Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

That classic tourist-industry truism, ‘something for everyone,’ could have been coined with England’s Lake District in mind. A faultless combination of impossibly beautiful scenery, impressive literary history, and endless outdoor adventure ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 256 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A most enjoyable day. The driver/guide was most informativend helpful

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery in the Lake District is both rugged and peaceful. I especially enjoyed the drive from Hilltop Farm to Coniston Water. The guide was able to provide just the right amount of information about the history and place names to give a perspective. It was interesting to learn about Ms. Potter's agricultural acumen. But in the Lake District, it is definitely the scenery that is the star of the tour. This is a place I want to return to and spend more time in.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour. Elliot was our guide and driver and really knows the area. We were able to see everything the tour promised, and even a couple of extra sights. I recommend this tour to anyone who is short on time and wants to see a great view of the Lake District in a day. It certainly has me wanting to return for a longer visit.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a very nice experience. A very good driver. Lots of views.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and accommodations. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great. The bus picked us up from the station as agreed. It was very well organized and had great fun.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The place is amazing. The Hotel is lovely with very good service and very good restaurant. The 10 lakes tour is also very nice, probable a little hurry, but enough to have and idea of the area.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Discovery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the high adventure trip was superb 1310 ft high not for the faint hearted,
tour driver was excellent friendly and great bloke
all in all we thought it was good value for money for a whole day trip around the lakes and trip to muncaster castle

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Welcoming, friendly and knowledgebale tour guides. This tour allows you you see the countryside, small villages and history. I enjoyed the option to either be picked up or meet at the main location.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Welcoming, friendly and knowledgebale tour guides. Beautiful views for sure.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Derek was our driver on Wednesday 13th August 2014 and he gave us a very interesting commentary as we drove through the wonderful Lake District scenery. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and all the photo stops and opportunities we had, so would definitely recommend this tour. Thank you Derek for making it such a lovely trip.

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took the Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour with driver Chris on Saturday 9th August 2014. Chris was a most interesting and informative guide and the trip was most enjoyable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The excursion was excellent with a very informative driver and with the weather on side we got to see some stunning sights. Only complaint to which we have had no explanation was there was no tea and coffee included stop on this tour.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The tour was a good day out as you get to see parts of the Lake District that otherwise you wouldn't see in one day but it did seem rushed.
The tour detailed a stop at the Roman Fort, however we didn't get chance to stop and wander around it was literally something that was pointed out to us as we drove past.
I was looking forward to the Steam Railway journey, but was disappointed to find out it was a 'Miniature' Steam Railway that only lasted a mere 10-15 minutes.
The drive over and around the hills was good and the scenery and views were amazing but again the photo opportunities seemed rushed and we couldn't walk far from the minibus.
The final stop at Muncaster Castle lasted only an hour and 45minutes of this was taken by a bird presentation. We didn't even get time to walk around the World Owl Trust.
Worth doing if you are short of time and want to cover a large area of the Lake District.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organised day tour of the lakes

Doing what: Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message