Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Beatrix Potter Gallery

For over a hundred years, characters like Jemima Puddle-Duck, Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle and Peter Rabbit have made an indelible impression on children in Britain and beyond. Their creator, author Beatrix Potter, is intimately connected with the Lake ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heff
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable, great driver- skilful driving down narrow lanes, good knowledge, friendly and interesting.
Beatrix Potter's house amazing, being able to wander around and closely examine everything.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide was amazing, picked us up right on time at our B and B which was so helpful since we had no car on this trip. He took us to several spots for photo ops which were breathtaking before we even got to Hill Top. The ability to be taken right to the front of the line at Hill Top and straight in was very convenient. The drive to our boat ride was gorgeous and I really enjoyed being able to get on the lake and see the lush scenery from the water. Again, our tour guide kept us on track, on schedule and showed us a terrific amount of places, my camera was overflowing with photos! So glad I was able to add this to our Lake District visit, very convenient, comfortable, relaxing and affordable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Long train ride for a day tour but so worth it!

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Knowledgable and pleasant driver Peter made the tour interesting and easy. Nice length of time for that tour. Would like to have had a little more time in the village to see related buildings. You can't go wrong choosing this tour.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Trip to Beatrix Potter's was good, but I wish we had a chance to have some decent food on the way. The restaurant we stopped was a cafeteria next to or in the shoe store! There were many other options I believe.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery in the Lake District is both rugged and peaceful. I especially enjoyed the drive from Hilltop Farm to Coniston Water. The guide was able to provide just the right amount of information about the history and place names to give a perspective. It was interesting to learn about Ms. Potter's agricultural acumen. But in the Lake District, it is definitely the scenery that is the star of the tour. This is a place I want to return to and spend more time in.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and accommodations. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The place is amazing. The Hotel is lovely with very good service and very good restaurant. The 10 lakes tour is also very nice, probable a little hurry, but enough to have and idea of the area.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took the Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour with driver Chris on Saturday 9th August 2014. Chris was a most interesting and informative guide and the trip was most enjoyable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One word: sensational. Only wish it had been double the time. Great gourmet food, lovely building, gorgeous garden. Very warm and welcoming staff. Wonderful area.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was great!

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was spectacular! Our guide, Derek, was so knowledgable about the region! He gave us plenty of picture opportunities and even took pictures of us. The lakes were gorgeous and the scenery was beautiful. Fantastic tour!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour of Hilltop; thought we were a bit rushed, though. The boat ride on the lake would have been lovely, but it was raining quite heavily. Perhaps guide could have skipped boat ride and given us a few more minutes elsewhere. No one can do anything about the weather, of course.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great! Our tour guide was friendly and informative. I would have appreciated a bit more time at Hilltop and Hawkshead, instead of the Coniston Water Cruise, but otherwise - wonderful.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Most enjoyable tour--
Was longer than I thought it would be.
Worth the cost.
Don't bother going into Potter's cottage.
Beatrix Potter Gallery in Hawkshead is worth the time and nominal cost.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message