• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 261 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was lovely. It was a nice drive around the lakes, and the driver was fantastic. Very well versed and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Can really recommend this tour and we went on a wet windy day. The guide I would give 11/10. We were in a mini but and I am not a good traveller but her driving was so good I was absolutely fine. She genuinely knew what she was talking about and questions were not a problem to her. The atmosphere on the bus was very relaxed and we all agreed that we definately saw so much more than what we would have had we taken our own transport.

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolutely fantastic tour is all I can say . The tour guide Malcolm was very informative right the way through and the views were absolutely stunning . Great value and would suggest to anyone visiting this lovely part of the u.k to go on one of these tours . Top draw .

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The 3 Day Lake District Tour was fabulous. Saw some beautiful scenery, met some great people and stayed in a beautiful guest house with the most welcoming of hosts, the best breakfasts and a lovely comfortable bedroom with a great view of the hills in Keswick. Loved the whole tour and would recommend it heartily. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable as well as being a safe driver. All round, a great experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Everything was excellent .The Mountain Goat tours were fantastic and the accommodation at Lindeth Howe was great

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very good coverage of the area and good value for money. Good driver/guide. Not much legroom on the mini-bus (I'm 190 cms). The rest of the passengers comprised three family groups from asian countries who were very noisy and distracting, but you can't blame the tour company for that.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Did the tour in winter which meant the itinerary was changed. No mention of this when booking, but cruise on different lake and Beatrix potter house not open. It was still a good tour but wish I knew the real itinerary before hand as I ended up repeating other things I had done. Some amazing country

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was very good value and our American friends really enjoyed the tour. Peter Fox, our driver/guide was entertaining and very knowledgeable. It may be helpful in future to provide a one sheet map/guide of the tour for all pax?

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent lake district tour, especially Derek the tour guide. This tour includes main attractions and highlights in the lake district. Even though it was raining , we still enjoyed it to the full and Derek went out of his way to accomodate all of us. He gave very good explanation and information about all the sites and attractions. Beautiful and amazing scenery.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting tour! The weather was great, the tour guide was good and the group itself was very congenial. All in all, a great experience!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful tour of Lake District also thanks to our driver Peter.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

wonderful experience
may be better if lunch is organised

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent accommodation. 10 lakes tour was really good and the guide very knowledgable. We enjoyed every minute. Thanks.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message