Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 306 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A most enjoyable day. The driver/guide was most informativend helpful

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery in the Lake District is both rugged and peaceful. I especially enjoyed the drive from Hilltop Farm to Coniston Water. The guide was able to provide just the right amount of information about the history and place names to give a perspective. It was interesting to learn about Ms. Potter's agricultural acumen. But in the Lake District, it is definitely the scenery that is the star of the tour. This is a place I want to return to and spend more time in.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour. Elliot was our guide and driver and really knows the area. We were able to see everything the tour promised, and even a couple of extra sights. I recommend this tour to anyone who is short on time and wants to see a great view of the Lake District in a day. It certainly has me wanting to return for a longer visit.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a very nice experience. A very good driver. Lots of views.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and accommodations. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great. The bus picked us up from the station as agreed. It was very well organized and had great fun.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The place is amazing. The Hotel is lovely with very good service and very good restaurant. The 10 lakes tour is also very nice, probable a little hurry, but enough to have and idea of the area.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the high adventure trip was superb 1310 ft high not for the faint hearted,
tour driver was excellent friendly and great bloke
all in all we thought it was good value for money for a whole day trip around the lakes and trip to muncaster castle

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Welcoming, friendly and knowledgebale tour guides. This tour allows you you see the countryside, small villages and history. I enjoyed the option to either be picked up or meet at the main location.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Welcoming, friendly and knowledgebale tour guides. Beautiful views for sure.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Derek was our driver on Wednesday 13th August 2014 and he gave us a very interesting commentary as we drove through the wonderful Lake District scenery. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and all the photo stops and opportunities we had, so would definitely recommend this tour. Thank you Derek for making it such a lovely trip.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took the Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour with driver Chris on Saturday 9th August 2014. Chris was a most interesting and informative guide and the trip was most enjoyable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One word: sensational. Only wish it had been double the time. Great gourmet food, lovely building, gorgeous garden. Very warm and welcoming staff. Wonderful area.

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was great!

Doing what: 4-Day Beatrix Potter Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a thoroughly enjoyable tour, thanks to our wonderful driver and guide, Ally, who as well as being entertaining, has a wealth of knowledge about the history and other aspects of the many places we visited. Each day was an adventure, and the accommodation at Glendale B and B was excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message