Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Castlerigg Stone Circle

There are numerous neolithic stone circles in the Lake District and nearby areas, the most popular being at Castlerigg. This more-or-less round grouping of 38 boulders, with a rectangle of 10 more joining the inner edge of the circle, dates back ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 208 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would highly recommend this trip.
It is especially worth it if you are visiting the Lake District for the first time and would like to see some breathtaking views, and be taken on a whistle stop tour of the lakes, by a knowledgeable and friendly guide, who will answer any questions and give suggestions with places of special interest and the best way to see more of them, at a later date. Stunning scenery, plenty of time to take photos at regular intervals, our guide Chris was a Mecca of information, but was also left individuals to drink in the views whilst quietly chauffeuring us around. A very good tour

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

Jaime
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

So nice...the best place in England

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The guide is very knowledgeable and he made the info sounds interesting so you be bored into coma. He made it sounds like you're going to a magical land and it was indeed a truly breath taking place!
The stops and length is quite comfortable especially if you don't have enough time to spend it lake district. I felt that I've learned and accomplished a lot for a day's trip.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour. Tony our guide was wonderful and very accommodating. Absolutely stunning countryside. Would highly recommend. And I'm going back.
Thank you so much for a great day!!!

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day loved this tour such beautiful scenery

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative trip made better by a friendly and knowledgable guide Peter. I would reccommend this trip to anyone

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a great tour with a nice guide! We saw many beautiful sights and the surprise view was stunning. We're so glad we chose this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing- breathtaking views,enjoyable day- you get a very clear idea of what the area looks like

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!great place, great driver!!it was worth going!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great for us! The driver guide Lisa was friendly and provided an interesting commentary throughout the day. The tour allowed us to visit some places that we wouldn't have been able to drive to independently. Although it was a full day tour, the pace was just right and we didn't feel rushed at all at any point. Excellent tour, would recommend to others.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tony Scott was an amazing tour guide and our day out was truly spectacular - the scenery beyond our expectations. We would highly recommend this tour! We have been lucky to visit many unbelievably beautiful places in the world and this rates among the best! So glad that we didn't miss this wonderful day out!
Geoff and Jan Titmarsh - Toowoomba, Australia

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour. Elliot was our guide and driver and really knows the area. We were able to see everything the tour promised, and even a couple of extra sights. I recommend this tour to anyone who is short on time and wants to see a great view of the Lake District in a day. It certainly has me wanting to return for a longer visit.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and accommodations. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message