• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Borrowdale & Buttermere Valleys

The Borrowdale Valley is renowned for some of the most dramatic and beautiful scenery in the Lake District, dominated by a handful of England’s tallest mountains. Quaint villages, stately oak forests and the crystal waters of the River Derwent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organised day tour of the lakes

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour but the time allowed at each spot was very less...tout started at 10:10 because few tourists were late coming in and we have had to end at 5;30...did not have much time to spend at places like Buttermere/newland Valley...may be the tour must end after 6 and ensure the tourists book the train at Windermere after 6...

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great a great day every one should take this trip 10out10 well done mutineers goat

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. Had a fantastic time with a brilliant drive Mike.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

In general our experience was very positive. We were staying in Ambleside and the tour bus (16 seat small bus) arrived on time at the designated stop. The driver was cheerful and informative, and happily answered questions. The seats were not fat and luxurious but they were comfortable and so was I. The bus was clean and very important, so were the windows. Given that this was our first trip to the area I cannot judge whether the route included all the best possible views. From looking at a map of the route there were areas not included. But given the time restraints of tour, we saw a lot and I enjoyed every bit of it. The advantage of going on a tour bus as compared to one of the regular buses that do go through the area is that the tour bus stops for a length of time at places, allowing you to get out and to take the requisite pictures; I have to assume this would be less likely on a regular bus. The bus we were on had very narrow overhead racks that would conveniently hold a coat or umbrella; the day packs sported by a lot of people (me) would not fit and were either stowed at the back of the bus behind the last seat or under your seat. There was one seat where the window was partially blocked by a structural support but otherwise the viewing was good. I am glad we took this tour partly because it gave us a far better sense of the area. In particular it got us out of Ambleside during a very crowded holiday weekend. We had been walking in Cornwall (Southwest Coastal Trail) and along Hadrian's Wall, which were largely uncrowded. The Lake District on a holiday weekend is an entirely different kettle of fish.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was absolutely fantastic. Also Driver was so nice, we enjoyed a lot!! I strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great thanks to Peter's knowledge of the area and driving expertise. The accommodations were good and the meals were excellent. There was no wifi available and it was a little distance to walk into town if you did not have a car.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. It was a busy tour as it took us to most main attractions/ sites in the area so was a good snapshot of the Lake District, especially if you are short on time to have a look around.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed this tour, but it really depends on the weather. Lakes are just more spectacular in the sun.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great but I wanted to spend more time at Keswick... 1 hour was not enough for lunch and some shopping. (90min would be nice) I also wanted to spend some more time at Grasmere lake.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A great introduction to the area around Hadrians Wall and the Lakes District. Back roads are the way to go.
Great accommodation. Steve, the bus driver and guide was absolutely fantastic. Great sense of humour, passionate about his work. Extensive local knowledge and clearly did his research prior to the next days activities. Great to be able to stop off and visit locations that large bus tour groups can't access. Couldn't recommend this type of tour highly enough.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed the tour. The guide was friendly and informative. The only thing that spoiled the day was the fact the bus had no opening windows or air conditioning and the bus was very hot and uncomfortable. The tour lasted about 8 hours so we were quite worn out by the end of the tour. I would recommend to others.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Hotel was superb. Meals outstanding, service great. The tours of the Lake District were gorgeous, informative and fun. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

It's a good tour helped by the beautiful scenery in this area. On our tour day, it rained constantly and heavily.
Hope you are luckier! There is a one hour boat trip which could be much improved by having commentary about where we are and what's available. The trip was merely a taxi service between stops.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message