Keswick (pronounced “Kezick”), situated at the uppermost tip of Derwentwater, is the hub of the northern part of the Lake District. There are a few local points of interest, but attractions like the Pencil Museum are unlikely to detain you long ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 266 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I absolutely loved the tour! Even though the amounts of rain there had fallen and was falling, it still was amazing. The stunning views and Tony who has the most perfect voice while giving all the explanations. Listening to him while driving through the stunning scenary, really lets you dream off. Really worth to do, certainly when it is, like me, the first time travelling to the lake district :
You stop at beautiful scenary places and picture perfect stunning views

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

Elizabeth B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour was good, tour guide quite knowledgeable, scenery was spectacular with great photo opportunities. The lunch break was just a bit too long and could be shortened.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Patricia S E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lovely, guide was very knowledgable and interesting!! Covered everything the tour was supposed to and more! Ample time at all stops!!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Nicole M A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was very nice, and with good weather we enjoyed it even better.
I don't want to upload photos and don't want you to send me more inquiries.
Please no more. Thank you.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

Tarnthip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was amazing. The tour guide, Jerry, was so knowledgeable about places we visited. He cared for everyone in the tour and never shows tiredness even at the end of the tour when we were so tired already.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Miriam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

THIS WAS AN EXCELLRNT AND BEAUTIFUL TOUR WHICH WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED. OUR GUIDE /DRIVER WAS PLWASANT, HELPFUL AND KNOWLEDGEABLE AND DID EVERYTHING HE COULD TO MAKE OUR DAY AS MEMORABLE AS POSSIBLE. A FIRST RATE TOUR LED BY A FIRST RATE DRIVER/GUIDE. MANY THANKS FOR EVERYTHING

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Vivek C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a wonderful day out. Lot of scenic beauty and lakes all around. The driver/guide nicely made us familiar with the area, folklore and legends.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

ESTELLE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great full day tour for those who have limited time or don't know the area well. Our guide Lisa, was very knowledgeable and friendly. A long day, but a worthwhile trip - highly recommended.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Wayne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice tour for those who want to visit Lake District in one day. Driver/Guide Tony was very informed and helpful and stops were quite frequent and we had ample time to take pictures and relax in the beauty of the lakes. Five Star

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Michelle C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Really good idea, however would have liked to have more time at the lakes getting out and taking photos. Long day sitting on a coach, driver was lovely, friendly and very knowledgeable. The boat trip over Ullswater was a lovely extra, with stunning sites. If you want the best views get a seat on the right side of the coach. Really lovely tour if you only have a few days. Wouldn't do it again however.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Tamra J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved this one! Beautiful country!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Valerie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent driver, very knowledgeable. Some spectacular sights and the weather was relatively good

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Mirko G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour! It gives a nice overview of 10 lakes and mountain passes also! Recommended also in cases you have only chance for one tour!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Maurice T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely all I expected!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Ted D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Full size coach with about 25 people. Local provider was Highlands Explorer Tours. Driver Tony and guide Grant were excellent. Both shared commentary. Tremendous amount of sites and fun were packed into a 12 hour long, but great day. Ted D.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful scenery especially the Secret View - truly magnificent tour of the lakes. Bob the driver was good and pointed out all the highlights. Easy pickup from the bus stop really close to our hotel. Wonderful trip on one of the lakes on a boat.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Olivia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My tour was with Elliot and he was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. He didn't over chat. Plenty of stops for photos and to explore towns. The bus was small and he cleaned the windows while we were out exploring to make sure we all got a clear and clean view from where we were sitting. Very careful driver in those country narrow roads. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Rebecca W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. I booked the 10 lakes tour for the summer bank holiday Monday and really had fun. Our guide, Phil, was knowledgeable and kind, took good care of us and was very patient with the extra talkative people. The weather was kind to us most of the day, so the our finished with rain, not the tours fault. Phil went the extra mile and made sure that I got to my train on time and gave recommendations on where I could grab dinner to take with me on the train. The only reason why this is 4/5 stars was the legroom. I have long legs and they were shoved into the back of the seat in front of me for hours - major bummer and my knees were killing me on the walk to the train station. If you have long legs, make sure you get there early to get the first row of seating in the van, the leg room is better there.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Mary B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Saw lots, guide informative, but not overly enthusiastic about what we were told.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Sabina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was very informative and interesting. We stopped in many nice places on the way. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. A bit more time for lunch would have been better we only had about 40 minutes.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

alan g United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing views coupled with a very knowledgeable guide made this an unforgettable tour. Despite the weather!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Melinda J N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris exceptionally good guide. Beautiful country! Great food at this hotel.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

Ruth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely tour and boat trip. Super tour guide, Elliot. Full of humour, knowledge of the area and its history and interesting anecdotes. Great day!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Catherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding tour. The best in the Lake District. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message