Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Beatrix Potter Gallery

For over a hundred years, characters like Jemima Puddle-Duck, Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle and Peter Rabbit have made an indelible impression on children in Britain and beyond. Their creator, author Beatrix Potter, is intimately connected with the Lake ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great! Our tour guide was friendly and informative. I would have appreciated a bit more time at Hilltop and Hawkshead, instead of the Coniston Water Cruise, but otherwise - wonderful.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Most enjoyable tour--
Was longer than I thought it would be.
Worth the cost.
Don't bother going into Potter's cottage.
Beatrix Potter Gallery in Hawkshead is worth the time and nominal cost.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great thanks to Peter's knowledge of the area and driving expertise. The accommodations were good and the meals were excellent. There was no wifi available and it was a little distance to walk into town if you did not have a car.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour went above and beyond my expectations! Our tour guide, Peter, was friendly and knowledgeable. I was lucky to have perfect weather on my tour which made the experience all the better! I didn't think I would see as much as I got to see with a half-day tour, but they pack a lot into that time. I was very happy to get to see Wray Castle as well as Yew Tree Farm which was featured as Hill Top in "Miss Potter". The whole tour was phenomenal and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Hotel was superb. Meals outstanding, service great. The tours of the Lake District were gorgeous, informative and fun. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour, amazing food, and beautiful scenery. Tour company provided excellent customer service.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An excellent tor and great value for money. Chris our guide and driver was both very informative and very obliging. All in all a tremendous experience. I would have no hesitation recommending this tour.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Everything was excellent .The Mountain Goat tours were fantastic and the accommodation at Lindeth Howe was great

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Did the tour in winter which meant the itinerary was changed. No mention of this when booking, but cruise on different lake and Beatrix potter house not open. It was still a good tour but wish I knew the real itinerary before hand as I ended up repeating other things I had done. Some amazing country

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

wonderful experience
may be better if lunch is organised

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent accommodation. 10 lakes tour was really good and the guide very knowledgable. We enjoyed every minute. Thanks.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great trip, despite the weather being really bad. We got to see some wonderful countryside and this was definitely a highlight of our holiday. The Mountain Goat staff were very professional and at the same time very low key and friendly. This is a trip definitely worth the effort and money. Staying at Lindeth Howe Country House was a truly wonderful experience - meals and accommodation were 5 star.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beautiful scenery! Guide was great. Definitely recommend

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our great experience started with driver/tour guide, Elliott. Such a gentleman and well informed on the area he guided us to. The 10 Lakes was certainly worth seeing and made more interesting by Elliott and his tales.
Thanks for the experience.
Robyn Gill

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was able to add more people at last minute notice, he's friendly n funny at times, we enjoy the trip, nice scenery :)

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message