That classic tourist-industry truism, ‘something for everyone,’ could have been coined with England’s Lake District in mind. A faultless combination of impossibly beautiful scenery, impressive literary history, and endless outdoor adventure ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 358 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I absolutely loved the tour! Even though the amounts of rain there had fallen and was falling, it still was amazing. The stunning views and Tony who has the most perfect voice while giving all the explanations. Listening to him while driving through the stunning scenary, really lets you dream off. Really worth to do, certainly when it is, like me, the first time travelling to the lake district :
You stop at beautiful scenary places and picture perfect stunning views

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

great trip, fantastic driver who was very knowledgeable and clearly enjoys what he did. Recommend it to anyone going to the Lake District who want to see lots of amazing viewpoints in a very short space of time!

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

Beth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent tour, and a great way to see a lot of the Lake District in one day. There were plenty of photo stops, for an appropriate amount of time, and the guide was very interesting and entertaining to listen to. Definitely recommend this as a way to get a sense of the area.

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip, spectacular scenery despite the inclement weather, tour guide fabulous and his knowledge was excellent, lots of photo opportunities, nice small group, loved the falconry display

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Ruth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I don't know what happened, but I did give a review almost as soon as I got back. It was really lovely, and I would recommend it to anyone. The views were to be seen to be believed. Lovely tour guide too!

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

sharon.hayes253

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience. A wonderful way to see the district and learn about her life.
I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Lake District.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour including a Lake Windermere Cruise

Elizabeth B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour was good, tour guide quite knowledgeable, scenery was spectacular with great photo opportunities. The lunch break was just a bit too long and could be shortened.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Patricia S E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lovely, guide was very knowledgable and interesting!! Covered everything the tour was supposed to and more! Ample time at all stops!!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Nicole M A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was very nice, and with good weather we enjoyed it even better.
I don't want to upload photos and don't want you to send me more inquiries.
Please no more. Thank you.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Derek, very funny, informative and entertaining. Trip was very good too.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Tarnthip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was amazing. The tour guide, Jerry, was so knowledgeable about places we visited. He cared for everyone in the tour and never shows tiredness even at the end of the tour when we were so tired already.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Miriam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

THIS WAS AN EXCELLRNT AND BEAUTIFUL TOUR WHICH WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED. OUR GUIDE /DRIVER WAS PLWASANT, HELPFUL AND KNOWLEDGEABLE AND DID EVERYTHING HE COULD TO MAKE OUR DAY AS MEMORABLE AS POSSIBLE. A FIRST RATE TOUR LED BY A FIRST RATE DRIVER/GUIDE. MANY THANKS FOR EVERYTHING

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Vivek C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a wonderful day out. Lot of scenic beauty and lakes all around. The driver/guide nicely made us familiar with the area, folklore and legends.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Diane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Derek, the driver, was both entertaining and open to suggestions as to our interests. His handling of the roads and the rain all the while telling us about the area and history was kind of amazing. It was pouring rain sometimes sideways, but he made it interesting all along. I couldn't take many pictures inside the bus but he stopped a couple of places so that we could get out and take some even in the rain. Then we went on this adorable little railroad, Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway. We went about 4 stops just to give us a taste of it. Since it had stopped raining by then, I chose to go on the open but with a roof car while the others went into the enclosed cars. It was fine. Then off to Muncaster Castle to look around, see the castle and a bird show which was quite nice. We ate there on our own. After that, it was a long drive back to the hotel over dales and one lane roads and sometimes terrifying vistas. The sun came out briefly before the clouds came back. It rained off and on most of the day. It was a great tour. Derek was terrific. Would take it again!

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

ESTELLE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great full day tour for those who have limited time or don't know the area well. Our guide Lisa, was very knowledgeable and friendly. A long day, but a worthwhile trip - highly recommended.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Wayne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice tour for those who want to visit Lake District in one day. Driver/Guide Tony was very informed and helpful and stops were quite frequent and we had ample time to take pictures and relax in the beauty of the lakes. Five Star

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

ESTELLE B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Lovely afternnon.

Great trip for those interested in Beatrix Potter, her life and surrounds. Afternoon concluded with boat ride across Lake Windemere. Guide friedly and knowledgeable .

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour including a Lake Windermere Cruise

Michelle C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Really good idea, however would have liked to have more time at the lakes getting out and taking photos. Long day sitting on a coach, driver was lovely, friendly and very knowledgeable. The boat trip over Ullswater was a lovely extra, with stunning sites. If you want the best views get a seat on the right side of the coach. Really lovely tour if you only have a few days. Wouldn't do it again however.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Clive L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We missed the start time due to parking difficulties but the tour team swung into action and shipped us to a meet point with the tour adding the commentary we could have missed. A very good trip that showed the high passes of the Lake District to the best advantage, giving a very informative commentary on history and local knowledge of the area and adding stops with other enjoyable interest. An excellent day indeed!

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Valerie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent driver, very knowledgeable. Some spectacular sights and the weather was relatively good

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Mirko G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour! It gives a nice overview of 10 lakes and mountain passes also! Recommended also in cases you have only chance for one tour!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Maurice T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Spectacular! Should also do ten Lakes to see the diversity of the slake District. We had sunshine in mid-September.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message