At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 375 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was very informative and interesting. We stopped in many nice places on the way. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. A bit more time for lunch would have been better we only had about 40 minutes.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide Elliot was informative and friendly. Was delighted with the tour. Thanks.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Lake District Day Trip was a wonderful experience.
We loved getting to see Beatrix Potter's home, but the rest of the Lake District was also wonderful.
Having afternoon tea at the hotel was a wonderful experience.
What a beautiful area!

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A lot of area was covered. A very informative tour

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with James D. We found his friendliness and sense of humor engaging as we formed our little community over the three days together. While we had some rather high-maintenance fellow travelers, James went out of his way to make on the fly adjustments to our itinerary, making it a valuable experience for our entire group.
For us, we chose this tour as an entre to the Lake District, as we had plans to rent a car and immediately return for a week after the tour ended. I am glad we did this, as it gave a good overview of the area and helped us to prioritize the locations we wanted to visit and re-visit.
The local tour company should be a first choice if you are considering a small guided tour anywhere within Scotland or the Lake District. Excellent customer service and value.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour of the Lake District covered so much territory with fabulous scenery and a delightful lake cruise on Derwentwater. Our guide was excellent and the 16 passenger coach was very comfortable. This tour took us off of the main roads to places with incredible views of the lakes and mountains. We loved the whole experience and the price was very reasonable and a great value for the money. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Enjoyable tour with great tour guide. Experienced many highlights of the area

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

LOVED the Lake District! The Lindeth Howe was charming although the room we were given overlooked a car park- not exactly the best view- especially in a place with so much natural beauty. The tour on Day 1 was well planned and the driver/guide good. The return to Oxelholme on Day 2 was awful. Despite confirming and reconfirming the return arrangements to Oxelholme train station with the hotel/tour company multiple times as suggested by Evans Staff at London Euston there was no transport arranged to bring us back to the train station on Day 2. Pegasus Taxi service saved the day and after a hair-rising drive back to Oxelhome we caught our train to London with a minute to spare. A sad ending to a trip to this beautiful part of England.

Doing what: Overnight Lake District Rail Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour.
A minor glitch with the microphone at the beginning but soon solved.
Would recommend it.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide and spectacular tour
Also we were lucky with the weather, that helps!
Would recommend

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. It would not be possible to see and do so much doing a self drive. Good value.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked the trip around Lake District.

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This Ten Lakes tour is recommended. You see loads of local sights, ten lakes, mountain passes, lake cruise, prehistoric stone circle, and break for lunch in Keswick. Peter, our full day driver/guide was fantastic, attentive and knowledgeable. We were 13 people aged 20s-70s from 6+ countries.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was well worth the time and money! Tony, our guide was fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the Lake District.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was wonderful! We were met at the station and given our tickets and then relaxed on the train to the Lakes District. Leaving the train we were met by our guide and spent a lovely day! Our guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out many interesting sights along the way. I loved our time in Ambleside, particularly the old school which our guide had recommended we go to...Wonderful, wonderful day and it was one of my sons favourite days on our holiday! He is 6

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Sensational tour with unbelievable scenery. The driver was fabulous and his knowledge was incredible. This was worth every penny!!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, it was everything I imagined and more. Great tour guide and information, beautiful weather and scenery. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lisa our tour guide was fantastic. She was friendly and informative she made it into a great outing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lake District Day Trip from Windermere

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. The tour guide was excellent and so talented he was able to provide ample opportunity for my husband to take pictures. We would never have been able to see the wonders of the Lake District had it not been for Alan, our guide. This is a tour above and way beyond typical tour offerings. We got to out of the way places of great beauty and historical significance. I highly recommend this experience as a way to really experience the beauty and history of the Lake District. Alan was more than willing to visit places we wanted to see and not repeat our own wanderings. Thanks and kudos to the local tour company and Alan. Paddy and John Kennington, Georgia, USA

Doing what: Private Tour: Lake District Day Trip from Windermere

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to see as much of the district as possible. We had a wonderful guide, and the scenery was amazing.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Bruce A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an outstanding and well balanced tour. We saw and experienced a lot of different things, with full marks going to our guide and driver for driving up and down the passes for a large part of the day. Amazing work.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Could have been better if not for the rainy weather.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message