From the imposing white façade of the Belsfield Hotel to the busy shops in the town centre, much of Bowness reflects its rise to prominence during the Victorian era. It was then that the town’s position on Windermere first made it a magnet ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sharon.hayes253

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience. A wonderful way to see the district and learn about her life.
I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Lake District.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Nicole M A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was very nice, and with good weather we enjoyed it even better.
I don't want to upload photos and don't want you to send me more inquiries.
Please no more. Thank you.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

ESTELLE B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Lovely afternnon.

Great trip for those interested in Beatrix Potter, her life and surrounds. Afternoon concluded with boat ride across Lake Windemere. Guide friedly and knowledgeable .

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Melinda J N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris exceptionally good guide. Beautiful country! Great food at this hotel.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My friend and I absolutely loved this little trip, when you don't have your own transport it was the perfect way to experience the lake district scenery which was breathtakingly beautiful. And the tour guide was very knowledgeable I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to explore this area.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

holly.weise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Chris, Bob, and Tony were great drivers and guides. Four nights of very formal dining at Lindeth Howe House got a bit tedious. Otherwise, everything was fine. For the the Beatrix Potter tour, I suggest adding the Amrit Library in Ambleside.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

Scott W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very beautiful tour. Guide was a little difficult to understand. Not sure if this was due to mumbling or the quality of the sound system. Bus was late due to train problems but there did not seem to be any contingency for this.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Bandhana D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

LOVED the Lake District! The Lindeth Howe was charming although the room we were given overlooked a car park- not exactly the best view- especially in a place with so much natural beauty. The tour on Day 1 was well planned and the driver/guide good. The return to Oxelholme on Day 2 was awful. Despite confirming and reconfirming the return arrangements to Oxelholme train station with the hotel/tour company multiple times as suggested by Evans Staff at London Euston there was no transport arranged to bring us back to the train station on Day 2. Pegasus Taxi service saved the day and after a hair-rising drive back to Oxelhome we caught our train to London with a minute to spare. A sad ending to a trip to this beautiful part of England.

Doing what: Overnight Lake District Rail Trip from London

Joseph M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. It would not be possible to see and do so much doing a self drive. Good value.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, it was everything I imagined and more. Great tour guide and information, beautiful weather and scenery. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

amy z

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great day out. Anne was very informative and pointed out all the major highlights with wonderful stories to go with them.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Peggy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was fabulous tour taking in so much in regards to beatrix potter... it was the driver/guide first tour and he did a great job!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

seo j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good!
I'm very satisfied.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Graham S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a wonderful trip. The hotel was superb, first class service and the tour driver/conductor, was a very professional, interesting guide. She was the best. I would recommend this trip to anyone.
Thank you again
Graham

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

Heff New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable, great driver- skilful driving down narrow lanes, good knowledge, friendly and interesting.
Beatrix Potter's house amazing, being able to wander around and closely examine everything.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Leslie Heuer United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide was amazing, picked us up right on time at our B and B which was so helpful since we had no car on this trip. He took us to several spots for photo ops which were breathtaking before we even got to Hill Top. The ability to be taken right to the front of the line at Hill Top and straight in was very convenient. The drive to our boat ride was gorgeous and I really enjoyed being able to get on the lake and see the lush scenery from the water. Again, our tour guide kept us on track, on schedule and showed us a terrific amount of places, my camera was overflowing with photos! So glad I was able to add this to our Lake District visit, very convenient, comfortable, relaxing and affordable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Judith A. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very enjoyable tour the hotel was very nice, a little far from the town too far to walk but a short Taxi ride. My only comment, is instructions were to be at the Euston station at 7.45 am for 8.00 a.m. I thought the train left at 8.00 and was getting agitated as the representative didn't show until 8.00. Apart from that it was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Overnight Lake District Rail Trip from London

Joan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

brilliant tour, staff were fantastic

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Sue W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Knowledgable and pleasant driver Peter made the tour interesting and easy. Nice length of time for that tour. Would like to have had a little more time in the village to see related buildings. You can't go wrong choosing this tour.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Akiko E

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Trip to Beatrix Potter's was good, but I wish we had a chance to have some decent food on the way. The restaurant we stopped was a cafeteria next to or in the shoe store! There were many other options I believe.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery in the Lake District is both rugged and peaceful. I especially enjoyed the drive from Hilltop Farm to Coniston Water. The guide was able to provide just the right amount of information about the history and place names to give a perspective. It was interesting to learn about Ms. Potter's agricultural acumen. But in the Lake District, it is definitely the scenery that is the star of the tour. This is a place I want to return to and spend more time in.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Dennis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and accommodations. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

Manolo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The place is amazing. The Hotel is lovely with very good service and very good restaurant. The 10 lakes tour is also very nice, probable a little hurry, but enough to have and idea of the area.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message