• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Beatrix Potter Gallery

For over a hundred years, characters like Jemima Puddle-Duck, Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle and Peter Rabbit have made an indelible impression on children in Britain and beyond. Their creator, author Beatrix Potter, is intimately connected with the Lake ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Everything was excellent .The Mountain Goat tours were fantastic and the accommodation at Lindeth Howe was great

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Did the tour in winter which meant the itinerary was changed. No mention of this when booking, but cruise on different lake and Beatrix potter house not open. It was still a good tour but wish I knew the real itinerary before hand as I ended up repeating other things I had done. Some amazing country

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

wonderful experience
may be better if lunch is organised

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent accommodation. 10 lakes tour was really good and the guide very knowledgable. We enjoyed every minute. Thanks.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great trip, despite the weather being really bad. We got to see some wonderful countryside and this was definitely a highlight of our holiday. The Mountain Goat staff were very professional and at the same time very low key and friendly. This is a trip definitely worth the effort and money. Staying at Lindeth Howe Country House was a truly wonderful experience - meals and accommodation were 5 star.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beautiful scenery! Guide was great. Definitely recommend

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our great experience started with driver/tour guide, Elliott. Such a gentleman and well informed on the area he guided us to. The 10 Lakes was certainly worth seeing and made more interesting by Elliott and his tales.
Thanks for the experience.
Robyn Gill

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was able to add more people at last minute notice, he's friendly n funny at times, we enjoy the trip, nice scenery :)

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Despite rainy weather--the overall experience was excellent! The hotel was very special--with most of the staff more then accommodating. The driver/guides were informed and entertaining! Just be sure to have your arrival plans planned as best as possible to avoid mix ups. Would like to suggest that Mountain Goat somehow acknowledges their name on their answering service--the call name was confusing and left us wondering if we were at the right place phone wise. Travelers be sure to keep a list of all contacts and numbers at the ready and remember different calling methods are used in different areas --even within the same country. All in all we'dig again if given the oppertunity!!! BON VOYAGE!!!

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The tour was very average as we were under the impression that we would be entering Beatrix Potter's house. As it was winter, the house was closed, with only the garden open. I would love to do this tour in the summer as places would be open and the river cruise would be much more enjoyable. Just a little annoyed as we payed the same price and didn't get to do as much as someone would in the summer time.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent trip. The hotel was very comfortable and the food most enjoyable. Best freshly cooked breakfast we have had in a long time.
The ten lakes tour was breath taking.Tony the driver/guide was first class.We felt safe on these very narrow and twisting roads and in addition he was very knowledgable.We felt we had a very good overview of the area our first visit for over 40 years and we will certainly go back in the near future.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

Judy S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Loved it all, packed in a lot of sights in short time

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I rate this one a three, not because the Lake District was bad (it was amazing!) but because it was SO badly managed. We arrived at the train station in the Lake District on time, as directed by our first tour guide. We were told that there, we would meet another guide. We waited for half an hour, and still no one showed up. We made many phone calls. The tour company that handles the actual Lake District part of the tour - never apologized for the inconvenience, or even admitted that it was their fault that they had had a mis-communication regarding our booking. They didn't even want to make an effort to let us at least see part of the Lake District. It was only after we absolutely insisted that they reluctantly agreed to allow us to join the latter half of a Japanese group's tour. We missed about half of the things that we had been looking forward to doing, and couldn't understand our Japanese guide. Thankfully, our driver was English and would put in his two bits for us Americans every now and then. My friends and I made the best of it, and ended up having a fantastic day (one we certainly won't soon forget!), but we will never work with this particular tour operator again.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Arranging a meeting point can be confusing. You must be familiar with Euston station and initiative and very specific which ticket counter office they ( Local tour operator) meant. I had to stress to them was it the Euston station ticket office or the Virgin ticket office ?

Luckily it worked out fine and we were only a small group, hopped on the train followed their instructions and we were off to the magical Lake districts. Highly recommended. If I were to do it again, I'd stay at least 2-3 nights.

Great day all round.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a wonderful, and unforgettable trip. The Lindeth Howe Hotel was quite charming, the food was wonderful. The staff from the Mountain Goat, the travel service which took me on my daily tours were knowledgeable and adept at navigating the narrow roads. This is a good tour for the single traveller.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message