At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 386 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. I booked the 10 lakes tour for the summer bank holiday Monday and really had fun. Our guide, Phil, was knowledgeable and kind, took good care of us and was very patient with the extra talkative people. The weather was kind to us most of the day, so the our finished with rain, not the tours fault. Phil went the extra mile and made sure that I got to my train on time and gave recommendations on where I could grab dinner to take with me on the train. The only reason why this is 4/5 stars was the legroom. I have long legs and they were shoved into the back of the seat in front of me for hours - major bummer and my knees were killing me on the walk to the train station. If you have long legs, make sure you get there early to get the first row of seating in the van, the leg room is better there.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was very informative and interesting. We stopped in many nice places on the way. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. A bit more time for lunch would have been better we only had about 40 minutes.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

alan g
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing views coupled with a very knowledgeable guide made this an unforgettable tour. Despite the weather!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour ,driver / guide was great The roads are a bit hairy but with the experience of our driver we had no fear.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris exceptionally good guide. Beautiful country! Great food at this hotel.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My friend and I absolutely loved this little trip, when you don't have your own transport it was the perfect way to experience the lake district scenery which was breathtakingly beautiful. And the tour guide was very knowledgeable I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to explore this area.

Doing what: Best Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely tour and boat trip. Super tour guide, Elliot. Full of humour, knowledge of the area and its history and interesting anecdotes. Great day!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding tour. The best in the Lake District. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Chris, Bob, and Tony were great drivers and guides. Four nights of very formal dining at Lindeth Howe House got a bit tedious. Otherwise, everything was fine. For the the Beatrix Potter tour, I suggest adding the Amrit Library in Ambleside.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour, Ten Lakes Tours and Lake Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very beautiful tour. Guide was a little difficult to understand. Not sure if this was due to mumbling or the quality of the sound system. Bus was late due to train problems but there did not seem to be any contingency for this.

Doing what: Best Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The accommodation and tour were fantastic! The only disappointment was that the time given to begin the tour was 9:30 and it didn't really start until 11:40 from the hotel. The hotel staff were fantastic ringing to get information etc and luckily I had a book and a lovely place to read it while I waited.

Doing what: 3-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour and Lake Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide Elliot was informative and friendly. Was delighted with the tour. Thanks.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Lake District Day Trip was a wonderful experience.
We loved getting to see Beatrix Potter's home, but the rest of the Lake District was also wonderful.
Having afternoon tea at the hotel was a wonderful experience.
What a beautiful area!

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A lot of area was covered. A very informative tour

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with James D. We found his friendliness and sense of humor engaging as we formed our little community over the three days together. While we had some rather high-maintenance fellow travelers, James went out of his way to make on the fly adjustments to our itinerary, making it a valuable experience for our entire group.
For us, we chose this tour as an entre to the Lake District, as we had plans to rent a car and immediately return for a week after the tour ended. I am glad we did this, as it gave a good overview of the area and helped us to prioritize the locations we wanted to visit and re-visit.
The local tour company should be a first choice if you are considering a small guided tour anywhere within Scotland or the Lake District. Excellent customer service and value.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour of the Lake District covered so much territory with fabulous scenery and a delightful lake cruise on Derwentwater. Our guide was excellent and the 16 passenger coach was very comfortable. This tour took us off of the main roads to places with incredible views of the lakes and mountains. We loved the whole experience and the price was very reasonable and a great value for the money. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Enjoyable tour with great tour guide. Experienced many highlights of the area

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

LOVED the Lake District! The Lindeth Howe was charming although the room we were given overlooked a car park- not exactly the best view- especially in a place with so much natural beauty. The tour on Day 1 was well planned and the driver/guide good. The return to Oxelholme on Day 2 was awful. Despite confirming and reconfirming the return arrangements to Oxelholme train station with the hotel/tour company multiple times as suggested by Evans Staff at London Euston there was no transport arranged to bring us back to the train station on Day 2. Pegasus Taxi service saved the day and after a hair-rising drive back to Oxelhome we caught our train to London with a minute to spare. A sad ending to a trip to this beautiful part of England.

Doing what: Overnight Lake District Rail Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour.
A minor glitch with the microphone at the beginning but soon solved.
Would recommend it.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide and spectacular tour
Also we were lucky with the weather, that helps!
Would recommend

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. It would not be possible to see and do so much doing a self drive. Good value.

Doing what: Best Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked the trip around Lake District.

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This Ten Lakes tour is recommended. You see loads of local sights, ten lakes, mountain passes, lake cruise, prehistoric stone circle, and break for lunch in Keswick. Peter, our full day driver/guide was fantastic, attentive and knowledgeable. We were 13 people aged 20s-70s from 6+ countries.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message