Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would highly recommend this trip.
It is especially worth it if you are visiting the Lake District for the first time and would like to see some breathtaking views, and be taken on a whistle stop tour of the lakes, by a knowledgeable and friendly guide, who will answer any questions and give suggestions with places of special interest and the best way to see more of them, at a later date. Stunning scenery, plenty of time to take photos at regular intervals, our guide Chris was a Mecca of information, but was also left individuals to drink in the views whilst quietly chauffeuring us around. A very good tour

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

Jaime
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

So nice...the best place in England

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The guide is very knowledgeable and he made the info sounds interesting so you be bored into coma. He made it sounds like you're going to a magical land and it was indeed a truly breath taking place!
The stops and length is quite comfortable especially if you don't have enough time to spend it lake district. I felt that I've learned and accomplished a lot for a day's trip.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour. Tony our guide was wonderful and very accommodating. Absolutely stunning countryside. Would highly recommend. And I'm going back.
Thank you so much for a great day!!!

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day loved this tour such beautiful scenery

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative trip made better by a friendly and knowledgable guide Peter. I would reccommend this trip to anyone

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a great tour with a nice guide! We saw many beautiful sights and the surprise view was stunning. We're so glad we chose this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing- breathtaking views,enjoyable day- you get a very clear idea of what the area looks like

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing day, very knowledgeable driver/guide called Peter, you see different angles /aspects of the Lake District, highly enjoyable, breathtaking views, enjoyable ride in steam train- a fun filled day.I was not aware of the passage of time, incredible experience.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Heff
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable, great driver- skilful driving down narrow lanes, good knowledge, friendly and interesting.
Beatrix Potter's house amazing, being able to wander around and closely examine everything.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!great place, great driver!!it was worth going!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide was amazing, picked us up right on time at our B and B which was so helpful since we had no car on this trip. He took us to several spots for photo ops which were breathtaking before we even got to Hill Top. The ability to be taken right to the front of the line at Hill Top and straight in was very convenient. The drive to our boat ride was gorgeous and I really enjoyed being able to get on the lake and see the lush scenery from the water. Again, our tour guide kept us on track, on schedule and showed us a terrific amount of places, my camera was overflowing with photos! So glad I was able to add this to our Lake District visit, very convenient, comfortable, relaxing and affordable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very enjoyable tour the hotel was very nice, a little far from the town too far to walk but a short Taxi ride. My only comment, is instructions were to be at the Euston station at 7.45 am for 8.00 a.m. I thought the train left at 8.00 and was getting agitated as the representative didn't show until 8.00. Apart from that it was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Overnight Lake District Rail Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

brilliant tour, staff were fantastic

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message