The national park-protected Saona Island (or Isla Saona) lies just off the southern coast of the Dominican Republic. Lovely beaches fringe this remote slice of heaven, with the best swimming at Mano Juan and Punta Gorda. It’s an ideal beach ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

marianela m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful!!!! A must do! However, at the catamaran I was expecting diverse music and they were mostly playing reggaeton

Doing what: Saona Island Excursion by Catamaran and Speed Boat

Sudip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great excursion with lots of fun including music, dancing, drinking, swimming and eating. Highly recommended

Doing what: Saona Island Excursion by Catamaran and Speed Boat

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

awalker218 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We booked this trip online before going and my boyfriend got so sick that we missed our pick up on the day of the booking. I called and the tour operator was so nice, offering the next day as an option to go without extra charges, fees, or any hassle. Our tour operator was amazing! He spoke three different languages on the ride giving everyone a short history lesson on DR. The group was diverse and we made pickups at two other places before heading out. The Catamaran was so much fun, it was interesting to watch everyone get on, take a seat, and once the drinks were poured how those same people loosened up and began schmoozing and dancing and enjoying themselves! The island, Saona, was beautiful! The lunch was okay nothing special but the water was clear and blue and the sun was our friend! The ocean bottom was a little rocky with some shells but once you got past that little area, it was genuinely lovely! The ride back on the speedboat was great! Overall, this excursion was so much fun, it was a party, and it was relaxing at the same time! I would definitely book this excursion again!

Doing what: Punta Cana Catamaran and Speedboat Cruise to Saona Island

Suany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was amazing, the tour guys, the island . Espectacular!!!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Valerie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This excursion was awesome!! The entertainment was fun and they made sure everyone was involved. the sail out and the speedboat return was great. Visiting Saona Island was beautiful..just didn't like walking through the forest to get to the beach..lengthy walk. The lunch provided was very good and tasty. Visiting the island with the star fish was also great. Long tour exactly 10 hours but extremely fun, not a dull moment!

Doing what: Saona Island Excursion by Catamaran and Speed Boat

Michelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding adventure!!! Fun times on the catamaran, great drinks, music and fun!! BEWARE - take LOTS of bug spray. You have to walk through a little bit of a jungle to get to the beach party on the island and they ate me ALIVE!!!! But a fabulous time overall - I would definitely go again!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time. Didn't like the food much.

Doing what: Saona Island Excursion by Catamaran and Speed Boat

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time, but I had better food. Not impressed by the food.

Doing what: Saona Island Excursion by Catamaran and Speed Boat

Olivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Favourite tour of whole two week trip! Tour guide, driver, speedboats, catamaran, food, drinks all were PERFECT! strongly recommend

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Olivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Favourite tour of whole two week trip! Tour guide, driver, speedboats, catamaran, food, drinks all were PERFECT! strongly recommend

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Cindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We completely enjoyed our tour during our recent trip to the Dominican. Our guide - Benji - was fantastic - he was funny and entertaining the entire time. He also knew a lot about the country and its history. The highlights had to be the BBQ at Saona Island, the speed boat ride home, and the stop at the natural pool where the starfish were - my youngest child age 9 LOVED swimming and picking up the starfish. It was excellent!

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Yveta G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The crew picked us up exactly on time and they were so funny and informative, we had a blast!

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Shelva G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the most amazing tour and highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Molly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a blast!!! Totally worth it and the water is beautiful!!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Melinda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The catamaran ride was fantastic. From the moment we boarded the boat, the crew was full of life and so welcoming. They made sure everyone had something to drink and was having fun. The island BBQ was delicious and seeing the star fish was great. Saona was beautiful! I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

pepperjackm United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Benjamin was great host, small group, could have skipped the tour of Altos.
Suggest if have choice speed boat over to Saona, blue hole was fun, water refreshing, clear, water entry and exits from boats, shoes off in boats, they do not want the sand.
Island was white sand beach, few weeds, great beach, shelving, no close reef, so snorkeling not a worthwhile activity.
Typical Beach buffet, chicken, fish,rice, fruit, no running water, water to wash hands at Banos.
Do this trip, bring hand sanitizer, sun screen, towel, snacks, no books or kindle's, boat or beach time.

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

jafar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We Enjoyed every moment of it, both guide and crew members were friendly and helpful.My wife had her knee replaced recently there fore she had walking problem the crew members helped her when ever she needed help.The pick up driver was excellent.We would highly recommend.

Doing what: Saona Paradise Island Speedboat and Catamaran Excursion

Nicholas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great time! The bus picked us up on time and transported us to the port to pick up our catamaran. The tour guide, bus driver, and all the staff on the boats were very friendly, fun, and helpful. And Isla Saona is beautiful!!! Our stop in the sandbar to swim and see starfish was also very fun. This excursion was definitely the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Punta Cana Catamaran and Speedboat Cruise to Saona Island

CINDY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice trip, good staff, very nice catamaran. The island is beautiful, the food was good, very relaxing excursion.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

h.stkitts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderfully relaxing full day excursion. The tour guide Mota was superfriendly and very knowledgeable about all things Dominican and happily explained historical facts to us en route. The bus from Bavaro to La Romana was very comfortable and a smooth ride the whole way. We then boarded the catamaran and sailed to Saona Island for 2.5 hours of relaxation on the beautiful and tranquil island. The buffet lunch was very nice. There are some vendors on the island but they truly don't harass you and if you wish to purchase anything they are happy to sell their wares. We then took a speedboat to a little shallow cove to see starfish. We didn't see that many, but the boat crew dove down to find some for us to see. We then took the speedboat back the rest of the way which was a lot of fun! On the way back to Bavaro we stopped a little market/mall for half an hour. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Mayur P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was one of my most memorable one during my Punta Cana vacation. Island is beautiful, well maintained. Catamaran cruise was enjoyable too, nice music, dance and drinks!!! Other best part if the natural swimming pool in the middle of ocean, where we can see starfishes, was pretty awesome. We had rainfall for half the day, so did not fully enjoy the place, but there is very little anyone can do about the weather in DR.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sharondeyhle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour is good but hotel pick up stressful, drivers speak no English.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message