That classic tourist-industry truism, ‘something for everyone,’ could have been coined with England’s Lake District in mind. A faultless combination of impossibly beautiful scenery, impressive literary history, and endless outdoor adventure ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour.
A minor glitch with the microphone at the beginning but soon solved.
Would recommend it.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide and spectacular tour
Also we were lucky with the weather, that helps!
Would recommend

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. It would not be possible to see and do so much doing a self drive. Good value.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked the trip around Lake District.

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This Ten Lakes tour is recommended. You see loads of local sights, ten lakes, mountain passes, lake cruise, prehistoric stone circle, and break for lunch in Keswick. Peter, our full day driver/guide was fantastic, attentive and knowledgeable. We were 13 people aged 20s-70s from 6+ countries.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was well worth the time and money! Tony, our guide was fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the Lake District.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Sensational tour with unbelievable scenery. The driver was fabulous and his knowledge was incredible. This was worth every penny!!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, it was everything I imagined and more. Great tour guide and information, beautiful weather and scenery. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lisa our tour guide was fantastic. She was friendly and informative she made it into a great outing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lake District Day Trip from Windermere

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. The tour guide was excellent and so talented he was able to provide ample opportunity for my husband to take pictures. We would never have been able to see the wonders of the Lake District had it not been for Alan, our guide. This is a tour above and way beyond typical tour offerings. We got to out of the way places of great beauty and historical significance. I highly recommend this experience as a way to really experience the beauty and history of the Lake District. Alan was more than willing to visit places we wanted to see and not repeat our own wanderings. Thanks and kudos to the local tour company and Alan. Paddy and John Kennington, Georgia, USA

Doing what: Private Tour: Lake District Day Trip from Windermere

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to see as much of the district as possible. We had a wonderful guide, and the scenery was amazing.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Bruce A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an outstanding and well balanced tour. We saw and experienced a lot of different things, with full marks going to our guide and driver for driving up and down the passes for a large part of the day. Amazing work.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Could have been better if not for the rainy weather.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a good tour. Our guide Elliot was friendly and gave out a lot of interesting titbits. The lake cruise was actually a ferry ride and a big bore. Waste of time. We could hv skipped that and finished the tour earlier.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great day out. Anne was very informative and pointed out all the major highlights with wonderful stories to go with them.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful tour, the sights were amazing and lots of places were covered to get a good understanding of the area.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved every minute of this tour. ...The landscape was breathtaking. ..The driver/guide Derek was fabulous he knew the area so well and even took us to some surprise stops for photos.....highly recommend

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was fabulous tour taking in so much in regards to beatrix potter... it was the driver/guide first tour and he did a great job!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very friendly and knowledgeable driver and guide including knowledge on ecology of the area, history, farming, buildings, sheep, etc. Very good driving - especially when having to maneuver or squeeze by oncoming traffic on the numerous single track roads with 2 way traffic. Really enjoyed how many sites we got to see on the tour and how far we went around the Lake District. We could never have seen as much or driven as far on our own. Tour is highly recommended especially if you don't have many days in the area or are first-time visitors to Cumbria.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The driver was very good and knew a lot about the area and its history. Good tour and recommended for those who don't have much time in their visit. It would have been even better if the weather would have been cooperative in the morning --- but that is no fault of the tour provider.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good!
I'm very satisfied.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant tour with our guide/driver Mark doing great job and taking best advantage to the better weather early in day. He had great knowledge of the area and slipped in a few extras that added greatly to the tour

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message