Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

That classic tourist-industry truism, ‘something for everyone,’ could have been coined with England’s Lake District in mind. A faultless combination of impossibly beautiful scenery, impressive literary history, and endless outdoor adventure ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 275 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jaime
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

So nice...the best place in England

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The guide is very knowledgeable and he made the info sounds interesting so you be bored into coma. He made it sounds like you're going to a magical land and it was indeed a truly breath taking place!
The stops and length is quite comfortable especially if you don't have enough time to spend it lake district. I felt that I've learned and accomplished a lot for a day's trip.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day loved this tour such beautiful scenery

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative trip made better by a friendly and knowledgable guide Peter. I would reccommend this trip to anyone

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a great tour with a nice guide! We saw many beautiful sights and the surprise view was stunning. We're so glad we chose this tour.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing- breathtaking views,enjoyable day- you get a very clear idea of what the area looks like

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing day, very knowledgeable driver/guide called Peter, you see different angles /aspects of the Lake District, highly enjoyable, breathtaking views, enjoyable ride in steam train- a fun filled day.I was not aware of the passage of time, incredible experience.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Heff
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable, great driver- skilful driving down narrow lanes, good knowledge, friendly and interesting.
Beatrix Potter's house amazing, being able to wander around and closely examine everything.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!great place, great driver!!it was worth going!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide was amazing, picked us up right on time at our B and B which was so helpful since we had no car on this trip. He took us to several spots for photo ops which were breathtaking before we even got to Hill Top. The ability to be taken right to the front of the line at Hill Top and straight in was very convenient. The drive to our boat ride was gorgeous and I really enjoyed being able to get on the lake and see the lush scenery from the water. Again, our tour guide kept us on track, on schedule and showed us a terrific amount of places, my camera was overflowing with photos! So glad I was able to add this to our Lake District visit, very convenient, comfortable, relaxing and affordable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

brilliant tour, staff were fantastic

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great for us! The driver guide Lisa was friendly and provided an interesting commentary throughout the day. The tour allowed us to visit some places that we wouldn't have been able to drive to independently. Although it was a full day tour, the pace was just right and we didn't feel rushed at all at any point. Excellent tour, would recommend to others.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tony Scott was an amazing tour guide and our day out was truly spectacular - the scenery beyond our expectations. We would highly recommend this tour! We have been lucky to visit many unbelievably beautiful places in the world and this rates among the best! So glad that we didn't miss this wonderful day out!
Geoff and Jan Titmarsh - Toowoomba, Australia

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message