Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Keswick (pronounced “Kezick”), situated at the uppermost tip of Derwentwater, is the hub of the northern part of the Lake District. There are a few local points of interest, but attractions like the Pencil Museum are unlikely to detain you long ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great. The bus picked us up from the station as agreed. It was very well organized and had great fun.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The place is amazing. The Hotel is lovely with very good service and very good restaurant. The 10 lakes tour is also very nice, probable a little hurry, but enough to have and idea of the area.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was great!

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organised day tour of the lakes

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lisa, our guide picked us up promptly and introduced us to amazing places we could never have found on our own--places only mountain goats (and sheep) know about. She was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The scenery was spectacular, and our driver was so knowledgeable and added so much to the tour. He had climbed these hills and mountains his entire lifetime and knew them well. We loved the whole tour; this was well worth the money and time. This tour was one of the highlights of a five week trip visiting many interesting areas!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a really wonderful trip!The way the day is planned is great, we have a lot of different experiences and enjoy every moment. The driver is also great, friendly and helpful all the time.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour but the time allowed at each spot was very less...tout started at 10:10 because few tourists were late coming in and we have had to end at 5;30...did not have much time to spend at places like Buttermere/newland Valley...may be the tour must end after 6 and ensure the tourists book the train at Windermere after 6...

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great a great day every one should take this trip 10out10 well done mutineers goat

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. Had a fantastic time with a brilliant drive Mike.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

In general our experience was very positive. We were staying in Ambleside and the tour bus (16 seat small bus) arrived on time at the designated stop. The driver was cheerful and informative, and happily answered questions. The seats were not fat and luxurious but they were comfortable and so was I. The bus was clean and very important, so were the windows. Given that this was our first trip to the area I cannot judge whether the route included all the best possible views. From looking at a map of the route there were areas not included. But given the time restraints of tour, we saw a lot and I enjoyed every bit of it. The advantage of going on a tour bus as compared to one of the regular buses that do go through the area is that the tour bus stops for a length of time at places, allowing you to get out and to take the requisite pictures; I have to assume this would be less likely on a regular bus. The bus we were on had very narrow overhead racks that would conveniently hold a coat or umbrella; the day packs sported by a lot of people (me) would not fit and were either stowed at the back of the bus behind the last seat or under your seat. There was one seat where the window was partially blocked by a structural support but otherwise the viewing was good. I am glad we took this tour partly because it gave us a far better sense of the area. In particular it got us out of Ambleside during a very crowded holiday weekend. We had been walking in Cornwall (Southwest Coastal Trail) and along Hadrian's Wall, which were largely uncrowded. The Lake District on a holiday weekend is an entirely different kettle of fish.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was absolutely fantastic. Also Driver was so nice, we enjoyed a lot!! I strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great thanks to Peter's knowledge of the area and driving expertise. The accommodations were good and the meals were excellent. There was no wifi available and it was a little distance to walk into town if you did not have a car.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. It was a busy tour as it took us to most main attractions/ sites in the area so was a good snapshot of the Lake District, especially if you are short on time to have a look around.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed this tour, but it really depends on the weather. Lakes are just more spectacular in the sun.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message