Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Keswick (pronounced “Kezick”), situated at the uppermost tip of Derwentwater, is the hub of the northern part of the Lake District. There are a few local points of interest, but attractions like the Pencil Museum are unlikely to detain you long ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour. Elliot was our guide and driver and really knows the area. We were able to see everything the tour promised, and even a couple of extra sights. I recommend this tour to anyone who is short on time and wants to see a great view of the Lake District in a day. It certainly has me wanting to return for a longer visit.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and accommodations. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great. The bus picked us up from the station as agreed. It was very well organized and had great fun.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The place is amazing. The Hotel is lovely with very good service and very good restaurant. The 10 lakes tour is also very nice, probable a little hurry, but enough to have and idea of the area.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Welcoming, friendly and knowledgebale tour guides. Beautiful views for sure.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Derek was our driver on Wednesday 13th August 2014 and he gave us a very interesting commentary as we drove through the wonderful Lake District scenery. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and all the photo stops and opportunities we had, so would definitely recommend this tour. Thank you Derek for making it such a lovely trip.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One word: sensational. Only wish it had been double the time. Great gourmet food, lovely building, gorgeous garden. Very warm and welcoming staff. Wonderful area.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was great!

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a thoroughly enjoyable tour, thanks to our wonderful driver and guide, Ally, who as well as being entertaining, has a wealth of knowledge about the history and other aspects of the many places we visited. Each day was an adventure, and the accommodation at Glendale B and B was excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Very short stops. Never got to see anything properly and spend any time. Maybe too much covered. Cruise was nice but since it was on a public vessel, there was no commentary explaining the scenery, which was disappointing.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organised day tour of the lakes

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lisa, our guide picked us up promptly and introduced us to amazing places we could never have found on our own--places only mountain goats (and sheep) know about. She was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The scenery was spectacular, and our driver was so knowledgeable and added so much to the tour. He had climbed these hills and mountains his entire lifetime and knew them well. We loved the whole tour; this was well worth the money and time. This tour was one of the highlights of a five week trip visiting many interesting areas!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a really wonderful trip!The way the day is planned is great, we have a lot of different experiences and enjoy every moment. The driver is also great, friendly and helpful all the time.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour but the time allowed at each spot was very less...tout started at 10:10 because few tourists were late coming in and we have had to end at 5;30...did not have much time to spend at places like Buttermere/newland Valley...may be the tour must end after 6 and ensure the tourists book the train at Windermere after 6...

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message