Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing- breathtaking views,enjoyable day- you get a very clear idea of what the area looks like

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing day, very knowledgeable driver/guide called Peter, you see different angles /aspects of the Lake District, highly enjoyable, breathtaking views, enjoyable ride in steam train- a fun filled day.I was not aware of the passage of time, incredible experience.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Heff
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable, great driver- skilful driving down narrow lanes, good knowledge, friendly and interesting.
Beatrix Potter's house amazing, being able to wander around and closely examine everything.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!great place, great driver!!it was worth going!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide was amazing, picked us up right on time at our B and B which was so helpful since we had no car on this trip. He took us to several spots for photo ops which were breathtaking before we even got to Hill Top. The ability to be taken right to the front of the line at Hill Top and straight in was very convenient. The drive to our boat ride was gorgeous and I really enjoyed being able to get on the lake and see the lush scenery from the water. Again, our tour guide kept us on track, on schedule and showed us a terrific amount of places, my camera was overflowing with photos! So glad I was able to add this to our Lake District visit, very convenient, comfortable, relaxing and affordable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very enjoyable tour the hotel was very nice, a little far from the town too far to walk but a short Taxi ride. My only comment, is instructions were to be at the Euston station at 7.45 am for 8.00 a.m. I thought the train left at 8.00 and was getting agitated as the representative didn't show until 8.00. Apart from that it was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Overnight Lake District Rail Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

brilliant tour, staff were fantastic

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Long train ride for a day tour but so worth it!

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

the One day tour was excellent. Wonderful view and experience; however, the train ride of three stations (10 minute ride) was too short. I wish it was at least 30 min ride.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Knowledgable and pleasant driver Peter made the tour interesting and easy. Nice length of time for that tour. Would like to have had a little more time in the village to see related buildings. You can't go wrong choosing this tour.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Trip to Beatrix Potter's was good, but I wish we had a chance to have some decent food on the way. The restaurant we stopped was a cafeteria next to or in the shoe store! There were many other options I believe.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A most enjoyable day. The driver/guide was most informativend helpful

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery in the Lake District is both rugged and peaceful. I especially enjoyed the drive from Hilltop Farm to Coniston Water. The guide was able to provide just the right amount of information about the history and place names to give a perspective. It was interesting to learn about Ms. Potter's agricultural acumen. But in the Lake District, it is definitely the scenery that is the star of the tour. This is a place I want to return to and spend more time in.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour. Elliot was our guide and driver and really knows the area. We were able to see everything the tour promised, and even a couple of extra sights. I recommend this tour to anyone who is short on time and wants to see a great view of the Lake District in a day. It certainly has me wanting to return for a longer visit.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a very nice experience. A very good driver. Lots of views.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message