At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 437 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Virginia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely 4 1/2 hour tour around the area. Very much enjoyed this tour done nicely.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour including a Lake Windermere Cruise

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour! Peter was a great tour guide. I went in April and the weather and area was enjoyable. Not overly crowded or cold! If you're worried about taking a train to and from London... 3 hours really goes by fast on the Virgin trains.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Grit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you have never been in the Lake District, have little time and no car, but want to see more of the area, this tour is a great start. Lisa was a great tour guide and on top of it, we were blessed with glorious sunshine. Lots of interesting information and random facts, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Gerald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful tour! The day was cloudy but enjoyed the scenery and guide Bob. This became one of my hilites on my 3 wk. trip to the UK. Thanks for great day!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

maidstone49

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I use a walking frame, the driver made sure it was ready for me at every stop. He was also a very well informed about our trip and made the whole experience, very pleasant.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Sienna C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Thankful to Florence for changing our tour dates due to the postponement of the match at Old Trafford. The Windermere tour was excellent and our guide Richard was very informative. Only one problem is the sound system on the bus needs improvement.
On the whole it was a good tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Vanessa G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

i loved my ten lakes tour.the good thing about this tours is that you can see alot in just one day, is really good when you dont have much time,the only not so good thing is that you arent able to take pictures in the places you stop, don't have time to explore,its a 10 to 15 minutes stop.but is normal on this kind of tours

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

dmkennedy

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Hotel was good although staff, with some exceptions, were not very well trained, unsmiling and some with poor English.
Tours were excellent with an outstanding guide from Mountain Goat called Derek. He was knowledgeable, friendly and amusing. Content of tours was also very good.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

Monad United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and driving by Richard. We had a lovely day and the views were fantastic. Well worth the money.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Monad United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip and great driver David. A lovely ride through the lakes with great views and a few high roads thrown in for variety. I would say a must do introduction to the lakes for the first time visitor like me and my wife. Plenty of ideas of where to stay when we next visit.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It can't be easy to drive a 12-seat van on the narrow, curving roads of the Lake District, while providing lively commentary. Our driver did a fair job, but a two person team would have been better.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour including a Lake Windermere Cruise

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our driver, Peter, also served as the guide. On the whole, he did a good job of driving the tricky roads of the Lake District, providing informative commentary, and looking after a passenger who suffered from motion discomfort.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great day, Allen was a joy and I had a relaxing day after my driving experiences the last couple of weeks.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Tegan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Knowing we had only limited time in the lakes, my SO and I decided to book this trip to maximize the time we had. I can't say enough wonderful things about the experience. We were treated to the most breathtaking scenes imaginable. While we were kept to a schedule, there were many opportunities to get out of the van to take pictures and otherwise bask in the beauty of the locations. Many thanks to the driver and staff!

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting tour. Takes you a long way, that you can't cover alone. Also, the driver was very knowledgeable on the places we visitied. Managed to get a few good shots and seen many interesting places. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Trip was spectacular. Jerry was our driver and he was so good. So much passion he has for Lake district. Just when I thought I have seen all in UK I found this gem and it is so beautiful. It was beautiful weather and Jerry made sure all of us are happy. I requested to see blue bells in woods and he kindly obliged to it. Many lakes, peaks are covered in this trip and it just covers whole of lake district in a day giving you idea of what it is being here. I highly recommend this trip as I had made so many memories here

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I got train at early morning from London to Lancaster and then bus to Windermere and this traip was at 12. I almost thought that somehow I will miss this but well how punctual everything runs in this country I reached on time had little lunch in Booths at Windermere station and then went to tourist center for this tour. They booked me in wrong trip and thank god there was space in this tour so they could correct it. Jerry was the driver and he was fantastic. To be honest the reason for booking this tour was that i did not wanted to miss this time and wanted to see something so I booked it. I know nothing about Beatrix Potter. But this tour is more than enough to understand about her and her contribution. apart from that drive along lake district and many stop points are great

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour including a Lake Windermere Cruise

Moriah H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

This tour was painfully boring. Eight hours of our tour guide droning on about the most useless facts ever. I am not exaggerating when I say I slept through 80% of the tour and only woke up when we actually got off the bus. There were a few really beautiful sights, but besides that it was too long.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Rachel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I absolutely loved the tour! Even though the amounts of rain there had fallen and was falling, it still was amazing. The stunning views and Tony who has the most perfect voice while giving all the explanations. Listening to him while driving through the stunning scenary, really lets you dream off. Really worth to do, certainly when it is, like me, the first time travelling to the lake district :
You stop at beautiful scenary places and picture perfect stunning views

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

great trip, fantastic driver who was very knowledgeable and clearly enjoys what he did. Recommend it to anyone going to the Lake District who want to see lots of amazing viewpoints in a very short space of time!

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

Beth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent tour, and a great way to see a lot of the Lake District in one day. There were plenty of photo stops, for an appropriate amount of time, and the guide was very interesting and entertaining to listen to. Definitely recommend this as a way to get a sense of the area.

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip, spectacular scenery despite the inclement weather, tour guide fabulous and his knowledge was excellent, lots of photo opportunities, nice small group, loved the falconry display

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Ruth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I don't know what happened, but I did give a review almost as soon as I got back. It was really lovely, and I would recommend it to anyone. The views were to be seen to be believed. Lovely tour guide too!

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message