Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Beatrix Potter Gallery

For over a hundred years, characters like Jemima Puddle-Duck, Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle and Peter Rabbit have made an indelible impression on children in Britain and beyond. Their creator, author Beatrix Potter, is intimately connected with the Lake ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sharon.hayes253

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience. A wonderful way to see the district and learn about her life.
I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Lake District.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Lucie R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Excellent birds eye view of the Lake District, very good guide informative and efficient. The seat reservations were not good, fortunately the train was not full and we were able to change, a window is infinetly preferable to a blank wall. Trains unlike aeroplanes do have views, often scenic! Departure information was incorrect, we were told to be at the station by 7.30am for an 8am departure but the train was not scheduled to leave until 8.30am.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

ESTELLE B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Lovely afternnon.

Great trip for those interested in Beatrix Potter, her life and surrounds. Afternoon concluded with boat ride across Lake Windemere. Guide friedly and knowledgeable .

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Ai Vee N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The upgrade to first class was worth it. Even it is just a day trip , you get a taste of Lake District. There plenty of time on each location as advertised on trip. David was an excellent driver and got us on time and safely from 1point to the other. The tea was good. The lake cruise was enjoyable.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Melinda J N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris exceptionally good guide. Beautiful country! Great food at this hotel.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My friend and I absolutely loved this little trip, when you don't have your own transport it was the perfect way to experience the lake district scenery which was breathtakingly beautiful. And the tour guide was very knowledgeable I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to explore this area.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

holly.weise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Chris, Bob, and Tony were great drivers and guides. Four nights of very formal dining at Lindeth Howe House got a bit tedious. Otherwise, everything was fine. For the the Beatrix Potter tour, I suggest adding the Amrit Library in Ambleside.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

Scott W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very beautiful tour. Guide was a little difficult to understand. Not sure if this was due to mumbling or the quality of the sound system. Bus was late due to train problems but there did not seem to be any contingency for this.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Kelly M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The accommodation and tour were fantastic! The only disappointment was that the time given to begin the tour was 9:30 and it didn't really start until 11:40 from the hotel. The hotel staff were fantastic ringing to get information etc and luckily I had a book and a lovely place to read it while I waited.

Doing what: 3-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour and Lake Cruise

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Lake District Day Trip was a wonderful experience.
We loved getting to see Beatrix Potter's home, but the rest of the Lake District was also wonderful.
Having afternoon tea at the hotel was a wonderful experience.
What a beautiful area!

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Joseph M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. It would not be possible to see and do so much doing a self drive. Good value.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Sally R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was wonderful! We were met at the station and given our tickets and then relaxed on the train to the Lakes District. Leaving the train we were met by our guide and spent a lovely day! Our guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out many interesting sights along the way. I loved our time in Ambleside, particularly the old school which our guide had recommended we go to...Wonderful, wonderful day and it was one of my sons favourite days on our holiday! He is 6

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, it was everything I imagined and more. Great tour guide and information, beautiful weather and scenery. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

amy z

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great day out. Anne was very informative and pointed out all the major highlights with wonderful stories to go with them.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Peggy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was fabulous tour taking in so much in regards to beatrix potter... it was the driver/guide first tour and he did a great job!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

seo j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good!
I'm very satisfied.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Heff New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable, great driver- skilful driving down narrow lanes, good knowledge, friendly and interesting.
Beatrix Potter's house amazing, being able to wander around and closely examine everything.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Leslie Heuer United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide was amazing, picked us up right on time at our B and B which was so helpful since we had no car on this trip. He took us to several spots for photo ops which were breathtaking before we even got to Hill Top. The ability to be taken right to the front of the line at Hill Top and straight in was very convenient. The drive to our boat ride was gorgeous and I really enjoyed being able to get on the lake and see the lush scenery from the water. Again, our tour guide kept us on track, on schedule and showed us a terrific amount of places, my camera was overflowing with photos! So glad I was able to add this to our Lake District visit, very convenient, comfortable, relaxing and affordable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Joan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

brilliant tour, staff were fantastic

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Lori C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Long train ride for a day tour but so worth it!

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Sue W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Knowledgable and pleasant driver Peter made the tour interesting and easy. Nice length of time for that tour. Would like to have had a little more time in the village to see related buildings. You can't go wrong choosing this tour.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Akiko E

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Trip to Beatrix Potter's was good, but I wish we had a chance to have some decent food on the way. The restaurant we stopped was a cafeteria next to or in the shoe store! There were many other options I believe.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery in the Lake District is both rugged and peaceful. I especially enjoyed the drive from Hilltop Farm to Coniston Water. The guide was able to provide just the right amount of information about the history and place names to give a perspective. It was interesting to learn about Ms. Potter's agricultural acumen. But in the Lake District, it is definitely the scenery that is the star of the tour. This is a place I want to return to and spend more time in.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took the Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour with driver Chris on Saturday 9th August 2014. Chris was a most interesting and informative guide and the trip was most enjoyable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message