Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Castlerigg Stone Circle

There are numerous neolithic stone circles in the Lake District and nearby areas, the most popular being at Castlerigg. This more-or-less round grouping of 38 boulders, with a rectangle of 10 more joining the inner edge of the circle, dates back ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

James was an excellent guide. He was extremely knowledgable, has a lovely sense of humour and his sense of adventure really made this tour very special. This balance of nature, history and free time make this tour an excellent option for everybody

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved every minute of this tour. ...The landscape was breathtaking. ..The driver/guide Derek was fabulous he knew the area so well and even took us to some surprise stops for photos.....highly recommend

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The driver was very good and knew a lot about the area and its history. Good tour and recommended for those who don't have much time in their visit. It would have been even better if the weather would have been cooperative in the morning --- but that is no fault of the tour provider.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It's was very nice scenery and adventure trip u can't miss whenever u come to Lake District . I felt that I had come to heaven .

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

For me, This is the best trip in the UK. I am from Thailand to work in the UK for 10 months. I have joined serveral tour in the UK. This is my last trip before leaving the UK. Thank you very much for giving me the best memory. ^^

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Brilliant tour. Utterly beautiful countryside. Highly recommend this tour and this company.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a wonderful trip. The hotel was superb, first class service and the tour driver/conductor, was a very professional, interesting guide. She was the best. I would recommend this trip to anyone.
Thank you again
Graham

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Malcolm was very nice and informative and helpful. The tour covered many beautiful areas of the Lake District without feeling rushed. Highly recommended for first time visitors to the Lake District or people who don't have many days to spend there. We really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

very nice guide and very nice tour

i love the sheeeeps and goats!

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

What a trip. My wife had always wanted to visit the Lake District and I have been there plenty of times. This trip was brilliant. I was amazed how many places you could visit in one day. Our tour guide was great and really knew his stuff. I would reccommend this trip to anyone. Top marks.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very friendly and knowledgeable driver/guide. A great way to have quick look around seeing the main lales when time is short. Even had a relaxing trip on the lake from Keswick.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Tour promised much more then it delivered. Operator would not pickup at our hotel in Ambleside despite what was said in brochure. Did not see ten lakes. First thing driver said was there is only one lake in the Lake District. Took many blurred photos because driver did not slow down at scenic sites. Driver’s commentary was monotone and uninspired. Boat trip was cancelled and replaced by tour of pencil factory.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would highly recommend this trip.
It is especially worth it if you are visiting the Lake District for the first time and would like to see some breathtaking views, and be taken on a whistle stop tour of the lakes, by a knowledgeable and friendly guide, who will answer any questions and give suggestions with places of special interest and the best way to see more of them, at a later date. Stunning scenery, plenty of time to take photos at regular intervals, our guide Chris was a Mecca of information, but was also left individuals to drink in the views whilst quietly chauffeuring us around. A very good tour

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a very friendly and spectacular tour.Mountain goat provided a good service,the guide was amazing and I plan to go for other tours in the lake district next year.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Jaime
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

So nice...the best place in England

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The guide is very knowledgeable and he made the info sounds interesting so you be bored into coma. He made it sounds like you're going to a magical land and it was indeed a truly breath taking place!
The stops and length is quite comfortable especially if you don't have enough time to spend it lake district. I felt that I've learned and accomplished a lot for a day's trip.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour. Tony our guide was wonderful and very accommodating. Absolutely stunning countryside. Would highly recommend. And I'm going back.
Thank you so much for a great day!!!

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day loved this tour such beautiful scenery

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative trip made better by a friendly and knowledgable guide Peter. I would reccommend this trip to anyone

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a great tour with a nice guide! We saw many beautiful sights and the surprise view was stunning. We're so glad we chose this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing- breathtaking views,enjoyable day- you get a very clear idea of what the area looks like

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message