Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

That classic tourist-industry truism, ‘something for everyone,’ could have been coined with England’s Lake District in mind. A faultless combination of impossibly beautiful scenery, impressive literary history, and endless outdoor adventure ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A most enjoyable day. The driver/guide was most informativend helpful

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery in the Lake District is both rugged and peaceful. I especially enjoyed the drive from Hilltop Farm to Coniston Water. The guide was able to provide just the right amount of information about the history and place names to give a perspective. It was interesting to learn about Ms. Potter's agricultural acumen. But in the Lake District, it is definitely the scenery that is the star of the tour. This is a place I want to return to and spend more time in.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great. The bus picked us up from the station as agreed. It was very well organized and had great fun.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The place is amazing. The Hotel is lovely with very good service and very good restaurant. The 10 lakes tour is also very nice, probable a little hurry, but enough to have and idea of the area.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The tour was a good day out as you get to see parts of the Lake District that otherwise you wouldn't see in one day but it did seem rushed.
The tour detailed a stop at the Roman Fort, however we didn't get chance to stop and wander around it was literally something that was pointed out to us as we drove past.
I was looking forward to the Steam Railway journey, but was disappointed to find out it was a 'Miniature' Steam Railway that only lasted a mere 10-15 minutes.
The drive over and around the hills was good and the scenery and views were amazing but again the photo opportunities seemed rushed and we couldn't walk far from the minibus.
The final stop at Muncaster Castle lasted only an hour and 45minutes of this was taken by a bird presentation. We didn't even get time to walk around the World Owl Trust.
Worth doing if you are short of time and want to cover a large area of the Lake District.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organised day tour of the lakes

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour company from Windemere picked us up on time. Peter was a very professional guide. Very accommodating to our needs, informative, and, considering the roads on the mountain tour, a safe, efficient driver. We had a flat tire which he handled well, listened to us, and completed the tour. He was spot on in his assessment of our lunch stop. This was very much a highlight of our two weeks in UK.

And, I think viator's customer service was wicked good-phone calls were promptly answered by humans, help was pleasantly offered, and the information was accurate.

Two reasons above for us to highly recommend viator, and consider it for ourselves, in the future.

david/eileen brooks

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lisa, our guide picked us up promptly and introduced us to amazing places we could never have found on our own--places only mountain goats (and sheep) know about. She was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The scenery was spectacular, and our driver was so knowledgeable and added so much to the tour. He had climbed these hills and mountains his entire lifetime and knew them well. We loved the whole tour; this was well worth the money and time. This tour was one of the highlights of a five week trip visiting many interesting areas!

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a really wonderful trip!The way the day is planned is great, we have a lot of different experiences and enjoy every moment. The driver is also great, friendly and helpful all the time.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was spectacular! Our guide, Derek, was so knowledgable about the region! He gave us plenty of picture opportunities and even took pictures of us. The lakes were gorgeous and the scenery was beautiful. Fantastic tour!

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour but the time allowed at each spot was very less...tout started at 10:10 because few tourists were late coming in and we have had to end at 5;30...did not have much time to spend at places like Buttermere/newland Valley...may be the tour must end after 6 and ensure the tourists book the train at Windermere after 6...

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour of Hilltop; thought we were a bit rushed, though. The boat ride on the lake would have been lovely, but it was raining quite heavily. Perhaps guide could have skipped boat ride and given us a few more minutes elsewhere. No one can do anything about the weather, of course.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great a great day every one should take this trip 10out10 well done mutineers goat

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. Had a fantastic time with a brilliant drive Mike.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message