in the region. It took around 1.5 hours with a brief comfort stop.

The catamaran for the outward trip to the island was large with a part open and part shaded deck, with nets to the front and was not overloaded. The boat crew served drinks frequently and encouraged a fun atmosphere. The island itself is pretty much perfect and paradise-like. National Park status helps it stay free of resorts, shops and being developed. On the island we had a couple of hours free time and an open beach bar whilst we relaxed, swam, snorkelled and waited for lunch to be cooked. It was delicious, served buffet style on the beach with BBQ fish and meats. There was also rice, beans, vegetables, Dominican spaghetti, salads and plenty of fresh cut fruit.

After lunch we had some more free time around the beach. We enjoyed a lovely reasonably priced haggle coconut oil massage from local ladies who were set up in beach huts for the day. For a few s we also bought a fresh coconut from a guy with a wheelbarrow full who cut the top and added a dash of rum to enjoy with the water inside, delicious!

When it was time to head back, we boarded speedboats for a fast-paced trip back to the mainland. We stopped along the way in the natural swimming pool. Its a waist deep area of calm turquoise sea. Here you can look for starfish. We found at least 3! They also serve drinks from the back of the speedboats. After that is done its time for a final speedy dash back to the port in La Romana before getting the coach back to resort.

Ive done the Saona excursion 3 times now with various operators, all do a similar itinerary for the day. The Viator trip was top notc

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sweetladytee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really nice outstanding excursion. A must do thing to do.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Isha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best part of our trip was this tour! A must do for all ages! Natural pool is AMAZING! Lunch served was the best we ate while vacationing! Don't waste your time buying the lobster it wasn't worth the 30 didnt prepare it properly

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

mitchjunk1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding! Enjoyed! Folks were great. Only downfall was the walk from the bus to the boat. Not that it was a long walk but there was trash all over the place.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

MARGARET B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out - tour guide excellent and very knowledgeable. highly recommended

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Natalie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Isla Saona es super linda, vale la pena el tour. Buen servicio! Sólo verifique muy bien la hora de salida con tiempo esto no es con Viator, sino con la empresa que estos contratan.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Arlene L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bascically a beach day on one of the most beautiful spots in the world. Speed boat out to our beach and a relaxing Catamaran criuse return. Party time if you are up to it. Lunch was good and drinks provided. What more could I ask for. Loved it!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message