Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

From the imposing white façade of the Belsfield Hotel to the busy shops in the town centre, much of Bowness reflects its rise to prominence during the Victorian era. It was then that the town’s position on Windermere first made it a magnet ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery in the Lake District is both rugged and peaceful. I especially enjoyed the drive from Hilltop Farm to Coniston Water. The guide was able to provide just the right amount of information about the history and place names to give a perspective. It was interesting to learn about Ms. Potter's agricultural acumen. But in the Lake District, it is definitely the scenery that is the star of the tour. This is a place I want to return to and spend more time in.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took the Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour with driver Chris on Saturday 9th August 2014. Chris was a most interesting and informative guide and the trip was most enjoyable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was spectacular! Our guide, Derek, was so knowledgable about the region! He gave us plenty of picture opportunities and even took pictures of us. The lakes were gorgeous and the scenery was beautiful. Fantastic tour!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour of Hilltop; thought we were a bit rushed, though. The boat ride on the lake would have been lovely, but it was raining quite heavily. Perhaps guide could have skipped boat ride and given us a few more minutes elsewhere. No one can do anything about the weather, of course.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great! Our tour guide was friendly and informative. I would have appreciated a bit more time at Hilltop and Hawkshead, instead of the Coniston Water Cruise, but otherwise - wonderful.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Most enjoyable tour--
Was longer than I thought it would be.
Worth the cost.
Don't bother going into Potter's cottage.
Beatrix Potter Gallery in Hawkshead is worth the time and nominal cost.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour went above and beyond my expectations! Our tour guide, Peter, was friendly and knowledgeable. I was lucky to have perfect weather on my tour which made the experience all the better! I didn't think I would see as much as I got to see with a half-day tour, but they pack a lot into that time. I was very happy to get to see Wray Castle as well as Yew Tree Farm which was featured as Hill Top in "Miss Potter". The whole tour was phenomenal and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An excellent tor and great value for money. Chris our guide and driver was both very informative and very obliging. All in all a tremendous experience. I would have no hesitation recommending this tour.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Did the tour in winter which meant the itinerary was changed. No mention of this when booking, but cruise on different lake and Beatrix potter house not open. It was still a good tour but wish I knew the real itinerary before hand as I ended up repeating other things I had done. Some amazing country

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was able to add more people at last minute notice, he's friendly n funny at times, we enjoy the trip, nice scenery :)

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The tour was very average as we were under the impression that we would be entering Beatrix Potter's house. As it was winter, the house was closed, with only the garden open. I would love to do this tour in the summer as places would be open and the river cruise would be much more enjoyable. Just a little annoyed as we payed the same price and didn't get to do as much as someone would in the summer time.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Judy S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Loved it all, packed in a lot of sights in short time

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour was one of the best tours we took on our triip to England and Scotland. The driver/tour guide was so nice and knew so much and took us to so many places around the lake district. What a beautiful place even in the drizzley rain. If you are anywhere near the Lake District for a holiday you must, must, must take this tour.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

TOny was excellent. He did the best with what he had. Unfortunately Hill top and the Beatrix potter galleries were both closed on the day we toured (They are closed every Friday). We would have changed for the ten lakes, high mountain for Friday and done Beatrix Potter on Sat or Sunday since we did three different trips with Viator

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message