Keswick (pronounced “Kezick”), situated at the uppermost tip of Derwentwater, is the hub of the northern part of the Lake District. There are a few local points of interest, but attractions like the Pencil Museum are unlikely to detain you long ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was very informative and interesting. We stopped in many nice places on the way. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. A bit more time for lunch would have been better we only had about 40 minutes.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

alan g
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing views coupled with a very knowledgeable guide made this an unforgettable tour. Despite the weather!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris exceptionally good guide. Beautiful country! Great food at this hotel.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Chris, Bob, and Tony were great drivers and guides. Four nights of very formal dining at Lindeth Howe House got a bit tedious. Otherwise, everything was fine. For the the Beatrix Potter tour, I suggest adding the Amrit Library in Ambleside.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A lot of area was covered. A very informative tour

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with James D. We found his friendliness and sense of humor engaging as we formed our little community over the three days together. While we had some rather high-maintenance fellow travelers, James went out of his way to make on the fly adjustments to our itinerary, making it a valuable experience for our entire group.
For us, we chose this tour as an entre to the Lake District, as we had plans to rent a car and immediately return for a week after the tour ended. I am glad we did this, as it gave a good overview of the area and helped us to prioritize the locations we wanted to visit and re-visit.
The local tour company should be a first choice if you are considering a small guided tour anywhere within Scotland or the Lake District. Excellent customer service and value.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour of the Lake District covered so much territory with fabulous scenery and a delightful lake cruise on Derwentwater. Our guide was excellent and the 16 passenger coach was very comfortable. This tour took us off of the main roads to places with incredible views of the lakes and mountains. We loved the whole experience and the price was very reasonable and a great value for the money. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide and spectacular tour
Also we were lucky with the weather, that helps!
Would recommend

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked the trip around Lake District.

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This Ten Lakes tour is recommended. You see loads of local sights, ten lakes, mountain passes, lake cruise, prehistoric stone circle, and break for lunch in Keswick. Peter, our full day driver/guide was fantastic, attentive and knowledgeable. We were 13 people aged 20s-70s from 6+ countries.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was well worth the time and money! Tony, our guide was fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the Lake District.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Sensational tour with unbelievable scenery. The driver was fabulous and his knowledge was incredible. This was worth every penny!!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lisa our tour guide was fantastic. She was friendly and informative she made it into a great outing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lake District Day Trip from Windermere

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. The tour guide was excellent and so talented he was able to provide ample opportunity for my husband to take pictures. We would never have been able to see the wonders of the Lake District had it not been for Alan, our guide. This is a tour above and way beyond typical tour offerings. We got to out of the way places of great beauty and historical significance. I highly recommend this experience as a way to really experience the beauty and history of the Lake District. Alan was more than willing to visit places we wanted to see and not repeat our own wanderings. Thanks and kudos to the local tour company and Alan. Paddy and John Kennington, Georgia, USA

Doing what: Private Tour: Lake District Day Trip from Windermere

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to see as much of the district as possible. We had a wonderful guide, and the scenery was amazing.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Could have been better if not for the rainy weather.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a good tour. Our guide Elliot was friendly and gave out a lot of interesting titbits. The lake cruise was actually a ferry ride and a big bore. Waste of time. We could hv skipped that and finished the tour earlier.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

James was an excellent guide. He was extremely knowledgable, has a lovely sense of humour and his sense of adventure really made this tour very special. This balance of nature, history and free time make this tour an excellent option for everybody

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved every minute of this tour. ...The landscape was breathtaking. ..The driver/guide Derek was fabulous he knew the area so well and even took us to some surprise stops for photos.....highly recommend

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The driver was very good and knew a lot about the area and its history. Good tour and recommended for those who don't have much time in their visit. It would have been even better if the weather would have been cooperative in the morning --- but that is no fault of the tour provider.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant tour with our guide/driver Mark doing great job and taking best advantage to the better weather early in day. He had great knowledge of the area and slipped in a few extras that added greatly to the tour

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message