• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

From the imposing white façade of the Belsfield Hotel to the busy shops in the town centre, much of Bowness reflects its rise to prominence during the Victorian era. It was then that the town’s position on Windermere first made it a magnet ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Did the tour in winter which meant the itinerary was changed. No mention of this when booking, but cruise on different lake and Beatrix potter house not open. It was still a good tour but wish I knew the real itinerary before hand as I ended up repeating other things I had done. Some amazing country

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was able to add more people at last minute notice, he's friendly n funny at times, we enjoy the trip, nice scenery :)

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The tour was very average as we were under the impression that we would be entering Beatrix Potter's house. As it was winter, the house was closed, with only the garden open. I would love to do this tour in the summer as places would be open and the river cruise would be much more enjoyable. Just a little annoyed as we payed the same price and didn't get to do as much as someone would in the summer time.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Judy S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Loved it all, packed in a lot of sights in short time

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour was one of the best tours we took on our triip to England and Scotland. The driver/tour guide was so nice and knew so much and took us to so many places around the lake district. What a beautiful place even in the drizzley rain. If you are anywhere near the Lake District for a holiday you must, must, must take this tour.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

TOny was excellent. He did the best with what he had. Unfortunately Hill top and the Beatrix potter galleries were both closed on the day we toured (They are closed every Friday). We would have changed for the ten lakes, high mountain for Friday and done Beatrix Potter on Sat or Sunday since we did three different trips with Viator

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very informative and we had a good afternoon tea arranged by the tour director. Fortunately we had this tour to bring us to the various tourist attractions, going to these places on our own is almost unthinkable. The tour director is extremely familiar with the best photo stops to get the best views

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

The weather unfortunately was miserable and spoilt what should have been a splendid tour . The guide was very good and certainly did his best in the circumstances but Hilltop was dark inside due to the rain which also limited viewing the gardens and village nearby. On any sunny day,Windermere and surrounding areas would be lovely. The rain did it no favours.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent trip, guide/driver was superb, his local knowledge was superb, nothing was too much trouble.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Very enjoyable indeed. Driver was very helpful and polite. Will use this company again. Highly recommended

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Had a good trip with Jim. He was informative, easy-going and kept the group on track easily. Liked what he took us to see, talked about and the little walk he included.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Excellent itinerary spoiled by poor a-c in bus on very hot day. Very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Not much to see. The boat trip is not a cruise but it's like a shuttle boat droping people off along the way.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message